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1. INTRODUCTION 
 
AUTHORITY  
 

Arizona Revised Statutes, Title 28 § 28-3391 through 3399 and Arizona Code 
of Judicial Administration (ACJA) § 7-201 and § 7-205 establish the authority 
for administration of the Defensive Driver Program by the Arizona Supreme 
Court.  The Court administers the program through the Certification and 
Licensing Division of the Administrative Office of the Courts.   
 

DEFINITION ACJA § 7-205 defines instructors as persons who are certified pursuant to 
ACJA § 7-201 (E) and conduct defensive driving courses for a certified school.  
In the case of alternative delivery methods, where an instructor is not present, 
the instructor serves as the certified school’s point of contact to answer student 
questions by telephone or electronic means. 
“Instructional time” means the time spent presenting the school’s approved 
curriculum. Instructional time does not include breaks, registration, audiovisual 
set-up, technical breakdown or assistance, or time devoted to other 
administrative functions. 

REQUIREMENT 
FOR EXAMINATION 

All candidates for certification as a defensive driving instructor shall 
successfully pass a certification examination testing the applicant’s knowledge, 
skills and abilities as an instructor.   
 
ACJA § 7-201 and § 7-205 do not provide for any waiver of the examination.  
All potential candidates for certification must take and pass the examination in 
order to be eligible to apply for certification.  
 

PURPOSE OF THIS 
HANDBOOK 

The purpose of this handbook is to provide candidates with detailed information 
about the examination for certification as a defensive driving instructor.  The 
handbook includes information about subject matter areas assessed by the 
examination, candidate responsibilities on the day of the examination, and 
notification of examination results. 
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2. APPLICATION POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 
 
ELIGIBILITY All potential candidates for certification must successfully complete the written 

knowledge examination, submit a completed application for certification and 
possess the education or experience as outlined in ACJA § 7-201 and § 7-205. 

CONFIRMATION OF 
ELIGIBILITY 

Potential applicants for defensive driving instructor certification must possess 
and demonstrate one or more of the qualifications to sit for the exam illustrated 
by ACJA § 7-205.  AJCA § 7-205 and instructions for registering to participate 
in the examination are available for candidate review on the Program website at 
www.azcourts.gov/drive .  
 
Available seats for the examination are filled on a first-come, first-come, first-
serve basis.  Examination staff reserves the right to limit the number of seats 
available at each administration.  All candidates who fail to appear for a 
scheduled examination will be assessed a fee as prescribed by ACJA § 7-205. 
 

FEES The fee for participating in the examination is $50.00.  If it becomes necessary 
for an applicant to retake the examination, the fee is $50.00.  If a candidate 
registers for the exam and fails to appear as scheduled, the candidate will be 
assessed a $50.00 re-registration fee.   
 

SPECIAL 
ACCOMMODATION
S 

Requests for special accommodations in accordance with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act of 1990 must be submitted to the Certification and Licensing 
Division with substantiating documentation. 
 
Requests must include a description of the nature of the disability and 
limitations related to the examination, the type of accommodation(s) requested 
and verification from a qualified professional.  The qualified professional must 
have special expertise to evaluate the existence of the disability and proposed 
accommodations needed for the specific disability.  Requests are reviewed and 
granted on an individual basis. 

 

http://www.azcourts.gov/drive�
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3. OVERVIEW OF THE EXAMINATION 
 
 
TIME LIMITS 
 

 
Candidates are allowed a total of three (3) hours to complete the examination.  
Candidates may wish to complete the multiple-choice questions in any order; 
however, are responsible for managing their own time.   
 

FORMAT The examination consists of 100 multiple-choice questions worth one point 
each.  There is one correct answer for each question.  There is no penalty for 
guessing; therefore, candidates should answer all of the questions.   
 
The multiple-choice questions cover subject matter areas related to the 
provision of services as a defensive driving instructor (see Content 
Specifications, Section 4).  The questions are designed to demonstrate 
candidates possess the basic knowledge, skills, and abilities to provide 
defensive driving instructor services.   
 

PASSING SCORE The passing score is the score that a candidate must achieve in order to pass the 
examination and qualify for certification as a certified defensive driving 
instructor in Arizona.  
 
The passing score for the examination is a scaled score of 70 out of the possible 
100 points.  Scoring is not based on a candidate achieving a passing score in 
each of the content specification areas, but rather is reflective of the overall 
score on the examination. 
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4. CONTENT SPECIFICATIONS 
 
 
CONTENT AREAS 

 
The content for the examination was developed by a focus group of defensive 
driving instructors from representative practice settings in January 2011.  They 
evaluated the importance of major subject matter areas of practice, determined 
their relative importance to practice, and assigned a weight (percentage) to each 
area.  For example, if the weight is 15%, there would be 15 questions on a 100-
item examination.  There are three content areas outlined in the content 
specifications: 
 

I. Administrative responsibilities (15%)  
II. Ethics (30%)  
III. Classroom instruction (55%) 

 
The above specified percentages of content area questions will be randomly 
ordered on the examination.   For example, questions on classroom instruction 
will not be contained in one section or placed in consecutive order. 
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5. SAMPLE QUESTIONS 
 
 
These specific questions will not be on the examination but are representative of the types and format of 
the questions on the examination. 
 
1. If a hearing is requested, within how many days must a hearing take place? 
A. 30 days 
B. 45 days 
C. 60 days 
D. 90 days 
 
 
2. At the conclusion of class, a student offers concert tickets to the instructor free of charge.  Can the 

instructor accept the tickets, and why?  
A. No; the instructor cannot accept the tickets because there is the appearance of a conflict 
B. No; the tickets were not offered to all instructors in the school 
C. Yes; the instructor can accept the tickets if the value of the tickets is under $100 
D. Yes; the instructor can accept the tickets so long as the instructor offers to pay the cash value 
 
 
3. What is the minimum distance that should be kept between a motorist's vehicle and a passing police 

vehicle which has flashing lights and sirens? 
A. 200 feet 
B. 250 feet 
C. 300 feet 
D. 350 feet 
 
 
 
ANSWERS: C, A, C
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6. EXAMINATION POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 
 
 
EXAMINATION 
SECURITY  

 
Candidates cannot receive any unauthorized assistance during the examination, 
including but not limited to any of the following:  

 
• Impersonating another person in order to take the examination on that 

person’s behalf; 
 
• Communicating examination content to any person (during or after the 

examination); 
 
• Removing examination materials from the examination room for the 

purpose of selling, distributing, buying, receiving, or having unauthorized 
possession of any portion of the examination; 

 
• Having in one’s possession books, equipment, notes, written or printed 

materials, data, other than the examination materials distributed; 
 
• Reproducing examination materials or providing notes of examination 

content to any persons other than the examination staff; and, 
 
• Obstructing or subverting the administration of the examination. 
 
Any candidate who violates examination security policies is subject to denial of 
certification pursuant to ACJA §§ 7-201 and 7-205.   
 

ARRIVAL AT THE 
EXAMINATION  

On the day of the examination, the candidate must arrive at the designated 
examination site no later than the established registration time.     
 

TARDINESS  An examination will not be disrupted to accommodate late arrivals.  If a 
candidate reports late, the candidate will not be permitted to take the 
examination and will be required to pay prescribed fees for later participation. 
 

REGISTRATION The candidate must report to the registration area and present photographic 
identification (e.g., state-issued driver’s license, military-issued identification or 
government-issued passport). The candidate will not be permitted to take the 
examination if they have not pre-registered and/or if they do not have the 
required photographic identification.   
 
At the time of the examination, all candidates will be required to sign an 
acknowledgement of the examination security policies and a non-disclosure 
agreement.     
 

NO SHOW POLICY  If a candidate fails to show up for the examination, the candidate must re-
register for the examination and pay the applicable fees. 
 

MATERIALS TO 
BRING  

Other than photographic identification, the candidate will be provided with all 
material necessary to participate in the examination process. 
 

PROHIBITED Candidates cannot bring communication devices, reference materials, 
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MATERIALS photographic equipment or electronic devices into the examination room.  The 
following items are examples of prohibited materials: 
 
• Cellular phones and pagers 
• Candidate handbooks, technical reference books and dictionaries 
• Cameras and videographic recorders 
• Radios and tape recorders 
• Laptop computers 
• Programmable electronic organizers, personal digital assistants (PDAs) 
• Drinks and food 
 

PERSONAL 
BELONGINGS  

Candidates may keep keys, wallets and purses on the floor near their seat during 
the examination.  Larger items (e.g., backpacks, briefcases, duffel bags, 
handbags, tote bags) and outerwear (e. g. coats, hats) CANNOT be brought into 
the examination.   
 
Examination staff will not be responsible for monitoring candidates’ personal 
items during the examination.  If a candidate report with prohibited materials or 
belongings the candidate will be asked to make alternative arrangements before 
you start the examination.   
 
If securing belongings results in the candidate being late for the examination, 
the candidate will not be permitted to take the examination and will need to 
reschedule and submit any applicable fees.   
 

CHECK-OUT 
PROCEDURE  

All examination materials including test booklets, answer sheets, pencils and 
any notes taken during the examination must be returned to the examination 
staff.  Failure to do so will void the candidate’s examination.  
 

DISRUPTIVE 
BEHAVIOR  

Candidates who engage in behavior that is disruptive to other candidates will be 
disqualified from the examination process. 
 
Examples of disruptive behavior during the examination include: 
 
• Eating and drinking during the examination;  
• Allowing the alarm features of programmable wristwatches or other 

timepieces to emit sound; or 
• Talking, whispering, or otherwise attempting to communicate with other 

candidates for any reason. 
 

LEAVING THE 
ROOM DURING THE 
EXAMINATION 

Candidates will not be permitted to leave the examination room for any purpose 
unless accompanied by a member of the examination staff.  Candidates will 
NOT receive extra time to complete the examination.  Failure to follow this rule 
will result in the candidate’s examination being voided.  
 

 



 

 11

 
7. EXAMINATION RESULTS 
 
NOTIFICATION OF 
RESULTS 
 

Examination results will be sent to each candidate by mail at the address on file 
with the Division within thirty (30) days of completion of the examination.  Do 
NOT call the Certification and Licensing Division or make inquiries by email or 
in person requesting examination results.   Examination results will NOT be 
released to third parties. 

 
RE-EXAMINATION 

 
A candidate who fails to pass the written examination may retake the 
examination two times under the following conditions: 
 

• The candidate is not disqualified from retaking the examination for 
fraud, dishonesty, or corruption while taking the examination, 

• The candidate sends a written request to retake the examination within 
30 days of the date of receipt of the examination results,  

• The candidate takes the reexamination within 90 days of the date of the 
notice of the examination results. 

  
Pursuant to ACJA § 7-201, a candidate who has taken and failed the 
examination three times shall not be allowed to take a further examination 
unless the Defensive Driving Board grants special permission for the candidate 
to take another examination.  The candidate must submit a written request 
stating the additional study and preparation the candidate has completed to 
qualify for an additional examination. 
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8. REFERENCES 
 
 
The following list of references provides a complete and comprehensive list of the references related to 
the examination questions. There are no references listed that are not reflected in the questions which may 
be present on the examination.  All cited references refer to the version of the reference as of January 
2007.  Any amendments adopted to the references after January 2011 will not be included in the 
examination.  Every reference you will need to be familiar with for the purpose of the examination is 
contained in Section 9 of this study guide. 

 
1. ACJA § 7-201 (E)(1) and (E)(2) 
2. ACJA § 7-201 (F)(2), (F)(5) and (F)(6)   
3. ACJA § 7-201 (G)(3) and (G)(4) 
4. ACJA § 7-201 (H)(15) and (H)(23) 
5. ACJA § 7-205 (E), (F), (G), (J) and (M) 
6. Defensive Driving Program Continuing Education Policy 
7. ARS § 28-695 
8. ARS § 28-701 
9. ARS § 28-724 
10. ARS § 28-726 (A)(2) 
11. ARS § 28-775 (A) through (E) 
12. ARS § 28-776 (A) 
13. ARS § 28-792 
14. ARS § 28-793 
15. ARS § 28-794 
16. ARS § 28-797 (E) 
17. ARS § 28-854 
18. ARS § 29-856 
19. ARS § 28-857 
20. ARS § 28-857.01 
21. ARS § 28-909 (A) and (B) 
22. ARS § 28-1321 
23. ARS § 28-1381 (A) 
24. ARS § 28-1382 (A) and (B) 
25. ARS § 28-3392 
26. ARS § 28-3395(B) 
27. Arizona Driver License Manual (and Customer Service Guide) 

http://www.azdot.gov/mvd/MenuFormsandPubs.asp 
  

 
 
 

 

http://www.azdot.gov/mvd/MenuFormsandPubs.asp�
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9.  APPLICABLE ACJA SECTIONS, RULES, ORDERS AND STATUTES 
  

 
ARIZONA CODE OF JUDICIAL ADMINISTRATION  

Part 7: Administrative Office of the Courts 
Chapter 2: Certification and Licensing Programs 

Section 7-201:  General Requirements 
 

 
A. Definitions.  In this section, unless otherwise specified, the following definitions apply: 
 

“Accredited” means placement on a list of nationally recognized authorizing agencies the 
United States Secretary of Education determines to be reliable authorities as to the quality 
of education or training provided by the institutions of higher education and the higher 
education programs they sanction. 
 
“ACJA specific section” means the adopted section of the Arizona Code of Judicial 
Administration (ACJA) applicable to a specified profession or occupation governed by this 
section, specifically, § 7-202:  Fiduciaries; § 7-203:  Confidential Intermediary; § 7-205: 
Defensive Driving Schools and Instructors; § 7-206:  Certified Reporters and § 7-208:  
Legal Document Preparers. 
 
“Active” means a valid and existing certificate to practice in the specified profession or 
occupation. 
 
“Advisory letter” means written communication from the board notifying a certificate holder 
the conduct, while not warranting discipline, may result in future disciplinary action if not 
modified or eliminated.  An advisory letter is not a disciplinary action.   
 
“Censure” means a written formal discipline sanction, finding a certificate holder has 
violated one or more provisions of the statutes, court rules, or applicable sections of the 
ACJA. 
 
“Certificate holder” means any entity or individual granted and currently holding valid 
certification pursuant to the applicable ACJA section and Arizona law.  
 
“Certification” means a process conducted by a board to determine if a person or entity 
meets all requirements to practice in the profession or occupation, pursuant to statutes, 
court rules and the applicable ACJA section.  
 
“Community college” means an accredited educational institution providing training in the arts, 
sciences and humanities beyond the twelfth grade of the public or private high school course of 
study or vocational education, including terminal courses of a technical and vocational nature and 
basic adult education courses. 
 
“Consent agreement” means a written statement to resolve a certification, complaint or 
compliance audit matter, voluntarily signed by the applicant or certificate holder. 
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“Corrective action plan” means the measures outlined and agreed upon by division staff and the 
certificate holder to correct all deficiencies after a compliance audit or defensive driving course 
monitoring is completed. 
 
“Deputy director” means the deputy director of the administrative office of the courts (AOC) 
or the deputy director’s designee. 
 
“Designated principal” means an active certificate holder of a business or public entity who 
is designated specific responsibilities pursuant to the applicable sections of the ACJA.   
 
“Director” means the administrative director of the courts or the director’s designee. 
 
“Disciplinary clerk” means the individual or the individual’s designee of the certification and 
licensing division designated to accept all filings relevant to denial of initial or renewal 
certification of applicants and discipline of certificate holders. 
 
“Division director” means the director of the certification and licensing division of the AOC 
or the division director’s designee. 
 
“Division staff” means all members of the certification and licensing division of the AOC, 
including the division director. 
 
“Disciplinary action” means either informal or formal proceedings against a certificate 
holder, after a finding of probable cause the certificate holder has committed acts of 
misconduct or violations of statutes, court rules, or the applicable sections of the ACJA. 
 
“Dismissed with prejudice” means final disposition barring future action under this section 
on the same issue, claim, or cause. 
 
“Dismissed without prejudice” means final disposition with the right to bring future action 
under this section on the same issue, claim or cause. 
 
“Expired” means the certificate has lapsed on a specified date. 
 
“Filing” or “filed” means a document has been received and date-stamped by the disciplinary 
clerk. 
 
“Formal statement of charges” means the document setting forth specific alleged acts of 
misconduct or violations by a certificate holder of statutes, court rules, or the applicable 
sections of the ACJA, including any amendments, authorized by the board, upon a 
determination of probable cause. 
 
“Formal disciplinary proceedings” means the process initiated upon a determination of 
probable cause, the alleged acts of misconduct or violations of the statutes, court rules, or the 
applicable sections of the ACJA by a certificate holder, that if true, would warrant a censure, 
consent agreement or other negotiated settlement, restrictions, probation, additional training, 
a cease and desist order, suspension or revocation of certification pursuant to subsection 
(H)(24)(a)(6). 
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“Good cause” means a legally sufficient ground or reason based upon the circumstances of 
the presented case. 
 
“Hearing officer” means an individual appointed by the supreme court to preside over 
administrative hearings pursuant to this section.   
 
“Inactive” means a certificate holder who voluntarily decides not to practice in the specified 
profession or occupation for a specified period of time and who is not the subject of any 
pending disciplinary action. 
 
“Informal disciplinary proceedings” means the process initiated upon a determination of 
probable cause  the alleged acts of misconduct or violations of the statutes, court rules, or 
applicable sections of the ACJA by a certificate holder, that if true,  would warrant a letter of 
concern, pursuant to subsection (H)(24)(a)(6)(a).   
 
“Injury” means harm to a client, customer, the public, judicial or legal system, the profession, 
or occupation resulting from a certificate holder’s misconduct. 
 
“Knowledge” is the conscious awareness of the nature or attendant circumstances of the conduct 
but without the conscious objective or purpose to accomplish a particular result.  
 
“Letter of concern” means a written informal discipline sanction  finding a certificate holder 
has violated one or more provisions of the statutes,  court rules, or the applicable sections of 
the ACJA.  
 

“Minimum competencies” means having the required skills for an adequate level of 
performance. 
 
“Negligence” means deviation from the standard of care a reasonable certificate holder 
would exercise in the situation. 
 
“Probable cause” means reasonable grounds for belief in the existence of facts concerning 
alleged acts of misconduct or violations by a certificate holder, warranting informal or formal 
discipline against the certificate holder. 
 
“Probation” means a written formal discipline sanction finding a certificate holder has 
violated one or more provisions of the statutes, court rules, or applicable sections of the 
ACJA but allowing the certificate holder to practice in their profession or occupation under 
specified conditions for a set period of time.   
 
“Professional regulatory entity” means a government or private unit associated with and 
having authority over a group of qualified and practiced individuals in a profession or 
occupation. 
  
“Revoked” or “revocation” means a written formal discipline sanction, finding a certificate 
holder has violated one or more provisions of the statutes, court rules, or applicable sections 
of the ACJA and the certificate to practice in the profession or occupation is rescinded.   
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“Sanction” means an explicit and official action resulting from an informal or formal 
disciplinary action finding a certificate holder has violated or failed to comply with one or 
more of the statutes, court rules, applicable sections of the ACJA, court orders or board 
orders relevant to the certificate holder’s profession or occupation. 
 
“Section” means the referenced provision of the ACJA. 
 
“Suspended” or “suspension” means a written formal discipline sanction finding a certificate 
holder has violated one or more provisions of the statutes, court rules, or applicable sections 
of the ACJA and the certificate holder is not permitted to exercise the privileges of the 
certificate for a set period of time as the result of a final order of disciplinary action. 
 
“Valid” means a certificate currently in effect, granted by the board and not expired, 
surrendered, suspended, or revoked.  
 
“Voluntary surrender” means a certificate holder decides to discontinue practice in the 
specified profession or occupation and returns the certificate to the board for review and 
acceptance pursuant to subsection (E)(7). 
 

B. Applicability.  This section is read together with the ACJA section applying to the 
applicant’s or certificate holder’s profession, occupation or authorized services.  In the 
event of any conflicts between this section and the ACJA section specific to a profession, 
occupation or authorized services, the specific ACJA section shall govern.  Reference to 
“these sections” refers to ACJA § 7-201:  General Requirements and the applicable 
sections of ACJA.  ACJA § 7-201 applies to certification of confidential intermediaries 
pursuant to A.R.S. § 8-134 and  § 8-543 and ACJA § 7-203; certification of fiduciaries 
pursuant to A.R.S. § 14-5651 and ACJA § 7-202; certification of defensive driving schools 
and instructors pursuant to A.R.S. §§ 28-3395 through -3399 and ACJA § 7-205; certification of 
reporters pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-4001 and ACJA § 7-206; and certification of legal document 
preparers pursuant to Rule 31, Rules of the Supreme Court and ACJA § 7-208.   

 
C. Purpose.  This section specifies the application, certification and renewal of certification 

process, the complaint and disciplinary process and hearing process for the certification 
programs. The primary purpose of the certification and discipline processes is protection of 
the public.  In addition, the certification programs ensure compliance to the highest ethical 
standards, rehabilitation of the certificate holder and deterrence of further unprofessional 
conduct pursuant to subsection (H)(6)(k), in accordance with statutes, court rules and ACJA. 

 
D. Administration. 

 
1. Role and Responsibilities of the Supreme Court.  Pursuant to A.R.S. § 8-134(I), § 8-543(A), 

§ 14-5651(A), § 28-3395(B), § 32-4005(A) and Rule 31(a)(24), Rules of the Supreme Court, 
the supreme court is responsible for administering the confidential intermediary program, 
fiduciary program, defensive driving program, certified reporter program and legal 
document preparer program.  The supreme court shall: 

 
a. Adopt rules for the implementation and administration of all certification programs 

including minimum qualifications, certification and disciplinary processes and a code 
of conduct. 
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b. Establish and collect fees, costs and fines necessary for the implementation and 

enforcement of all certification programs. 
 

2. Role and Responsibilities of the Director.  The director as designated by the Az. Const. 
Art. 6 § 7: 
 
a. Shall: 
 

(1) Develop policies and procedures in conformity with this section and the 
applicable sections of ACJA including §§ 7-202, -203, -205, -206 and -208; 

(2) Appoint and supervise all division staff; 
(3) Approve or disapprove all budgetary matters;  
(4) Ensure implementation of the applicable laws, this section and the applicable 

sections of the ACJA;.   
(5) Develop policies and procedures regarding review of credit reports;  
(6) Develop policies and procedures governing any complaint initiated by the 

director; and 
(7) Develop time frames for the processing of certification applications by division 

staff. 
 
b. May:  

 
(1)  Appoint and develop administrative guidelines for ethics advisory committees to 

issue nonbinding ethical advisory opinions;  
(2)  Direct division staff to conduct an investigation into alleged acts of misconduct or 

violations by a certificate holder pursuant to subsection (H)(1)(b); 
(3)  Initiate a complaint pursuant to subsection (H)(1)(b)(4)(b); and 
a. (4) Pursuant to the applicable sections of the ACJA, administrative orders 

and A.R.S. §§ 28-3399 and 41-2401(D)(8), initiate a compliance audit of a 
certificate holder to determine if the certificate holder is in compliance with 
statutes, court rules, administrative orders, court orders, local rules, the ACJA and 
any other legal or ethical requirement relating to the certificate holder’s 
profession or occupation.  The following provisions apply to audits: 
(a)  Timeframes. The director shall develop timeframes and procedures for 

division staff conducting compliance audits. 
(b)  Confidentiality. 

(i) Working papers associated with the compliance audit maintained by 
division staff are not public records and are not subject to disclosure, 
except to court staff in connection with their official duties, the attorney 
general, county attorney, public regulatory entities or law enforcement 
agencies. 

(ii) Upon completion of an audit the final report issued to the affected party is 
a public record subject to public inspection. 

(c) Subpoena. The director may subpoena witnesses or documentary evidence, 
administer oaths and examine under oath any individual relative to the audit.  

(d) Referral.  The director may refer the audited certificate holder to an applicable 
agency or division staff for investigation of alleged acts of misconduct or 
violations of the statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable sections of 
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the ACJA.  If the director refers the audited certificate holder to division staff 
for investigation of allegations of acts of misconduct or violations, the 
division staff shall process the complaint pursuant to subsection (H). 

(e) Violations or Noncompliance.  Willful violation of or willful noncompliance 
with an order of the director regarding the audit, or willful noncompliance 
with a corrective action plan resulting from an audit, may result in an order 
directing the certificate holder to comply.  The director may forward a copy of 
the order or report to the superior court and request the superior court issue an 
order to require the appearance of a person or business, compliance with the 
director’s order, or both.  The superior court may treat the failure to obey the 
order as contempt of court and may impose penalties as though the certificate 
holder had disobeyed an order issued by the superior court. 

 
3. Role and Responsibilities of the Deputy Director.  The deputy director shall:  

 
a. Serve as the probable cause evaluator, pursuant to subsection (H)(5)(a); 
 
b. Review the investigation summary of a complaint prepared by division staff; and 

 
c. Determine if there is probable cause to believe a certificate holder has committed acts 

of misconduct or violations of the statutes, court rules, or the applicable sections of 
the ACJA. 

 
4. Role and Responsibilities of Division Staff.  The director shall designate the division 

director and other division staff to assist in the administration of all certification 
programs pursuant  to the Az. Const. Art 6, § 7.  Division staff shall administer all 
certification programs.   

 
a. Role and Responsibilities of the Division Director.  The division director may: 

 
(1) Issue subpoenas in the investigation process pursuant to subsection (H)(1)(h); 
(2) Dismiss complaints where the supreme court has no jurisdiction pursuant to 

subsection (H)(2)(b)(2); 
(3) Dismiss clearly insufficient complaints pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(b)(3); and 
(4) Refer complaints to another state agency or entity with jurisdiction, if appropriate, 

pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(b)(4). 
 

b. Division staff shall: 
 

(1) Submit completed applicant fingerprint cards and applicable fees to the Arizona 
Department of Public Safety, in accordance with A.R.S. § 41-1750 and Public 
Law 92-544, pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(d)(3);  

(2) Make recommendations to the board on all matters of applications and 
certification and any other matters regarding applicants and certificate holders; 

(3) Provide updates to the board on program activities; 
(4) Maintain a list of certificate holders and post the list on the applicable Website and 

make the list available to the public; 
(5) Conduct investigations of allegations of acts of misconduct or violations of the 

statutes, court rules, or the applicable sections of the ACJA by applicants, 
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certificate holders or non-certificate holders and report the findings to the board; 
and 

(6) Conduct compliance audits and monitoring as required by this section or the 
applicable sections of the ACJA. 

 
5. Role and Responsibilities of Professional and Occupational Boards. 

 
a. Establishment.  The Supreme Court shall establish a board for each profession or 

occupation regulated by the Supreme Court pursuant to this section and the applicable 
ACJA section. 

 
b. Appointment of Members.  Upon establishment of a board, the chief justice shall appoint 

members to initial varying terms of one, two and three years to encourage continuity of 
the board.  Thereafter, all terms are for three years, unless otherwise noted in the 
applicable ACJA section.  The chief justice shall appoint the chair of each board who 
shall serve as chair no longer than three years, unless otherwise specified in the 
applicable ACJA section.  If a vacancy occurs in a board member position, the chief 
justice shall fill the vacancy expeditiously in the manner provided for in the original 
appointment.  The appointments shall provide geographical, gender and ethnic diversity 
and consist of members of the regulated profession or occupation, court staff, the public 
and other professionals pursuant to the applicable ACJA section.  The chief justice may 
appoint members to serve successive terms.  The members shall assist division staff in 
the recruitment of board members and in the recommendation to the chief justice 
regarding appointment of candidates to the board. 

 
c. Duties of the Board.   
 

(1) The board shall: 
(a) Make recommendations to the Supreme Court regarding rules, policies and 

procedures for regulation of the profession or occupation, including: 
 (i) applicant qualifications;  
 (ii) applicant testing; 
 (iii)   fees; 
 (iv) a code of conduct; 
 (v) continuing education; and 
 (vi) any other matter pertaining to the regulated profession. 
 (b) Establish a passing score on any examination used for certification purposes, 

other than a national validated examination; 
 (c) Make all decisions regarding requests for special consideration to sit for 

subsequent examinations pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(f)(2)(d)(ii) and (iii); 
(d) Make all decisions regarding whether to certify applicants for initial or 

renewal of certification; 
 (e) Review the division director’s dismissal of a complaint, pursuant to 

subsection (H)(2)(d); 
 (f) Review the probable cause evaluator’s finding pursuant to subsection 

(H)(5)(a) and make a decision to: 
(i) Request division staff to conduct further investigation; 
(ii) Refer the complaint to another entity with jurisdiction; 
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(iii)Determine no violation exists and dismiss the complaint with our without       
prejudice, pursuant to subsection (H)(24)(a)(3);  

(iv) Order the preparation of documents necessary for informal or formal 
disciplinary actions pursuant to subsection (H)(7)(b), (H)(8)(b) or 
(H)(9)(b); or 

(v) Order an immediate emergency suspension of a certificate and set a date 
for an expedited hearing, if the public health, safety or welfare are at risk, 
pursuant to subsection (H)(9)(d)(1); and 

(g) Make all final decisions regarding alleged acts of misconduct or violations 
of the statutes, court rules, or applicable sections of the ACJA by 
applicants, certificate holders or non-certificate holders pursuant to 
subsections (H)(24) and (H)(25).  The board has the final decision on the 
disposition of a complaint and may take any action pursuant to subsection 
(H)(24), regardless of the recommendations of the division director or 
hearing officer. 

(2) The board may: 
(a) Hold informal interviews of applicants regarding initial certification and 

issue subpoenas for witnesses and documentary evidence, pursuant to 
subsection (E)(1)(a)(10); 

 (b) Hold informal interviews of certificate holders regarding renewal of 
certification and issue subpoenas for witnesses and documentary evidence, 
pursuant to subsection (G)(1)(b); 

(c) Request additional investigation of a complaint dismissed by the division 
director, pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(d)(2); 

 (d) Hold formal interviews of certificate holders regarding disciplinary 
matters, whether any discipline is eventually imposed or not, and issue 
subpoenas for witnesses and documentary evidence, pursuant to subsection 
(H)(8); and 

(e) Make procedural determinations to consolidate or sever any discipline matter. 
 

d. The board shall follow the policies and procedures in subsection (I). 
 
e. Persons appointed by the Supreme Court to serve on boards are immune from civil 

liability for good faith conduct relating to their official duties. 
 

6.  Computation of Time.  For the purposes of this section and the ACJA specific section, the 
computation of days pursuant to Rule 6(a), Rules of Civil Procedure is calculated as 
follows:   

[T]he day of the act, event or default from which the designated period of 
time begins to run shall not be included . . . if less than 11 days, 
intermediate Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays shall not be included in 
the computation. When that period of time is 11 days or more, intermediate 
Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays shall be included in the computation. 
The last day of the period so computed shall be included, unless it is a 
Saturday, a Sunday or a legal holiday, in which event the period runs until 
the end of the next day which is not a Saturday, a Sunday or a legal holiday. 

 
E. Initial Certification 
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1. Application for Initial Certification. 
 

a. Forms.  An applicant shall apply for certification on approved forms and file them 
with division staff.  

 
(1) Division staff shall conduct a preliminary review of the submitted application 

and determine if the application is deficient, the required supporting documents 
are deficient, fees are deficient, or a combination of these requirements are 
deficient. 

(2) Division staff shall advise the applicant in writing of the deficiencies. 
(3) The applicant shall provide the information and a written response to correct or 

explain the deficiencies, or otherwise remedy the defects in the application, 
supporting documents or fees. 

(4) Division staff may require the applicant to provide additional information or an 
explanation reasonably necessary to determine if the applicant meets the required 
qualifications specified in this section or the applicable sections of the ACJA. 

(5) Upon receipt of a complete application, division staff may conduct a personal credit 
review and review records regarding an application for initial certification, consistent 
with the policies and procedures developed by the director pursuant to subsection 
(D)(2)(a)(5). 

(6) The applicant shall notify division staff of any changes relevant to the application 
for certification within five days of the change. 

(7) Upon a final review of the application, division staff shall prepare and forward to 
the board a written recommendation regarding the applicant’s qualifications and 
eligibility for certification. 

(8) Division staff shall advise the board in any written recommendation regarding 
certification of an applicant, of any complaints alleging acts of misconduct or 
violations of statute, court rules or order, this section, or the applicable sections of 
the ACJA, if the allegations occurred during the time the applicant held an active 
certificate and were received after the applicant’s certificate expired. 

(9) The division staff’s written recommendation to the board shall note any 
deficiencies in the application.  A deficient application for initial certification is 
lacking one or more of the following requirements: 
(a) An explanation or correction of any deficiencies, pursuant to subsection 
(E)(1)(a)(4);  
(b) Payment of all appropriate fees, pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(b); 
(c) A photograph, pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(c); or 
(d) A readable fingerprint card or affidavit in lieu of a fingerprint card, pursuant to 

subsection (E)(1)(d). 
(10) The board, upon review of the division staff recommendation, may request an 

informal interview with an applicant for certification, pursuant to subsection 
(D)(5)(c)(2)(a), to establish if: 
(a) Additional information is needed to determine if the applicant meets all 

qualifications for certification in this section and the applicable section of the 
ACJA;  

 (b) An explanation of the information provided by the applicant is needed to 
determine if the applicant meets all qualifications for certification in this 
section and the applicable section of the ACJA; or 
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 (c) Any complaints, regarding allegations of misconduct or violations of the 
statutes, court rules or applicable sections of the ACJA, received after the 
applicant’s original certificate expired, require investigation by division staff 
pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(a)(4). 

 
b. Fees.  The applicant shall submit, with the application, any applicable certification, 

examination and training fees specified in the applicable sections of the ACJA.  Fees 
are not refundable or waivable.  An applicant shall make the payment for any fee 
payable to the Arizona Supreme Court.  An application submitted without fees is 
deficient. 

 
c. Photograph.  The applicant for certification shall provide with the application, one 

color passport-size photograph, two inches by two inches of the applicant’s head, 
neck and shoulders only.  The applicant shall ensure the photograph was taken within 
the last two years and clearly identifies the applicant.  An application submitted 
without a photograph is deficient. 

 
d. Fingerprinting.  If required pursuant to law, the applicant shall submit with the 

application, a full set of fingerprints, with the fee established by law, for the purpose 
of obtaining a state and federal criminal records check.  An application submitted 
without a fingerprint card, if required by law, is deficient. 

 
(1) The applicant shall provide a readable and complete fingerprint card.  The 

applicant shall pay any costs attributable to the original fingerprinting or 
subsequent re-fingerprinting due to unreadable fingerprints and any fees required 
for the submission or resubmission of fingerprints. 

(2) If after two attempts, the FBI determines the fingerprints provided are not 
readable, the applicant shall submit a written statement, under oath, the applicant 
has not been arrested, charged, indicted, convicted of or pled guilty to any felony 
or misdemeanor, other than as disclosed on the application.   

(3)  Division staff shall submit completed applicant fingerprint cards and the   
applicable fees to the Arizona Department of Public Safety, pursuant to A.R.S. § 
41-1750, Public Law 92-544 and subsection (D)(4)(b)(1). 

 
e. Initial Training.  If required by the applicable section of the ACJA, an applicant shall 

attend and complete the initial training session.  Division staff shall provide the 
applicant with a document signifying the applicant completed the training.  If 
required by the applicable section of the ACJA, an applicant shall attend the entire 
training session for eligibility to sit for a certification examination. 

 
f. Examination.  If required by the applicable section of the ACJA, an applicant shall 

take and pass the examination for initial certification.  Specific examination 
requirements are located in subsection (E) of the applicable ACJA section.  National 
examinations shall be at the time and place scheduled by the administering entity. 

 
(1) Administration of the Initial Examination.  In administering the examination, 

division staff shall: 
(a) Offer the examination on dates in conjunction with the initial training for 

certification, if initial training is required by the applicable section of the 
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ACJA; 
(b) Set a date and place for the examination; 
(c) Promptly notify qualified applicants in writing they are permitted to sit for the 

examination, specifying the time and place of such examination; 
(d) Publish in advance of the examination, content specifications for the 

examination and a study guide, as approved by the applicable board and make 
the specifications and study guide available to applicants;  

(e) Announce, in advance of the examination, the passing score for the 
examination, as established by the applicable board.  The passing score shall 
be consistent with the job analysis conducted at the direction of the board.  An 
applicant shall pass with a final score on the examination meeting the 
guidelines established by the board; 

(f) Use multiple versions of the examination and ensure no copies of the 
examination are released to applicants or the public; 

(g) Inform each applicant in writing as to whether the applicant passed or failed 
the examination and if the grade is failing, a reexamination is required to meet 
all qualifications for certification; and 

(h) Make and keep an accurate record of each examination used at each administration 
of the examination and the score of each person taking the examination. 

(2) Administration of Reexaminations.  Division staff shall allow an applicant who 
fails the first examination to: 
(a) Review the answer sheet and grade of the applicant, upon written request.  

The applicant shall conduct the review during business hours in the presence 
of division staff and the applicant shall not copy materials provided for 
review. 

(b) Retake the examination two times under the following conditions: 
(i) The applicant is not otherwise disqualified from retaking the 

examination; 
(ii) The applicant sent a written request to retake the examination to division 

staff within 30 days of the date of the notice of the examination results;  
(iii) The applicant files a new application and pays the applicable examination 

fee each time;  
(iv)  The applicant takes the second or third reexamination within 90 days of 

the date of the notice of the examination results indicating the applicant 
failed either the first or second examination; and 

                              (v)  An applicant who does not submit a written request to retake the 
examination within the 30 day time frame specified in subsection 
(E)(1)(f)(2)(b)(ii), may request an extension of time from the board upon 
a showing of good cause. 

(c) An applicant taking and failing the examination three times, unless otherwise 
noted in the applicable ACJA section, shall not be permitted to take any 
subsequent examination unless granted permission by the board. 

(d) Subsequent Examinations.  
(i) Any applicant who was unsuccessful on the third attempt to pass the 

examination may request the board for permission to sit for a fourth                
examination.  The applicant shall submit a written request to the board to 
sit for a fourth examination under the following conditions: 
a) The applicant has filed a new application with division staff and paid 

the appropriate examination fee; 
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b) The applicant is not otherwise disqualified from taking the subsequent 
examination; 

c) The applicant has provided documentation attached to the new application 
stating the additional study and preparation the applicant has made to qualify 
for a fourth examination; and 

d) The applicant has provided documentation attached to the new application 
demonstrating the circumstances and reasons for believing the applicant now 
possesses the knowledge of the minimum competencies of the profession or 
occupation to pass the fourth examination. 

(ii)   If the board finds the applicant demonstrates additional study and 
preparation and the circumstances and reasons to believe the applicant 
now possesses the knowledge of the minimum competencies of the 
profession or occupation, the board may, pursuant to subsection 
(D)(5)(c)(1)(c ), approve the applicant’s request to sit for the fourth 
examination.  Division staff shall inform the applicant of the board’s 
decision to allow the applicant to sit for the fourth examination within ten 
days of the board’s decision.  The notice  
shall state the earliest date for which the applicant may sit for the fourth 
examination. 

(iii) If the board finds the applicant does not demonstrate additional study and 
preparation and the circumstances and reasons to believe the applicant now 
possesses the knowledge of the minimum competencies of the profession 
or occupation, the board shall, pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(c), deny 
the applicant’s request to sit for the fourth examination.  Division staff shall 
inform the applicant of the board’s decision to deny the applicant’s request 
to sit for the fourth examination within ten days of the board’s decision.  
The notice shall state the reasons for the board’s denial.  The decision by 
the board to deny the request is final and there is no right to a hearing.   

(iv) If the applicant’s request to sit for the fourth examination is denied, the 
applicant may file a new application twelve months after the board’s 
decision to deny. 

(v) An applicant who was unsuccessful on the fourth or any subsequent 
examinations may request permission from the board to sit for a 
subsequent examination pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(f)(2)(d). 
 

g.   An applicant is disqualified from taking any future examination if the board 
determines the applicant engaged in fraud, dishonesty or corruption while taking the 
examination or any subsequent examination.  

 
h.  Updating of Examinations.  Division staff shall update examinations as needed and 

may ask representatives from the court community, regulated profession or 
occupation, the public, or any other knowledgeable resource to assist in the 
development and validation of examinations for the applicable sections of the ACJA.  

 
2.  Decision Regarding Certification. 

 
a. Notification of Certification.  Upon the board’s decision to issue a certificate, division 

staff shall promptly notify qualified applicants of certification in writing, pursuant to 
this section and the applicable section of the ACJA.  Each qualified applicant shall 
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receive a document, badge or card evidencing certification, stating the applicant’s 
name, date of certification, certificate number and expiration date of the certification.  
Each certificate shall expire as provided in the applicable section of the ACJA.  In 
addition, unless previously provided, each applicant granted certification shall receive 
a copy of this section and the applicable section of the ACJA, detailing the 
responsibilities of the certificate holder. 

 
b. Certificate Status.  All certificates are valid until expired, surrendered, suspended or 

revoked. 
 

c. Denial of Initial Certification. 
 

(1) The board shall deny certification of the applicant if the applicant does not meet 
the qualifications or eligibility requirements at the time of the application 
described in this section or the applicable section of the ACJA; or has not 
submitted a complete application with all deficiencies corrected, the applicable 
documents and fees. 

(2) The board may deny certification of any applicant  if one or more of the following 
is found: 
(a) Material misrepresentation, omission, fraud, dishonesty, or corruption on the 

part of the applicant in the examination for certification;  
(b) The applicant or an officer, director, partner, member, trustee, or manager of 

the applicant: 
(i) Has committed material misrepresentation, omission, fraud, dishonesty, or 

corruption in the application form; 
(ii) Has committed any act constituting material misrepresentation, omission, 

fraud, dishonesty or corruption in business or financial matters; 
                             (iii) Has conduct showing the applicant or an officer, director, partner, 

member, trustee, or manager of the applicant is incompetent or a source of 
injury and loss to the public;  

                             (iv) Has a conviction by final judgment of a felony, regardless of whether civil 
rights have been restored;  

      (v)  Has a conviction by final judgment of a misdemeanor  if the crime has a    
reasonable relationship to the practice of the certified profession or  
occupation, regardless of whether civil rights have been restored; 

(vi) Has a denial, revocation, suspension or any disciplinary action of any 
professional or occupational license or certificate;   

(vii) Has a censure, probation or any other disciplinary action of any 
professional or occupational license or certificate by other licensing or 
regulatory entities if the underlying conduct is relevant to the certification 
sought; 

(viii) Has a termination, suspension, probation or any other disciplinary action 
regarding past employment if the underlying conduct is relevant to the 
certification sought; 

(ix) Has been found civilly liable in an action involving misrepresentation, 
material omission, fraud, misappropriation, theft or conversion;  

(x) Is currently on probation or parole; 
                           (xi) Has violated any decision, order, or rule issued by a professional 

regulatory entity;   
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(xii) Has violated any order of a court, judicial officer, administrative tribunal, or 
the board; 

                           (xiii) Has made a false or misleading statement or verification in support of an 
application for a certificate filed by another person;  

                           (xiv) Has made a false or misleading oral or written statement to division staff                           
                                    or the board; 
                           (xv) Failed to disclose information on the certification application subsequently 

revealed through the background check; 
                           (xvi) Failed to respond or furnish information to the division staff or the board 

when the information is legally requested and is in the applicant’s control or 
is reasonably available to the applicant and pertains to certification or 
investigative inquiries; or 

                          (xvii) If the applicant is a business, a record of conduct constituting dishonesty 
or fraud on the part of an employee, board member, or the business.  

(3) The board may consider any or all of the following criteria when reviewing the 
application for certification of an applicant with a misdemeanor or felony 
conviction, pursuant to subsection (E)(2)(c)(2)(b)(iv) and (v): 
(a) The applicant’s age at the time of the conviction; 
(b) The applicant’s experience and general level of sophistication at the time of 

the pertinent conduct and conviction; 
(c) The degree of violence, injury or property damage and the cumulative effect 

of the conduct; 
(d) The applicant’s level of disregard of ethical or professional obligations; 
(e) The reliability of the information regarding the conduct; 
(f) If the offenses involved fraud, deceit or dishonesty on the part of the applicant 

resulting in harm to others;  
(g) The recency of the conviction; 
(h) Any evidence of rehabilitation or positive social contributions since the 

conviction occurred as offered by the applicant; 
(i) The relationship of the conviction to the purpose of certification; 
(j) The relationship of the conviction to the applicant’s field of certification; 
(k) The applicant’s candor during the application process; 
(l) The significance of any omissions or misrepresentation during the application 

process; and 
(m) The applicant’s overall qualifications for certification separate from the 

conviction. 
(4) Upon the board’s decision to deny certification, division staff shall, notify each 

applicant denied certification of the reasons for the denial and the right of the 
applicant to a hearing, pursuant to subsection (E)(2)(c)(5).  The division staff 
shall provide the notice in writing and shall send the notice within ten days after 
the board’s decision. 

(5) An applicant is entitled to a hearing on the decision to deny certification, if the 
disciplinary clerk receives a written request for a hearing within fifteen days after 
division staff mails the notice of the denial.  The applicant is the moving party at 
the hearing and has the burden of proof.  The provisions of subsections (H)(12) 
through (H)(23) and (H)(25) through (H)(27) apply regarding procedures for the 
hearing and appeal. 
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(6) An applicant denied certification by a final decision of the board, whether or not a 
hearing was requested and held, may reapply for certification, pursuant to 
subsection (E), under the following circumstances: 
(a)   It has been twelve months since the final decision by the board; 
(b) If the initial reasons for denial were failure to meet the education and 

experience requirements, the applicant shall attach to the new application 
written documentation demonstrating how the circumstances have changed to 
meet these requirements: 
(i) Division staff shall review the new application and supporting 

documentation and consider if the applicant now meets the education and 
experience requirements; 

(ii) Division staff shall notify the applicant in writing within ten days if the 
applicant has now provided sufficient documentation to demonstrate the 
applicant meets the education and experience requirements pursuant to 
this section and the applicable ACJA sections or has not provided 
sufficient documentation to demonstrate the applicant now meets the 
education and experience requirements; 

(iii) If the applicant has met the education and experience requirements 
necessary for certification, division staff shall forward the application to 
the board pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(a)(7); 

(iv) If the applicant has not met the education and experience requirements 
necessary for certification, division staff shall forward the application to 
the board noting the deficiencies and a recommendation for denial 
pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(a)(9) and provide written notice to the 
applicant of the deficiencies and recommendation; and 

(v)  The applicant may request an informal interview with the board to review 
the recommendation of division staff for denial of certification because of 
the deficiencies, if the request is submitted to the board in writing within 
ten days of the date of the notification. 

(c) If the board denied certification for reasons other than failure to meet the 
education or experience requirements, the applicant shall present new 
documentation to address the original issues resulting in denial including all 
of the following: 
(i) Demonstration of acceptance of responsibility for the conduct leading to 

the denial by the board; and 
(ii) Establishment of good moral character. 

(d) In determining whether the applicant has established good moral character, the 
board shall conduct an informal interview with the applicant, no later than 60 
days after the applicant has submitted a completed application. 

(e) Upon a showing of good cause, the applicant may apply for certification 
sooner than twelve months if denied solely for lack of education or experience 
necessary for certification, if those circumstances have changed. 

(f) The applicant may not reapply for certification if there are statutory 
provisions prohibiting certification as specified in the applicable ACJA 
section. 

 
3. Time Frames for Certification. 

 
a. The director shall develop time frames for the processing of certification applications 



 

 28

by division staff, pursuant to subsection (D)(2)(a)(7). 
 

           b. An applicant shall respond timely to requests for information from division staff 
pertaining to the applicant’s application.  Unless the applicant can show good cause as 
to why the board should grant additional time, the board shall not approve any applicant 
for certification unless the applicant successfully completes all requirements within 90 
days from the date division staff received the original initial application for certification 
or within 90 days of the applicant passing the examination for certification if required 
by the applicable section of the ACJA.    

 
c.  If an applicant needs additional time to comply with division staff requests or to 

complete the application process within the time frames specified in this subsection, the 
applicant shall file a written request for an extension with division staff.  The request 
shall state the reasons for additional time to comply with time frames and certification 
requirements.  The applicant shall file the request for additional time to complete the 
initial application at a minimum, ten days prior to the 90 day deadline, unless the 
applicant makes a showing of good cause.  Failure to complete the certification process 
or file a written request for an extension of time within this time period shall nullify and 
void the original application and supporting documents, including fingerprints, fees and 
the applicable examination scores. 

 
d.   Division staff shall forward the written request for an extension of time to the board at 

the next scheduled board meeting. 
 
e.   If the applicant fails to meet the 90 day deadline or is not granted additional time by 

the board to complete the initial certification process, the applicant is considered a 
new applicant.  The applicant shall submit a new application including a fingerprint 
card and fee if applicable and certification and training fees.  The applicant is not 
required to sit for the examination if the applicant submits the new application within 
one year of having successfully passed the required examination. 
 

4. Records of Applicants for Certification and Certificate Holders.  Unless otherwise provided 
by law, the following applies to applicant and certificate holder records:  

 
a. Applicant and certificate holder’s certification records are open to the public, after 

home addresses, home or cellular telephone numbers, social security numbers and all 
other personally identifying information, except for the name of the certificate holder, 
have been redacted. 

 
b. Division staff shall retain applicant and certificate holder records for a period of five 

years from the last activity in the record.  Division staff shall take appropriate 
methods to ensure the confidentiality of any destroyed records. 

 
c.  If an applicant or certificate holder needs to have personally identifying information 

contained in their files released to an employer or potential employer, the applicant or 
certificate holder shall sign a release of information form.  Division staff shall 
provide the applicant or certificate holder with an approved form for this purpose.  

 
5. Unlawful Use of Designation or Abbreviation.  A person who has received a certificate to 
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practice in a specific profession or occupation from the board is authorized to utilize the 
designation of “Arizona certified” in connection with their title or name and may use any 
appropriate abbreviation connected with this certification.  No other person or business shall 
assume or use the title, designation or abbreviation or any other title, designation, sign or card, 
the use of which is reasonably likely to induce others to believe the person or business holds 
valid certification issued by the Arizona Supreme Court in the specified profession or 
occupation.  The certificate holder shall not sell, transfer or assign its certification to any other 
entity. 

 
6. Cease and Desist Order.  The board, upon completion of an investigation or disciplinary 

proceeding, may issue a cease and desist order pursuant to subsection (H)(24)(a)(6)(g).  A 
hearing officer or a superior court judge, upon petition by the board, may enter an order for an 
individual or business entity to immediately cease and desist conduct constituting engagement 
in the practice of the profession or occupation without the required certification. 

 
7. Voluntary Surrender.  A certificate holder in good standing may surrender their certificate 

to the board.  However, the surrender of the certificate is not valid until accepted by the 
board.  The board or division staff may require additional information reasonably necessary 
to determine if the certificate holder has violated any provision of the statutes, court rules 
and this section or the applicable section of the ACJA.  The surrender does not prevent the 
commencement of subsequent discipline proceedings for any conduct of the surrendered 
certificate holder occurring prior to the surrender. 

 
a. Division staff shall present the surrendered certificate to the board at the next 

available board meeting after receiving the surrender.  Upon the board’s acceptance 
of the voluntary surrender division staff shall designate the certificate of the 
certificate holder as a “surrendered certificate holder in good standing”.  Division 
staff shall notify the certificate holder in writing within ten days after the board’s 
acceptance of the surrender. 

 
b. The board shall not accept the surrender if there is a complaint pending against the 

certificate holder.  However, this does not preclude the board from entering into a 
consent agreement to resolve the pending complaint pursuant to subsection 
(H)(24)(a)(6)(c) by terms including the voluntary surrender of the certificate. 

 
c. The board shall, within 120 days of the receipt of the surrendered certificate by 

division staff either accept the surrender or, based upon the recommendations of 
division staff, institute disciplinary proceedings pursuant to subsection (H).  If the 
board subsequently imposes a sanction pursuant to subsections (H)(24) and (H)(25) 
upon the certificate of the surrendered certificate holder, division staff shall change 
the status of the certificate holder from “surrendered certificate holder in good 
standing” to that of a person so disciplined.   

 
8. Inactive Status.   
 

a. A certificate holder may transfer to inactive status, upon written request to the board.  
Upon recommendation of division staff the board may accept the transfer of the 
certificate holder to inactive status and division staff shall note in the certification 
database the certificate holder is on inactive status, in good standing.  The inactive 
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certificate holder shall not engage in the practice of the profession or occupation of 
certification pro bono or for a fee or other compensation while on inactive status and 
shall not present themselves as a certificate holder. 

 
b. Upon application and payment of any applicable fee for reactivation of certification, 

required by the applicable section of the ACJA, the board may require the applicant 
to comply with the following: 

 
(1) Submit proof of compliance with the requirements for continuing education;  
(2) Submit other proof required by the board to: 

(a) Demonstrate the applicant possesses the skills necessary to practice in the 
profession or occupation; 

(b) Demonstrate the applicant remains in compliance with the applicable ACJA 
sections; and 

(c) Demonstrate compliance with other requirements for certification. 
(3) If the applicant for reinstatement engaged in the profession or occupation in 

another jurisdiction during the time the certificate holder’s certificate was 
inactive, the applicant shall submit all of the following: 
(a) Proof of practice in the profession or occupation in the other jurisdiction; 
(b) An affidavit affirming the applicant has not been disciplined in another 

jurisdiction; and 
(c) An affidavit affirming the applicant is not subject to discipline or being 

investigated in another jurisdiction. 
(4) If the applicant has been inactive for more than one year the board may require 

the applicant to sit for and pass the applicable examination. 
 

c. If the applicant meets the requirements of this subsection to the satisfaction of the 
board, the board shall return the inactive certificate holder to active status.  Division 
staff shall change the status of the certificate holder from “inactive” to “active” and 
notify the certificate holder of the board’s decision within ten days.  

 
d. A certificate holder shall only remain in an inactive status as specified by the 

applicable ACJA section. 
 

9. Reinstatement after Suspension or Revocation.  A certificate holder whose certificate was 
suspended or revoked by a final order of the board may apply for reinstatement under the 
following conditions: 

 
a. An applicant for reinstatement shall file a written application for reinstatement with 

division staff, accompanied by the appropriate fees and the following documents: 
 

(1) The reinstatement form and a copy of the final order of suspension or revocation; 
(2) A detailed description of the applicant’s occupation and sources of income or 

earnings derived during the period between the filing of the final order by the 
disciplinary clerk and the date of application for reinstatement after suspension or 
an initial application for recertification; 

(3) A statement of every civil or criminal action and a copy of the action, where the 
applicant was either plaintiff or defendant, since the submission of the last 
renewal application or, if no renewal application has been submitted, then since 
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the initial application was submitted; 
(4) A list of all criminal or civil final judgments since the submission of the last 

renewal application, or if no renewal application has been submitted, then since 
the initial application was submitted; 

(5) A list of all residences and business addresses since the submission of the last 
renewal application, or if no renewal application has been submitted, then since 
the initial application for certification and the date division staff receive the 
application for reinstatement; 

(6) A statement of concise facts of how the applicant for reinstatement has 
maintained the minimum competencies and knowledge during the period of time 
from the date of the suspension order until the date division staff receives the 
reinstatement application; 

(7) A statement of concise facts of how the applicant for recertification has 
maintained the minimum competencies and knowledge during the period of time 
from the date of the order revoking the applicant’s certificate until the date 
division staff receive the application for certification; 

(8) A statement of facts supporting reinstatement to the profession or occupation after 
suspension; or a statement of facts supporting certification again to the profession 
or occupation; and  

(9) A statement of all facts demonstrating the applicant’s rehabilitation during the period 
of time from the date of the board’s order revoking the applicant’s certificate or 
suspending the applicant’s certificate, until the date division staff receive the 
application for reinstatement or initial certification. 

 
b. Division staff or the board may require additional information demonstrating the 

applicant meets the minimum competencies of the profession or occupation.  The 
board may require the applicant sit for and pass the applicable examination in order to 
process the application or determine if the applicant meets the minimum 
competencies of the profession or occupation.  The applicant has the burden of proof 
to demonstrate by clear and convincing evidence the applicant’s rehabilitation, 
compliance with all discipline orders and rules and, the applicant meets the minimum 
competencies of the profession or occupation.  An applicant denied reinstatement by 
the board has the right to a hearing pursuant to subsection (H)(12), except if the 
applicant fails to provide the information within the requested time frame.  Failure to 
provide the information shall result in automatic denial of reinstatement without the 
right to a hearing. 

 
c. Upon submission of all requirements of subsection (E)(9)(a), the applicant shall meet 

all requirements of initial certification pursuant to subsection (E)(1).  The applicant, 
for reinstatement after a suspension or revocation, shall pay the fee for reinstatement, 
pursuant to subsection (K) in the applicable section of the ACJA.  

 
d. The board shall not issue any certification under this section to any person or business 

entity whose certification has been suspended until: 
 
 (1) The person or business entity seeking reinstatement of a suspended certificate has 

demonstrated all the requirements of the suspension order have been met; and 
 (2) The person or business entity qualifies in accordance with the applicable 

provisions of this section or other sections of the ACJA. 
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e. The board shall not issue any certification under this section to any person or business 

entity whose certification has been revoked until: 
 

(1) One year has passed from the date of the board’s final order of revocation; 
(2) The person or business entity seeking certification provides proof of satisfaction 

of any and all requirements in the order of revocation; and 
(3) The person or business entity again qualifies in accordance with the provisions of 

subsection (E)(1) and the applicable sections of the ACJA. 
 
 
F. Role and Responsibilities of Certificate Holders. 
 

1. Code of Conduct.  Each individual certificate holder shall adhere to the code of conduct 
or standards of conduct, subsection (J) in the applicable section of the ACJA.   

 
2. Identification.  Upon request by any judicial officer, court employee or member of 

the public, a certificate holder shall provide proof of certification. 
 

3. Assumed Business Name.  A certificate holder shall not transact business in this state 
under an assumed name or under any designation, name or style, corporate or otherwise, 
other than the legal name of the individual or business entity unless the person or 
business entity files with division staff a statement indicating the name for transaction of 
the business and the legal full name of the certificate holder. 

 
4. Response.  A certificate holder shall respond by the specific time stated in any request for 

information from, and shall provide documents to the director, deputy director,  division 
staff, or board  pertaining to certification, renewal of certification, complaints alleging acts 
of misconduct or violations by the certificate holder, investigative inquiries and compliance 
audits or defensive driving course monitorings of the practice of the certificate holder.  A 
certificate holder shall respond to any subpoenas or orders issued by the director, division 
director, board, or any judicial officer.  Failure to comply with this subsection by a 
certificate holder constitutes grounds for discipline pursuant to subsection (H)(6)(c) or 
denial of renewal of certification pursuant to subsection (G)(3) and (G)(4).  Failure to 
comply with this subsection by a certificate holder in completion of a corrective action plan 
or defensive driving course monitoring may constitute grounds for discipline, pursuant to 
subsection (H)(6)(b). 

 
5. Candor. 

 
a. A certificate holder shall not knowingly: 
 

 (1) Make a false statement of material fact or law to a tribunal; or 
 (2) Fail to disclose a material fact to a tribunal, except as required by applicable law. 
 

b.  A certificate holder shall notify division staff within ten days of a misdemeanor or 
felony conviction. 

 
6. Change of Name or Address.  A certificate holder shall notify division staff of any 
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change in name or business, directory, mailing or home address, telephone number or 
email address within 30 days of any change, pursuant to the applicable sections of the 
ACJA. The certificate holder shall make this notice in writing by U.S. Post, facsimile or 
email. 

 
G.  Renewal of Certification. 
 

1. Expiration Date.  Certificates expire on the date specified by the applicable section of the 
ACJA.   All certificates shall continue in force until expired, voluntarily surrendered, placed 
on inactive status, suspended or revoked. 
 
a. When a certificate holder has filed a timely and complete application for the renewal 

of certification, the existing certification does not expire until the administrative 
process for review of the renewal application has been completed. 

 
b. The board may request an informal interview with the applicant for renewal, pursuant 

to subsection (D)(5)(c)(2)(b), to establish if additional information or an explanation 
of the information provided by the applicant is needed to determine if the applicant 
continues to meet the qualifications for certification in this section and the applicable 
section of the ACJA. 

 
c. If the renewal application is denied, the existing certification does not expire until the last 

day for seeking a hearing on the decision to deny, pursuant to subsection (E)(2)(c)(5); or if 
a hearing is requested, until the final decision is made by the board pursuant to subsection 
(H)(25). 

 
d. The certificate of a certificate holder who does not supply a complete renewal 

application and payment of the renewal fee in the specified time and manner to 
division staff shall expire as of the expiration date in the applicable section of the 
ACJA.   Division staff shall treat any renewal application received after the expiration 
date as a new application. 

 
2. Application.  A certificate holder is responsible for applying for a renewal certificate.  

The certificate holder shall apply for renewal of certification on the form provided by 
division staff.  The board shall set a deadline renewal application date, in advance of the 
expiration date, to allow a reasonable time frame for processing the renewal application. 

 
3. Additional Information.  Before recommending renewal of certification, division staff 

may require additional information reasonably necessary to determine if the applicant 
continues to meet the qualifications specified in this section, which may include: 
 
a. Background information, pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(a) and the applicable section 

of the ACJA;  
 
b. A personal credit review and review of records pertaining to the applicant by division 

staff, pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(a)(5); and  
 

c. Fingerprinting pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(d);  
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 4.   Decision Regarding Renewal. 
 

a. The board may renew a certification if the certificate holder:  
 

(1) Meets all requirements for renewal as specified in this section and the applicable 
section of the ACJA; 

(2) Submits a completed renewal application; and  
(3) Pays the renewal fees on or before the expiration date as specified by the 

applicable section of the ACJA.  
 

b. Division staff shall promptly notify the applicant in writing of the board’s decision to 
renew the applicant’s certificate in accordance with this section and the applicable 
section of the ACJA. Each renewed applicant shall receive a document, badge or card 
evidencing renewal of certification, stating the applicant’s name, date of certification, 
certification number and expiration date.  

 
c. The board may deny renewal of certification for any of the reasons stated in 

subsection (E)(2)(c).  Division staff shall promptly notify the applicant, in writing, 
within ten days of the board’s decision to deny renewal of certification.  The notice 
shall include the board’s reasons for the denial of renewal of certification and the 
right of the applicant to a hearing, pursuant to subsection (G)(4)(d). 

 
d. An applicant is entitled to a hearing, on the decision to deny renewal of certification 

if the disciplinary clerk receives a written request for a hearing within fifteen days 
after the date of the notice of denial.  The applicant is the moving party at the hearing 
and has the burden of proof.  The provisions of subsections (H)(12) through (H)(23) 
and (H)(25) through (H)(27) apply regarding procedures for hearing and appeal. 

 
H. Complaints, Investigations, Disciplinary Actions, Proceedings and Certification and    
Disciplinary Hearings. 

 
1. Complaints:  Filing and General Provisions. 

 
a. Filing of Complaint.  All judicial officers, court employees and certificate holders 

shall, and any person may, notify division staff if it appears a certificate holder has 
violated statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section of the ACJA.  The 
complainant shall provide the complaint in writing with sufficient specificity to 
warrant further investigation.  The complaint form shall provide the name, telephone 
number and address of the complainant.   

 
b. Director Initiated Complaints.  In accordance with the policies and procedures developed 

pursuant to subsections (D)(2)(a)(6) and (D)(2)(b)(2), the director may direct division 
staff to investigate allegations of acts of misconduct or violations of statutes, court rules, 
or the ACJA, which may result in a complaint, if such investigation protects and serves 
the best interest of the public.  This shall include an investigation where the complainant 
does not wish to have their identity disclosed to the certificate holder.  

 
(1) Review of allegations.  Division staff shall: 
 (a) Review the allegations and determine if the supreme court has jurisdiction; 
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 (b) Determine if there is sufficient information to permit investigation; 
(c) Verify details in the allegations including the certificate holder’s status and, if 

available, any addresses, phone numbers or other relevant factors; 
(d) Corroborate, by independent observations and information, the allegations of acts 

of misconduct or violations of statutes, court rules or the ACJA, to determine if 
the allegations are credible and reliable; and 

(e) Meet with the division director to confirm jurisdiction and relevant factors 
contained in the allegations. 

(2) Division staff shall, upon completion of the review, prepare a written report of the 
allegations and include the following: 

 (a) Confirmation of Supreme Court jurisdiction; 
 (b) Determination, if the allegations are true, they would warrant discipline; 
 (c) Verification of details in the allegations; and 
 (d) Corroboration of relevant facts by independent observations. 
(3) Division staff shall forward the written report to the director for review and schedule 

a meeting with the director and division director. 
(4) The director shall review the written report and direct staff to: 
 (a) Conduct further review of the allegations;  

(b) Initiate a complaint naming the director as the complainant, pursuant to 
subsection (D)(2)(b)(3); or 

 (c) Determine the allegations do not warrant the filing of a director initiated 
complaint.  

 
c. Anonymous Complaints.  Division staff shall not accept anonymous complaints. 
 
d. Authority after Expiration.  If a complaint or investigation is pending prior to the 

expiration date of a certificate, the provisions of subsection (G)(1) and the applicable 
sections of the ACJA do not affect the authority of: 

 
(1) The director to initiate a complaint, pursuant to subsection (D)(2)(b)(3); 
(2) Division staff to investigate a complaint, pursuant to subsection (D)(4)(b)(5); or  
(3) The board to take disciplinary action regarding the certification of a certificate 

holder, pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(g).  
 

 e.  Standing of Complainant.  A complainant does not have standing regarding any 
proceedings and is not a party to any proceedings.  The complainant may, upon request to 
division staff, receive notice of any public proceeding concerning the complaint or any 
consent agreements.  The complainant submits to the jurisdiction of  the supreme court’s 
certification and licensing division for all purposes relating to the proceedings. 

 
(1) The complainant shall keep division staff informed of any changes of mailing 

address, telephone number or email address during the investigation and any 
disciplinary proceedings. 

(2) Division staff shall forward any correspondence or notice to the complainant by 
United States mail to the last address of record with division staff. 

(3)  Division staff shall provide the complainant with the following information: 
(a)  A written acknowledgement of the receipt of the complaint; 
(b)  A copy of the letter sent to the certificate holder requiring a response to the 

alleged acts of misconduct or violations and the initial response by the 
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certificate holder, within twenty days of receipt of the certificate holder’s 
initial response; 

(c)  Notice, if the complainant has requested notice, of any public proceeding 
concerning the complaint or any consent agreement; 

(d)  Notice of the final disposition of each allegation; and 
(e)  Notice of the dismissal of the complaint within ten days of the determination 

by the division director, if applicable, pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(b). 
(4)  Failure by division staff to provide the complainant with information as required 

by this subsection shall not affect the ultimate disposition of any allegations of 
acts of misconduct or violations by the certificate holder. 

(5)  The complainant may file a request for review by the board of the division 
director’s dismissal of the complaint, within ten days of the date of the notice of 
dismissal pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(e). 

 
f. Non-abatement.  Unwillingness, failure of the complainant to cooperate with 

division staff or the board, withdrawal of the complaint or a specific allegation of 
misconduct or violation contained in the complaint, settlement or compromise 
between the complainant and the certificate holder, or restitution by the certificate 
holder shall not abate the processing of any complaint or disciplinary proceeding. 

 
 g. Confidentiality of Complaints.  The director, deputy director, division staff, board 

and court employees shall keep information or documents obtained or generated 
by the director, deputy director, division staff, board or court employees in the 
course of an open investigation or received in an initial report of misconduct 
confidential, except as mandated by court rules or this section.  

 
(1) Confidential information may also be disclosed during the course of an open 

investigation: 
(a) To court staff, the attorney general, county attorney, law enforcement and 

other regulatory officials;  
(b) If the director makes a finding the disclosure is in the best interest of the public and 

the interest is not outweighed by any other interests; or 
(c) Is not contrary to law. 

(2) Once a finding of probable cause has been entered all information and documents 
are open for public inspection unless: 
(a)  Confidential by law or public record rules adopted by the Supreme Court; or 
(b) If the deputy director, as probable cause evaluator, determines further 

investigation is necessary, the information or documents and those compiled 
in the further investigation shall remain confidential until probable cause is 
determined. 

(3) Complaints dismissed by the division director, pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(b) 
for lack of jurisdiction or clear insufficiency are confidential and not a matter of 
public record for inspection.  

(4) Complaints dismissed by the board, pursuant to subsection (H)(24)(a)(3) are a 
matter of public record for inspection. 

 
h.  Investigative Subpoenas.  Upon the recommendation of division staff and a 

demonstration of good cause, the division director, pursuant to subsection 
(D)(4)(a)(1), may issue an investigative subpoena to any person or entity: 



 

 37

 
(1) For the purpose of securing documents or information from any person or entity, 

if the documents or information are related to a pending investigation of alleged 
acts of misconduct or violations regarding statutes, court rules, this section or the 
applicable section of the ACJA.  

(2) Subpoenas issued by the division director shall be issued and served in the same 
manner as provided by the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure.  An employee of the 
court or any other person as designated by the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure may 
serve the subpoena. 

 
      i. Processing Time Frames.  Division staff shall: 

 
(1) Prepare any complaint the division director has dismissed pursuant to subsections 

(H)(2)(b) and (c) and forward the complaint to the board for review, pursuant to 
subsection (H)(2)(d), at the next regularly scheduled board meeting. 

(2) Prepare and forward to the board for review at the next regularly scheduled board 
meeting, any investigated complaint the deputy director has reviewed and entered 
a finding regarding probable cause, pursuant to subsection (H)(5)(c). 

(3) Prepare the documents for informal discipline no later than 30 days following the 
order of the board, pursuant to subsections (H)(7)(b) and (H)(25), unless the 
board extends the time for good cause. 

(4) Prepare the documents for formal discipline no later than 30 days following the 
order of the board pursuant to subsections (H)(9)(b) and (H)(25), unless the board 
extends the time for good cause. 

(5) File the formal statement of charges with the disciplinary clerk and arrange for 
service no later than 30 days following the order of the board, pursuant to 
subsection (H)(10), unless the board extends the time for good cause.  

(6) Serve the board’s order of emergency summary suspension and expedited hearing 
immediately on the certificate holder, pursuant to subsection (H)(9)(d)(2).  

(7) Except as provided in subsections (H)(1)(i)(6) and (8), deposit in the United 
States mail addressed to the last known address on file with division staff, written 
notice of the board’s final decision and order, regarding a complaint matter, to the 
certificate holder and complainant within ten days after the board’s decision, 
pursuant to subsection (H)(26)(b) and (c).  Notice by mail is complete upon 
deposit in the United States mail. 

(8) Mail the board’s final order of suspension or revocation of the certificate, 
pursuant to subsection (H)(26)(b) to the certificate holder, by certified mail return 
receipt requested, within two days, after the board’s decision, addressed to the last 
known address on file with division staff; and 

(9) Process complaints timely, with the goal of processing 98 percent of all 
complaints within 22 months from date of receipt to final decision by the board. 

 
2. Initial Screening of a Complaint.  Upon receipt of a complaint:  

 
a.  Division staff shall:  
 

(1) Consider if a complaint:   
(a) Falls outside the Supreme Court’s jurisdiction; 
(b) Does not provide the name of a certificate holder; 
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(c) Does not contain sufficient information to permit an investigation; 
(d) Does not provide specific allegations of acts of misconduct or violations of 

the statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section of the ACJA; 
(e) Contains allegations of acts of misconduct or violations, that if true, would not 

constitute a violation of the statutes, court rule, this section or the applicable 
section of the ACJA, the certificate holder is required to comply with;  

(f) Does not provide the name of the complainant; or 
(g) Does warrant further investigation and evaluation. 

(2) Recommend the division director dismiss the complaint if the complaint: 
(a) Falls outside the jurisdiction of the Supreme Court, court rules, this section, 

the applicable section of the ACJA, or the laws applicable to the certificate 
holder; 

(b) Does not provide the name of a certificate holder; 
(c) Does not contain sufficient information to permit an investigation; 
(d) Does not provide specific allegations of acts of misconduct or violations of 

the statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section of the ACJA; 
(e) Contains allegations of acts of misconduct or violations that if true, would not 

constitute a violation of the statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable 
section the certificate holder is required to comply with; or 

(f) Does not provide the name of the complainant. 
(3) Report all complaints dismissed by the division director to the board at the next 

regularly scheduled board meeting following the determination by the division 
director; and 

(4) Provide written notice to the complainant and the certificate holder of the division 
director’s decision to dismiss the complaint for the reasons in subsection 
(H)(2)(b) and (c), within ten days of the division director’s decision. 

 
b. The division director may: 
 

(1) Direct division staff to return an incomplete complaint to the complainant for 
additional information; 

(2) Dismiss a complaint, pursuant to subsection (D)(4)(a)(2), with or without 
prejudice, if the complaint falls outside the jurisdiction of the supreme court, the 
statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section of the ACJA; 

(3) Dismiss a complaint, pursuant to subsection (D)(4)(a)(3), with or without 
prejudice, if the complaint meets any of the criteria of subsection (H)(2)(a)(2)(b) 
through (f); or 

(4) Refer the complaint to another state agency or entity with jurisdiction, if 
appropriate, pursuant to subsection (D)(4)(a)(4). 

 
c. The division director shall dismiss the complaint, if the complainant does not supply 

documents or other information to remedy an insufficient complaint or demonstrate 
the alleged acts of misconduct or violations are within the certificate holder’s 
responsibilities as required by statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable 
section of ACJA. 

 
d. The board shall review, pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(e), the division director’s 

dismissal of a complaint and do one of the following: 
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 (1) Affirm the division director’s dismissal; or 
 (2) Request additional investigation of the dismissed complaint; pursuant to 

subsection  (D)(5)(c)(2)(c). 
 
e. The complainant may request the board review the division director’s dismissal of the 

complaint pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(b) or (c) by submitting a written request for 
review, specifying the requested reasons for the board’s review.  The complainant shall 
submit the request for review to division staff within ten days of the written notice of 
the division director’s dismissal of the complaint.  

 
3. Investigation.  Division staff shall investigate the complaint, after completion of the 

initial screening of the complaint and the determination a complaint is within the 
jurisdiction of the supreme court and warrants further investigation pursuant to 
subsection (H)(2)(a)(1)(g). 

 
a. Preliminary Investigation.  Division staff shall conduct an investigation of all 

complaints not dismissed by the division director to determine if a certificate holder 
has violated statutes, court rules, this section, or the applicable section of the ACJA; or 
for the purpose of securing information useful in the lawful administration of the law, 
this section, or the applicable sections of the ACJA.   

 
b. Notification to Certificate Holder of Complaint.  Division staff shall send the 

complaint to the certificate holder within fifteen days of receiving the complaint or 
the date the director initiates a complaint pursuant to subsections (D)(2)(b)(3) and 
(H)(1)(b)(4)(b).   

 
c. Certificate Holder’s Response to Notification of Complaint.  The certificate holder 

shall provide a written response to the complaint within thirty days of the notification 
of the complaint.  The board shall not proceed with disciplinary action without 
providing the certificate holder the complaint and an opportunity to respond to the 
complaint, except in a matter regarding an emergency suspension pursuant to 
subsection (H)(9)(d).  Failure by the certificate holder to accept notification of a 
complaint or failure to respond to the complaint shall not prevent division staff from 
proceeding with an investigation and the board from taking any disciplinary action. 

 
(1) If the certificate holder is unable to respond to a complaint within the time frame 

established by subsection (H)(3)(c), the certificate holder may submit a written 
request to the division director for an extension of time to respond.  The request 
for an extension of time to respond shall demonstrate good cause exists for an 
extension and shall provide a proposed date for fulfillment of the response 
requirement.  The certificate holder shall file the written request for an extension 
of time to respond to the complaint, no later than five days prior to the date the 
response is due. 

(2) The division director shall determine if good cause exists for an extension.  
Division staff shall notify the certificate holder of the division director’s decision 
on the request for an extension of time for providing a written response, within 
five days of the request for extension from the certificate holder.   

 
4. Preparation of Investigation Summary.  Upon completion of the investigation, division 
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staff shall prepare a written investigation summary for review by the probable cause 
evaluator.  The investigation summary shall include an analysis of the allegations of 
misconduct and violations and a recommendation as to whether probable cause exists 
demonstrating the certificate holder committed any of the alleged acts of misconduct or 
violations. 

 
5. Probable Cause Review.  Pursuant to subsection (H)(4) division staff shall forward the 

investigation summary to the probable cause evaluator for review and determination as to 
whether probable cause exists misconduct or violations occurred and are demonstrated in 
the investigation summary. 
 
a. The deputy director, serving in the capacity of probable cause evaluator pursuant to 

subsection (D)(3)(a), shall review the written investigation summary of the 
allegations of acts of misconduct or violations.  The deputy director may agree or 
disagree with the recommendations contained in the summary and may do one or 
more of the following: 

 
                  (1)  Direct division staff to investigate further; 

(2) Determine probable cause does not exist demonstrating the certificate holder has 
committed any acts of misconduct or violations of the statutes, court rules, this 
section, or the applicable section of the ACJA and enter a written finding to that 
effect; or  

(3) Determine probable cause exists demonstrating the certificate holder has 
committed one or more acts of misconduct or violations of the statutes, court 
rules, this section, or the applicable section of the ACJA and enter a written 
finding to that effect.  

 
b. If the probable cause evaluator directs division staff to investigate the complaint 

further, pursuant to subsection (H)(5)(a)(1), division staff shall do so immediately. 
 

            c. Upon review of the finding by the probable cause evaluator, pursuant to subsection 
(H)(5)(a)(2) and (3), division staff shall forward to the board, pursuant to subsection 
(H)(1)(i)(2), the investigation summary, finding by the probable cause evaluator and 
a written recommendation by the division director for the appropriate disposition of 
the complaint.  The written recommendation by the division director shall include any 
sanctions if applicable, pursuant to subsections (H)(7), (H)(9), (H)(24)(a)(6) and 
(H)(24)(b).  The board shall review these documents at the next regularly scheduled 
board meeting and do one of the following: 

 
(1) Determine the certificate holder did not commit any acts of misconduct or 

violations and dismiss the complaint pursuant to subsections (D)(5)(c)(1)(g) and 
(H)(24)(a)(3); 

(2) Determine the allegations of acts of misconduct or violations do not warrant 
discipline pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(g), but the certificate holder’s 
actions  
need modification or elimination and send an advisory letter to the certificate 
holder pursuant to subsections (H)(24)(a)(4) and (H)(24)(b)(1);  

(3) Determine the allegations of acts of misconduct or violations may be resolved 
through informal discipline proceedings pursuant to subsection (H)(7); 
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(4) Determine the acts of misconduct or violations may be resolved through a formal 
interview, pursuant to subsection (H)(8); 

(5) Determine the acts of misconduct or violations may be resolved through a formal 
discipline proceeding, pursuant to subsection (H)(9); or 

(6) Determine the acts of misconduct or violations pose harm or a risk to the public 
health, safety or welfare and require resolution through an emergency summary 
suspension, pursuant to subsection (H)(9)(d).  An emergency summary 
suspension is a formal discipline proceeding. 

 
6. Grounds for Discipline.  A certificate holder is subject to disciplinary action if the board 

finds the certificate holder has engaged in one or more of the following: 
 

a. Failed to perform any duty to discharge any obligation in the course of the certificate 
holder’s responsibilities as required by law, court rules, this section or the applicable 
section of the ACJA; 

 
b. Failed to comply with or complete a corrective action plan resulting from an audit or 

course monitoring; 
 
c. Failed to cooperate with or supply information to the director, deputy director, 

division staff or board by the specific time stated in any request; 
 
d. Aided or assisted another person or business entity to provide services requiring 

certification if the other person or entity does not hold the required certification; 
 
e. Conviction of a criminal offense while certified by final judgment of a felony relevant 

to certification; 
 
f. Failed to provide information regarding a criminal conviction; 
 
g. Exhibited gross negligence; 
 
h. Exhibited incompetence in the performance of duties; 
 
i. Evaded service of a subpoena or notice of the director, division director or board;  
 
j. The existence of any cause for which original certification or renewal of certification 

could have been denied pursuant to subsections (E)(2)(c) or (G)(4)(c) and the applicable 
section of the ACJA; 

 
k. Engaged in unprofessional conduct, including: 
 

(1) Assisted an applicant or certificate holder in the use of deception, dishonesty or 
fraud to secure an initial certificate or renewal of a certificate; 

(2) Failed to comply with any court order, board order or other regulatory agency 
order relevant to the profession or occupation; 

(3) Failed to comply with any federal, state or local law or rule governing the practice 
of the profession or occupation; 

(4) Failed to comply with any terms of a consent agreement, restriction of a 
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certificate or corrective action plan; 
(5) Failed to retain client or customer records for a period of three years unless law or 

rule allows for a different retention period; 
(6) Failed to practice competently by use of unsafe or unacceptable practices; 
(7) Failed during the performance of any responsibility or duty of the profession or 

occupation to use the degree of care, skill and proficiency commonly exercised by 
the ordinary skillful, careful and prudent professional certificate holder engaged 
in similar practice under the same or similar conditions regardless of any level of 
harm or injury to the client or customer; 

(8) Failed to practice competently by reason of any cause on a single occasion or on 
multiple occasions by performing unsafe or unacceptable client or customer care 
or failed to conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing 
practice;  

(9) Used advertising intended to or having a tendency to deceive the public; 
(10) Used a Supreme Court certification to deceive the public in level of skills or 

abilities; 
(11) Willfully made or filed false reports or records in the practice of the profession 

or occupation;  
(12) Failed to file required reports, records or pleadings in the practice of the 

profession or occupation; 
(13) Delegated professional or occupational responsibilities or duties to an employee or 

person who the certificate holder knows does not possess the necessary level of 
education, experience, skills or credentials to perform the duties of the profession or 
occupation unless authorized to do so by the applicable section of the ACJA; 

(14) Performed the responsibilities or duties of the profession or occupation when 
medically or psychologically unfit to do so; 

(15) Engaged in habitual substance abuse; 
(16) Engaged in undue influence over a client or customer to the benefit, financial or 

otherwise, of the certificate holder or a third party; or 
(17) Violated any statutory, court rule, or the applicable ACJA section regarding a 

confidentiality requirement. 
 

7.  Informal Disciplinary Proceedings. 
 

a. Commencement.  Following entry of a finding of probable cause by the probable   
cause evaluator and review of the recommendation of the division director pursuant 
to  subsections (H)(5)(a) and (c), the board may commence informal disciplinary  
proceedings if the board finds the complaint is appropriate for resolution through  
informal disciplinary proceedings.   

 
b.  Decision of the Board.  The board may resolve the complaint through informal 

disciplinary proceedings and impose an informal sanction pursuant to subsection 
(H)(24)(a)(6)(a) or may take other action pursuant to this section.  The Board, 
pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(f)(iv), shall order the preparation of documents 
necessary to commence informal disciplinary proceedings.  The board may make 
procedural determinations to consolidate or sever any informal discipline matter 
pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(2)(e).  The provisions of subsections (H)(24) and 
(H)(25) apply to the decision and order of the board.  Informal disciplinary 
proceedings: 
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(1) Do not provide the certificate holder the right to a hearing; 
(2) May result in the informal sanction of a letter of concern;   
(3) Are not subject to special action proceedings pursuant to subsection (H)(27); and 
(4) Are not confidential. 

 
8. Request for Formal Interview.  Upon entry of a finding of probable cause by the 

probable cause evaluator and review of the recommendation of the division director 
pursuant to subsections (H)(5)(a) and (c), and a board determination formal discipline is 
warranted, but before the filing of the formal statement of charges, the board may 
request a formal interview with a certificate holder, pursuant to subsection 
(D)(5)(c)(2)(d).  The request for a formal interview is to determine if the facts of the 
complaint may be capable of resolution outside of a formal disciplinary process by 
consent agreement or other negotiated settlement, pursuant to subsection 
(H)(24)(a)(6)(c) between the board and certificate holder. The board shall hold the 
formal interview at the next regularly scheduled board meeting, unless the board 
determines good cause to expedite the interview.   

 
         a. Once the board determines a formal interview is necessary, division staff shall 

provide the certificate holder a copy of the investigation summary, finding by the 
probable cause evaluator and the written recommendation by the division director for 
the appropriate disposition of the complaint.  Division staff shall also provide written 
notice of the day and time of the scheduled interview.  If the certificate holder 
declines the board’s request for an interview, the certificate holder does not forfeit the 
right to request a hearing pursuant to subsection (H)(12). 

 
b. If the certificate holder declines the board’s request for a formal interview, or if the 

division director’s recommended sanctions for future found violations include a 
suspension of more than twelve months or revocation, the board shall order the 
preparation of documents necessary for a filing of a formal statement of charges 
pursuant to subsections (D)(5)(c)(1)(f)(iv) and (H)(9)(b).  The board may consolidate 
or sever any discipline matter pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(2)(e). 

 
c. Upon the completion of the formal interview, if the board enters a finding the 

evidence obtained during the investigation or provided by the certificate holder merits 
a suspension of more than twelve months or revocation of the certificate, the board 
shall order the preparation of documents for filing a formal statement of charges, 
pursuant to subsections D(5)(c)(1)(f)(iv) and H(9)(b). 

 
d. Upon the completion of the formal interview, if the board enters a finding the 

evidence obtained during the investigation or provided by the certificate holder 
demonstrates the public’s health, safety, or welfare requires emergency action, the 
board shall issue an emergency summary suspension order pursuant to subsections 
(D)(5)(c)(1)(f)(v) and H(9)(d). 

 
            e. Upon completion of the formal interview, if the board determines the evidence 

obtained during the investigation or provided by the certificate holder does not merit 
a suspension of more than twelve months, revocation, or an emergency summary 
suspension, the board may take one or more of the following actions: 
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 (1) Determine the certificate holder did not commit any acts of misconduct or 

violations of statutes, court rules, this section, or the applicable section of the 
ACJA and dismiss the complaint pursuant to subsections (D)(5)(c)(1)(g) and 
(H)(24)(a)(3); 

 (2) Determine the allegations of acts of misconduct or violations of statutes, court 
rules, this section, or the applicable section of the ACJA, do not warrant 
discipline, but the certificate holder’s actions need modification or elimination 
and send an advisory letter to the certificate holder, pursuant to subsections 
(D)(5)(c)(1)(g), (H)(24)(a)(4) and (H)(24)(b)(1);  

 (3) Determine the certificate holder committed one or more acts of misconduct or 
violations of the statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section of the 
ACJA, and the complaint is appropriate for resolution through informal discipline 
proceedings pursuant to subsections (D)(5)(c)(1)(g) and (H)(7); 

 (4) Determine the certificate holder committed one or more acts of misconduct or 
violations of the statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section of the 
ACJA, and the compliant is appropriate for resolution through a consent 
agreement as part of formal disciplinary proceedings, pursuant to subsections 
(D)(5)(c)(1)(g) and (H)(24)(a)(6)(c); or 

 (5) Determine the certificate holder committed one or more acts of misconduct or 
violations of the statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section of the        
ACJA and the complaint is appropriate for resolution only through formal 
discipline proceedings, pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(g) and (H)(9). 

f. If the board, after the formal interview is concluded, determines the acts of 
misconduct or violations warrant an emergency summary suspension, the board shall 
make an order for an expedited hearing, pursuant to subsections (H)(9)(d)(1) and 
(H)(12)(d). 

 
9. Formal Disciplinary Proceedings. 

 
a. Commencement.  Upon entry of a finding of probable cause by the probable cause 

evaluator and review of the recommendation of the division director pursuant to 
subsection (H)(5)(c), the board may commence formal disciplinary proceedings.  

 
b. Decision of the Board.  On review of the recommendation of the division director, the 

board may resolve the complaint through formal disciplinary proceedings and impose 
informal and formal sanctions pursuant to subsection (H)(24)(a) and (b) or may take 
other actions pursuant to this section.  The board, pursuant to subsection 
(D)(5)(c)(1)(f)(iv) shall order the preparation of the documents necessary to 
commence formal disciplinary proceedings.  The board may make procedural 
determinations to consolidate or sever any formal disciplinary matter pursuant to 
(D)(5)(c)(2)(e).  The provisions of subsections (H)(24) and (H)(25) apply to the 
decision and order of the board.  Formal disciplinary proceedings: 

 
(1) Provide the certificate holder the right to a hearing, pursuant to subsection 

(H)(12)(c); 
(2) May result in informal and formal sanctions, including an emergency summary 

suspension pursuant to subsections (H)(24)(5) and (6); 
(3) May result in costs and civil penalties pursuant to subsections (H)(24)(6)(j) and 
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(k); 
(4) Are subject to special action proceedings pursuant to subsection (H)(27); and 
(5) Are not confidential. 

 
c. Notice to Certificate Holder.  Upon commencement of formal disciplinary 

proceedings by a board order, division staff shall notify the certificate holder of the 
board’s order and provide the certificate holder with a copy of the investigation 
summary, the division director’s recommendations and the deputy director’s finding 
of probable cause.   

 
 d. Emergency Summary Suspension.   
 

(1) Upon entry of a finding of probable cause by the probable cause evaluator and 
review of the recommendation of the division director pursuant to subsection 
(H)(5)(c), if the board finds the public health, safety or welfare is at risk and 
requires emergency action, the board shall order an immediate emergency 
summary suspension of a certificate and set a date for an expedited hearing while 
formal disciplinary proceedings are pending.     

(2) Division staff shall ensure the order of emergency summary suspension is 
immediately served on the certificate holder with the notice of the emergency 
summary suspension and the expedited hearing as ordered by the board, pursuant 
to this subsection and subsection (H)(12)(d).   

(3) The hearing shall be held within ten days of the board’s order of summary 
suspension. 

(4) The hearing officer shall only grant an extension of the ten day time period for 
holding the expedited hearing under extraordinary circumstances at the request of 
either party.  The certificate holder may consent to a longer time period for the 
extension and the reasons for the extension shall be part of the record. 

(5) Division staff shall notify all applicable courts including superior court presiding 
judges, clerks of the superior court and superior court administrators of the 
emergency summary suspension.  

 
10. Notice of Formal Statement of Charges and Proceedings; and Right to Hearing.  Upon 

motion and order of the board, division staff shall: 
 
a. Prepare the formal statement of charges pursuant to subsection (H)(1)(i)(4) and include 

in the statement all of the following: 
 

(1) A short and plain statement of the allegations; 
(2) A reference to statutes, court rules, this section and the applicable ACJA section; 
(3) A statement indicating the certificate holder has the right to a hearing, pursuant to 

subsection (H)(12)(c); 
(4) A statement indicating the request for hearing shall be in writing and made within 

fifteen days of receipt of the notice, pursuant to subsection (H)(13); and 
(5) A statement of the requirements for filing an answer pursuant to subsections 

(H)(11) and (17).  
 

b. Present the formal statement of charges to the board chair or designee for review and 
signature; 
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c. File the signed formal statement of charges with the disciplinary clerk; 
 
d. Arrange for service of the notice of formal statement of charges to the certificate holder 

pursuant to Rule 4, Rules of Civil Procedure; and 
 
e. Amendments to the formal statement of charges are permissible upon motion and order 

of the board. 
 

11. Answer to Formal Statement of Charges or Default.  The certificate holder shall file an 
answer to the formal statement of charges within fifteen days after the date the statement 
is served, unless otherwise ordered by the board for good cause.  Answers shall comply 
with Rule 8, Rules of Civil Procedure.  Any defenses not raised in the answer are waived.  
If a certificate holder fails to file an answer within the time provided, the certificate 
holder is in default and the factual allegations in the formal statement of charges are 
deemed admitted.  The board may enter a finding or findings against the certificate holder 
of one or more of the assertions contained in the notice. 

 
12. Right to Hearing. 
 

a. Except as provided in subsection (E)(1)(f)(2)(d)(iii), an applicant denied initial or 
renewal certification pursuant to subsections (E)(2)(c) or (G)(4) may request a 
hearing. 

 
b. Pursuant to subsection (E)(9)(b), an applicant denied reinstatement of certification 

may request a hearing, except if the applicant fails to provide required information 
within the requested time frame.   

 
c. A certificate holder served with a formal statement of charges pursuant to subsection 

(H)(9) may request a hearing.  
 
d. A certificate holder issued an emergency summary suspension pursuant to subsection 

(H)(9)(d)(1) shall have an expedited hearing. 
 

  13. Request for Hearing.  The applicant or certificate holder shall request the hearing    
within   fifteen days of the notice of denial of initial or renewal certification; or the notice of a 
formal statement of charges.  The request shall include the ACJA subsection entitling a 
person or business to a hearing, the factual basis supporting the request for hearing and the 
relief demanded. 

 
14. Selection of Hearing Officer for Certification or Discipline Hearing.  Upon written 

request by an applicant or certificate holder entitled to a hearing pursuant to subsection 
(H)(12), the disciplinary clerk shall select a hearing officer. 

 
a. The disciplinary clerk shall select a hearing officer from the list of hearing officers 

appointed by the Supreme Court.  The hearing officer shall have the following 
qualifications: 

 
 (1) Admitted to the practice of law in Arizona; and 
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(a)  An active member in good standing for at least seven years with the State Bar     
of Arizona; or 

                    (b)  An active or retired judicial officer.  
 

      (2) Have knowledge in the procedure for conducting administrative hearings 
regarding the denial of initial or renewal of certification or alleged acts of 
misconduct or violations by a certificate holder pursuant to this section or the 
applicable ACJA section. 

 
b. The disciplinary clerk may request the presiding judge of the superior court in the 

county where the alleged acts of misconduct or violations occurred to supply a hearing 
room and any other necessary resources. 

 
15. Time Line for Hearing.  The disciplinary clerk or hearing officer shall: 
 

a.  Ensure the hearing is held within 60 days of receipt of the request for hearing.  The 
hearing officer may continue the hearing date upon request or stipulation of the 
parties, or upon the hearing officer’s own motion, for good cause shown.  The hearing 
officer shall grant continuances no more than 30 days at a time and may not extend 
the hearing on the merits beyond 120 days from the filing of the formal statement of 
charges. 

 
b.  If the request to continue the hearing is filed by division staff, the hearing officer 

shall ensure the hearing is held as soon as practical at the discretion of the hearing 
officer but no less than fifteen days after notice, as required by subsection (H)(16).  

 
      16. Notice of Hearing.  The disciplinary clerk shall prepare and give notice of the hearing to  

the applicant or certificate holder and division staff, at least fifteen days prior to the date 
set for hearing.   

 
a. The notice shall include the following information: 

 
(1) A statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction for conduct of the hearing; 

                  (2) A statement of the date, time, place and nature of the hearing; and 
(3) A reference to the particular sections of the statutes, rules and ACJA sections 

involved. 
 

b. The disciplinary clerk shall accomplish service of the notice of hearing by United 
States mail to the last address of record on file with division staff.  Service is 
accomplished in accordance with Rule 5, Rules of Civil Procedure by deposit in the 
United States mail. 

 
c. If an attorney represents an applicant, certificate holder or division staff, the 

disciplinary clerk shall make service to the attorney of record.  
 

17. Filings of Pleadings, Motions and Other Documents. 
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a.  The applicant or certificate holder and division staff shall file all pleadings, motions or 
other documents with the disciplinary clerk at least fifteen days prior to the scheduled 
hearing date, unless otherwise ordered by the hearing officer. 

 
b. The applicant or certificate holder and division staff shall file responses to all 

pleadings, motions, or other documents with the disciplinary clerk within ten days of 
the filing of the pleading, motion, or other document. 

 
c. The party filing the pleading, motion, or other document may reply within five days 

of the filing of the response to the motion. 
 
d. Copies of all filings shall be delivered to the disciplinary clerk, the hearing officer 

and all parties to the proceeding. 
 

18. Discovery. 
 

a. There is no discovery, except as provided in this section, unless mutually agreed to by 
the parties or ordered by the hearing officer. 

 
b. The hearing officer, upon written request, shall order a party to allow the requesting 

party to have a reasonable opportunity to inspect and copy, at the requesting party’s 
expense, admissible documentary evidence or documents reasonably calculated to 
lead to admissible evidence prior to a hearing, provided the evidence is not 
privileged. 

 
c. Upon the hearing officer’s own motion or request by a party, the hearing officer shall 

order the disclosure of documentary evidence intended for use at the hearing provided 
the evidence is not privileged.  The hearing officer shall order the disclosure at least 
ten days prior to the hearing. 

 
d. A hearing officer shall review and rule upon any claims of privilege challenged by a 

party with respect to subsections (H)(18)(b) and (c). 
 

e. Within fifteen days of receipt of the notice of hearing, the parties shall exchange a list of 
witnesses containing the names, addresses and telephone numbers of all persons known 
to have knowledge of the relevant facts.  The list of witnesses shall designate those 
persons the parties intend to call at the hearing and summarize the anticipated testimony 
of each witness. 

 
f.  Parties may submit a motion to the hearing officer to take depositions of witnesses 

who cannot be subpoenaed or are otherwise unable to attend the hearing, for use as 
evidence at the hearing.  The hearing officer may order the deposition of any other 
witness upon motion and for good cause shown.  In either circumstance, the 
requesting party shall file a written motion for deposition with the hearing officer 
within ten days of the filing of the list of witnesses.  The requesting party shall 
provide copies to all parties, setting forth the name and address of the witness, subject 
matter of the deposition, documents, if any, the parties are seeking for production, 
time and place proposed for the deposition and justification for the deposition.  
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g.  Parties shall file responses to requests for depositions, including motions to quash, 
within five days after the filing of the request for deposition.  The hearing officer 
shall enter a final order regarding any motions for depositions. 

 
h. If a deposition is permitted and ordered by the hearing officer, the hearing officer 

shall issue a subpoena and written order.  The subpoena and order shall identify the 
person to be deposed, scope of testimony to be taken, documents, if any, to be 
produced and the time and place of the deposition.  The party requesting the 
deposition shall arrange for service of the subpoena and order with service on all 
parties five days before the time fixed for taking the deposition unless, for good cause 
shown, the time is shortened by the hearing officer. 

 
19. Subpoena. 

 
a. For the purpose of the hearing, a hearing officer may subpoena witnesses or 

documentary evidence, administer oaths and examine under oath any individual 
relative to the subject of any hearing.  

 
b.  Subpoenas shall be issued by a hearing officer and served in the same manner as 

provided by Rule 45, Rules of Civil Procedure.  An employee of the court or any other 
person as provided by Rule 45, Rules of Civil Procedure may serve the subpoena. 

 
c. If a person fails to obey a subpoena served in accordance with the provisions of this 

section, the board or hearing officer may forward a report of the disobedience, together 
with a copy of the subpoena and proof of service, to the superior court and request the 
superior court judge issue an order requiring the appearance by a person or the 
production of documents, or both.  The superior court may treat the failure to obey the 
subpoena as contempt of court and may impose penalties as though the person had 
disobeyed a subpoena issued by the court. 

 
 20. Prehearing Conference.  The hearing officer may order and conduct a pre-hearing                        

conference at the request of any party or on the hearing officer’s own initiative.  The 
purpose of the conference is to consider imposing limitations to promote simplicity in 
procedures, fairness in administration, elimination of unnecessary expense and 
protection of the public while preserving the rights of the certificate holder.  The 
hearing officer may take any of the following actions: 

 
a. Establish a hearing schedule to ensure early and continuing control so the matter shall 

not be protracted because of lack of management; 
 
b. Dispose of outstanding procedural matters; 
 
c. Narrow the issues for adjudication; 
 
d. Dispose of preliminary legal issues, including ruling on pre-hearing motions; 
 
e.  Obtain stipulations from the parties to the admission of evidence, facts and legal 

conclusions not contested; 
f. Identify witnesses and coordinate testimony; and 
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g. Consider any other matters to aid in the expeditious conduct of the hearing. 

 
  21. Procedure at Hearings. 

 
a. Hearing Officer.  The hearing officer shall preside over the hearing and decide all requests 

for a continuance, motions, determine the order of proof and manner of presentation of 
other evidence, issue subpoenas, place witnesses under oath, recess or adjourn the hearing 
and prescribe and enforce general rules of conduct and decorum.  Informal disposition may 
be made of any case by stipulation, agreed settlement, consent order or default. 

 
b. Rights of Parties and Other Persons at a Hearing.  At a hearing:   

 
(1) A party is entitled to enter an appearance, introduce evidence, examine and cross-

examine witnesses, make arguments and generally participate in the conduct of 
the proceeding. 

(2) An applicant or certificate holder may represent themselves or appear through 
counsel.  An attorney who intends to appear on behalf of a party shall promptly file 
a notice of appearance with the disciplinary clerk providing the name, address and 
telephone number of the party represented and the name, address and telephone 
number of the attorney.  A corporate officer or principal may represent a business 
entity in any proceeding under this section, as permissible pursuant to Arizona 
Supreme Court Rule 31. 

(3) All persons appearing before a hearing officer in any proceeding shall conform to 
the conduct expected in the superior court.  

 
c. Conduct of Hearing. 

 
(1)  All hearings are open to the public and shall conform to the provisions of ACJA § 

1-202:  Public Meetings.  The hearing officer may close the hearing to the public, 
pursuant to ACJA § 1-202(C)(5). 

(2) The hearing officer may conduct a hearing in an informal manner and without 
adherence to the rules of pleading or evidence.  The hearing officer may question 
witnesses and shall require any evidence supporting a decision is substantial, 
reliable and probative and shall exclude irrelevant, immaterial or unduly 
repetitious evidence. There is no right to a jury.   

(3) The hearing officer shall require all testimony taken is under oath or affirmation, 
except matters of which judicial notice is taken or entered by stipulation. The 
hearing officer may administer oaths and affirmations.  

(4) In all formal disciplinary matters brought as the result of an order by the board, 
evidence in support of the formal statement of disciplinary charges is presented first 
and carries the burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence.  In matters 
brought at the request of any other person or entity, including requests for hearing 
on the denial of initial or renewal of certification, the person or entity seeking the 
hearing shall present first and carries the burden of proof, by a preponderance of the 
evidence. 

 
d. Record of Hearing. 
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(1) The hearing officer shall ensure the oral proceedings, or any part of the oral 
proceedings, are recorded.  Upon the request of any party to the proceedings and 
payment of any costs, the record of the proceedings shall be transcribed. 

(2) A certified reporter shall make a full transcript of the proceedings if requested by 
a party within five days prior to a hearing and upon order of the hearing officer.  
The requesting party shall pay the cost of the transcript.  The hearing officer may 
require prepayment or a monetary deposit to cover the cost of the transcript.  If 
transcribed, the record is part of the court's record of the hearing and any other 
party with a direct interest shall receive a copy of the record, at the request and 
expense of the requesting party.   

 
22. Recommendation Report of Hearing Officer.   
 

a. The hearing officer shall, within 30 days of the closing of the record of a hearing, 
prepare a written recommendation report and file the report with the disciplinary 
clerk.  The recommendation report shall include findings of fact, based on a 
preponderance of the evidence and conclusions of law, separately stated.  

 
b. The hearing officer shall take testimony and receive evidence regarding alleged acts of 

misconduct or violations and possible sanctions.  If the hearing officer recommends the 
board enter a finding the certificate holder committed one or more acts of misconduct or 
violations, the hearing officer shall include in the recommendation report, in a 
separately stated section, an analysis of mitigating and aggravating factors and 
recommended imposition of permissible sanctions pursuant to subsection (H)(24).  The 
hearing officer shall base the recommendations exclusively on the matters officially 
noticed and the evidence presented. 
 
(1) Mitigating factors may include but are not limited to the following: 

(a) The absence of a prior disciplinary record; 
(b) The absence of a dishonest motive; 
(c) The absence of a selfish motive; 
(d) Personal or emotional problems; 
(e) A timely good faith effort to make restitution or to rectify consequences of 

misconduct; 
(f) Full and free disclosure to the division staff, the board or the hearing officer; 
(g) A cooperative attitude toward any proceedings; 
(h) Inexperience in the practice of the profession or occupation; 
(i) Character or reputation; 
(j) Physical or mental disability; 
(k) Physical or mental impairment; 
(l) Delays in the disciplinary proceedings; 
(m) Interim rehabilitation; 
(n) Imposition of other penalties or sanctions; 
(o) Remorse; or 
(p) The remoteness of prior offenses. 

(2) Aggravating factors may include but are not limited to the following: 
(a) A prior disciplinary record; 
(b) A dishonest motive; 
(c) A selfish motive; 
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(d) Multiple offenses; 
(e) Bad faith obstruction of the disciplinary proceedings by intentionally failing to 

comply with this section, the applicable section of ACJA, court rules or orders 
of the hearing officer; 

(f) Submission of false evidence, false statements or other deceptive practices 
during the discipline process; 

(g) Refusal to acknowledge wrongful nature of the conduct; 
(h) Vulnerability of the victim; 
(i) Substantial experience in the profession or occupation; or 
(j) Indifference to making restitution. 

 
c. The disciplinary clerk shall distribute the hearing officer recommendation report to 

all parties and the boards by United States mail to the last address on file with the 
division staff.  Distribution is accomplished in accordance with Rule 5, Rules of Civil 
Procedure by deposit in the United States mail. 

 
d. The board may adopt or modify the hearing officer’s recommendation report in whole 

or in part. 
 
e. The board may remand the matter to the hearing officer in whole or in part, 

designating the issues remanded.  The board shall provide the hearing officer with an 
order identifying the issues remanded. 

 
   23. Rehearing.  A party to the hearing may request a rehearing of the matters involved in the  

hearing.  The requesting party shall file the written request with the hearing officer and the 
disciplinary clerk within fifteen days after the disciplinary clerk has distributed the hearing 
officer’s recommendation report to the parties pursuant to subsection (H)(22)(c).    The 
requesting party shall base the request for rehearing on one or more of the grounds listed in 
Rule 59, Rules of Civil Procedure.  The hearing officer shall allow any party served with a 
request for rehearing to file a response within ten days of service.  The hearing officer may 
grant a rehearing of the matters involved in the hearing and shall make the decision to 
grant or deny the request within ten days of the date the response for rehearing is filed. 

 
   24. Possible Actions for Resolution of a Complaint. 
 

a. Upon completion of an investigation concerning alleged acts of misconduct or violations 
by a certificate holder, which may or may not include a formal interview, informal or 
formal               disciplinary proceedings, or a hearing, the board shall do one or more of the 
following: 

 
(1) Request division staff to conduct further investigation; 
(2) Refer the complaint to another entity with jurisdiction; 
(3) Determine no violation exists and dismiss the complaint with or without 

prejudice; 
(4) Determine no acts of misconduct or violation occurred and no discipline is 

warranted; however, the certificate holder’s actions need modification or 
elimination and issue an advisory letter pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(g);  

(5) Enter a finding the certificate holder has violated any of the provisions of the 
statutes, court rules, this section, or the applicable ACJA specific sections or 
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subsection (H)(6) and order an emergency summary suspension, pursuant to 
subsection (H)(9)(d); 

(6) Enter a finding the certificate holder has violated any of the provisions of the 
statutes, court rules, this section, the applicable ACJA sections or subsection 
(H)(6) and issue an order imposing any or a combination of the following 
informal or formal disciplinary sanctions: 
(a) Issue a letter of concern; 
(b) Issue a censure;  
(c) Resolve any found acts of misconduct or violations by consent order or other 

negotiated settlement; 
(d) Place specific restrictions on a certificate; 
(e) Place the certificate holder on probation for a set period of time under 

specified conditions; 
(f) Mandate additional training for the certificate holder; 
(g) Issue a cease and desist order pursuant to subsection (E)(6); 
(h) Order suspension of a certificate for a set period of time with specific 

conditions for reinstatement; 
(i) Order revocation of a certificate with specific conditions for reinstatement; 
(j) Assess costs associated with the investigation and disciplinary proceedings; or 
(k) Impose civil penalties associated with the investigation and disciplinary 

proceedings.  
 

b. The following provisions apply to the actions specified in subsection (H)(24)(a): 
 

(1) An advisory letter is not a discipline sanction and is confidential.  While the 
conduct does not warrant any disciplinary action, the board believes the certificate 
holder should modify or eliminate certain practices and continuation of the 
activities leading to the documentation regarding the conduct being submitted to 
the board may result in future board action against the certificate holder.  A 
certificate holder may file a response with the board no later than fifteen days 
after the date of the advisory letter. The certificate holder’s response is 
confidential and division staff shall file the response in the complaint file.  

(2) An informal disciplinary proceeding may result in  a letter of concern but may not 
include a censure, restrictions on a certificate, probation, mandated additional 
training, suspension or revocation of the certificate, or imposition of civil 
penalties or costs.  A letter of concern is a written informal discipline sanction 
and is not confidential or appealable.  A certificate holder may file a response to 
the letter of concern no later than fifteen days after the date of the letter of 
concern.  The certificate holder’s response is public and division staff shall file 
the response in the complaint file. 

(3)  The board may impose informal discipline in combination with formal discipline. 
  

25. Decisions and Orders. The board shall make final decisions or orders in writing and shall 
include findings of fact and conclusions of law, separately stated.  The board shall make 
findings of fact by a preponderance of the evidence, based exclusively on the evidence 
and on matters officially noticed and consider mitigating or aggravating factors pursuant 
to subsections (H)(22)(b)(1) and (2).   
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 26. Notice of Board’s Final Decision.  Upon final order of the board regarding a certification       
or complaint matter, division staff shall provide written notice of the board’s final 
decision and order: 

 
a. Regarding an initial or renewal certification matter, to the applicant or certificate 

holder within ten days, by deposit in the United States mail addressed to the last 
known address on file with division staff.  Notice by mail is complete upon deposit in 
the United States mail. 

 
b. Regarding suspension or revocation of certification to the certificate holder by 

certified mail, return receipt requested, within two days, addressed to the last known 
address on file with division staff pursuant to subsection (H)(1)(i)(8).  Division staff 
shall ensure the order of emergency summary suspension is immediately served on 
the certificate holder pursuant to subsection (H)(9)(d)(2).  Division staff shall send 
any other disciplinary order by the board, not involving suspension or revocation of 
certification, to the certificate holder within ten days by deposit in the Unites States 
mail addressed to the last known address on file with division staff, pursuant to 
subsection (H)(1)(i)(7).  Notice by mail is complete upon deposit in the United States 
mail. 

 
c. Regarding a complaint matter, to the complainant within ten days, pursuant to 

subsection H(1)(i)(7), by deposit in the United States mail addressed to the last 
known address on file with division staff.  Notice by mail is complete upon deposit in 
the United States mail. 

 
27. Filing of Special Action.  Decisions of the board pursuant to this section and the  

applicable ACJA sections are final.  Parties may seek judicial review through a petition  
for a special action within 35 days after entry of the board’s final order.  The petition for  
special action shall be pursuant to the Arizona Rules of Procedure for Special Actions.   

 
I.   Policies and Procedures for Board Members.  The purpose of a board is to assist the 

Supreme Court in the protection of the public through the certification and oversight of 
certificate holders, to ensure conformance by certificate holders to the highest ethical 
standards and performance of responsibilities in a professional and competent manner.   

 
1. Establishment of Boards and Appointment and Terms of Members.  The establishment of 

the boards and the appointment and terms of members are specified in subsections 
(D)(5)(a) and (b). 

 
2. Role and Responsibilities of Board Members. In addition to the provisions of subsection 

(D)(5)(c), the following provisions apply: 
 

a. Role.  The primary role of the board members is protection of the public through the 
fair and impartial application of the applicable section of the ACJA and court rules.  
Members should consider the views and interests of regulated professionals and the 
profession; however, members shall balance this against the member’s primary role of 
protection of the public. 
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b. Attendance.  Members shall attend and actively participate in board meetings and 
assist with the administration of board affairs.  Regular attendance by each member 
of the board helps ensure full contribution of all members.  Therefore, members are 
required to regularly attend and participate in board meetings.  The board chair shall 
address a board-attendance issue regarding a member as follows: 
(1) A board-attendance problem occurs if a member: 

(a) Has two consecutive un-notified absences where the member did not provide 
advance notification to division staff the member would be absent; 

(b) Has three consecutive absences where the member did provide advance 
notification to division staff the member would be absent; or 

(c) Misses one third of the total number of regular board meetings in a twelve month 
period.  

(2) Upon determination of a board-attendance problem, the chair shall discuss the 
issue with the member.  The chair shall share the member’s response at the next 
board meeting and the board shall consider the appropriate action to take 
regarding the member’s membership on the board.  If the board decides to 
recommend to the chief justice for the termination of the membership of the 
member, the chair shall inform the member of the board’s decision.  The chair 
shall request a letter of resignation from the member and the return of any board 
materials.  The board shall promptly initiate the process for the recruitment and 
recommendation of a new member.  

 
c. Expenses.  Members shall not receive compensation for their services, but may 

receive reimbursement for their travel and other expenses incidental to the 
performance of their duties, pursuant to the adopted state guidelines. 

 
d. Gifts and Awards.  A member shall not solicit or accept any gift or award from any 

professional certified individual, business or association, including a testamentary 
gift, unless the member or other recipient of the gift is related to the provider of the 
gift or award.  For the purposes of this paragraph, “gift” includes money, services, 
travel, food, or entertainment and “related persons” includes a spouse, child, 
grandchild, parent, grandparent or other relative or individual with whom the member 
maintains a close, familial relationship.  It is acceptable for the board or a member to 
accept an award, in recognition of service, from an association not directly related to 
their respective professional association, for example, the American Judicature 
Society. 

 
e. Contractual Arrangements.  A member shall carefully consider entering into any 

contractual arrangement with any professional certificate holder for the provision of 
any services related to the associated profession.  The member shall consider whether 
such an association could result in a conflict of interest, or the appearance of a 
conflict of interest. 

 
f. Referrals.  A member shall carefully consider whether to recommend the services of 

any professional certificate holder to a member of the public or to accept a referral 
from a regulated professional or regulated business.  The member shall consider 
whether a referral could result in a conflict of interest, or the appearance of a conflict 
of interest. 
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g. Professional Associations.  A member shall not serve simultaneously as an officer or 
board member of a professional association for the regulated profession and as a member 
of the board. 

 
3. Organization.   

 
a. Chair.  The chief justice shall designate the chair of the board, unless otherwise 

designated by the applicable ACJA section.  If the chair resigns or ceases to be a 
member of the board, the chief justice shall appoint another person, either an existing 
member of the board or a new appointee, to serve as chair.  The chair shall perform 
the duties normally associated with the office and shall preside over all general 
meetings of the board. 

 
b. Vice Chair.  The board shall elect a vice chair from among the appointed members of 

the board.  The vice chair shall serve in the capacity as vice chair for a specified term.  
If the vice chair resigns or ceases to be a member of the board, the board shall vote to 
elect a new vice chair from among the existing members.  The vice chair shall act as 
chair in the absence of the chair. 

 
c. Subcommittees.  The chair or the board may establish such subcommittees as deemed 

necessary to adequately serve the needs of the applicable program.  Each 
subcommittee shall consist of a chair to be named by the board chair or the board and 
members who volunteer and are approved for service.  The chair or the board may 
appoint additional individuals who are not appointed members of the board to a 
subcommittee.  A subcommittee shall exist only so long as it serves a current, useful 
purpose.  A subcommittee may be dissolved by the board chair or the board if it is 
deemed it has fulfilled its purpose.  
 

4. Meetings.   
 

a. Regular Meetings.  The board shall meet no less than six times per year for regular 
meetings, unless other applicable ACJA sections state otherwise.  The board chair 
may call additional regular meetings at the discretion of the board chair.   

 
b. Emergency Meetings.  The board chair may call emergency meetings of the board 

upon a showing of good cause, including consideration of the emergency suspension 
of a certificate pursuant to subsection (H)(5)(c)(6).   

 
c. Public Notice.  All meetings shall be publicly noticed and open to the public, in 

compliance with ACJA § 1-202.   
 
d. Quorum.  The board shall have a quorum for all official actions.  A quorum consists 

of a majority of the board. 
 

5. Actions. 
 

a. Voting.  A majority of the votes shall decide motions arising at any meeting of the 
board.  All members may vote on any motion.  All votes shall be taken by voice vote, 
signified by “aye” or “nay.”  Any board member may require a recorded vote, to 
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include the number of “ayes” or “nays” and the specific vote of the member 
requesting the recorded vote.  In the case of an equality of votes the motion is 
defeated.  A declaration by the chair a motion has carried and an entry to that effect in 
the minutes is admissible in evidence as prima facie proof of the fact without proof of 
the number or proportion of the votes recorded in favor of or against such resolution 
being necessary.  

 
b. Recusal.  A member shall recuse from discussing and voting on an issue pertaining to 

an applicant or certificate holder who is related to the member or in any other 
situations where there is a conflict of interest, or may be the appearance of a conflict 
of interest.   
 
(1) For the purposes of this subsection: 

(a) “related” includes the relationships of parent, child, sibling, spouse or 
cohabitant; 

(b) “conflict of interest” includes situations where the member has a direct or 
indirect substantial interest in any contract, sale, purchase or service to the 
board or the AOC or who has, or whose relative has, a substantial interest in 
any decision of the board, or the existence of any situation where there is, or 
may be an appearance that the relationship is one that would affect the 
member’s ability to be impartial.  The fact a member or the entire board has 
been named in a lawsuit by an applicant or certificate holder does not 
automatically constitute a conflict of interest requiring the recusal of the 
member in an issue relating to the applicant or certificate holder. 

(2) The purpose of this recusal provision is to remove or limit the possibility of 
personal influence which might bear upon a member’s official decision, or 
provide the appearance of any impropriety in the member’s decision.  

(3) A member may seek legal advice regarding specific conflicts of interest or other 
ethical issues pertaining to membership and action from the AOC legal counsel. 

(4) The member shall recuse at the beginning of the discussion of the issue by the 
board, or at the first instance the member realizes the conflict.  The member shall 
not participate in the discussion by the board and shall leave the meeting room 
during board discussion of the issue in executive session.  The recusal shall be noted 
in the official minutes of the meeting. 

 
c. A member shall not designate a proxy for attendance or voting. 

 
6. Staff.  Under the direction of the chief justice, the director shall provide staff to assist and 

support the board and may conduct or coordinate research as recommended by the board. 
 
7. Communications. 

 
a. Board members shall not engage in improper ex parte communications with a hearing 

officer, other board members or division staff as to the merits of a case regarding an 
individual or business entity application for certification or a complaint alleging acts or 
misconduct or violations of statutes, court rules, or the ACJA that have been filed 
against a certificate holder.  Except as may be provided in the applicable sections of the 
ACJA, all communications among a board member, division staff or a hearing officer in 
these situations shall occur during board meetings.  
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b. AOC legal counsel shall provide legal advice for the board.  The Office of the 

Arizona Attorney General provides legal representation to the board as an entity or 
individual member, consistent with the Arizona constitution and statutes.  AOC legal 
counsel shall coordinate with the Attorney General for representation. 

 
c. Board members shall not engage in ex parte communications with applicants for 

certification or certificate holders regarding the board’s action or potential action.  
Members shall not engage in ex parte communications with any other person, 
including the attorney of record of an applicant or certificate holder. 

 
d. Board members should refer all contacts from the media to the AOC public 

information officer. 
 
e. Board members shall maintain the confidentiality of all information provided to the 

board during confidential executive sessions of the board and other documents that 
are confidential pursuant to court rules or law.  

 
f. Board members should always be cognizant they are seen as representatives of the 

board and the program at professional gatherings and in public settings, including, for 
example, at the legislature.  Board members should not speak for the board unless 
specifically authorized to do so.  A board member shall make the following 
statement, either verbally or in writing, or both, “the views and opinions expressed 
are my own and do not represent the views or opinion of the board, the AOC or the 
Arizona Supreme Court.” 

 
g. Board members shall refer inquiries from the public, certificate holders, applicants for 

certification and other governmental and private entities regarding matters within the 
board’s jurisdiction to division staff.  Division staff, in coordination with the board 
chair, shall refer appropriate issues to the full board at a regularly scheduled board 
meeting. 

 
h.   These provisions apply to all forms of communication, including verbal, written and 

electronic  
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    ARIZONA CODE OF JUDICIAL ADMINISTRATION 
Part 7: Administrative Office of the Courts  

Chapter 2: Certification and Licensing Programs 
§ 7-205: Defensive Driving  

 
 
A. Definitions.  In addition to the definitions contained in ACJA § 7-201(A), the following 

definitions apply: 
  

“Additional modality application fee” means the fee imposed for certifying each additional 
course delivery method utilized by a school that offers more than one mode of delivery, as 
specified in § 7-205(K)(4).  
 
“Affirmation of eligibility” means a form an offender signs affirming the offender’s 
eligibility to attend a defensive driving course.  

 
“Alternative delivery method (ADM)” means a defensive driving course other than a live 
classroom presentation by an instructor. 

 
“Attend” means to participate in a defensive driving course, whether at a classroom site, or 
using the materials for an ADM course.   

 
“Batch processing” means the method by which multiple student records are transmitted to 
the defensive driving database as one group.  

 
“Bond card” means a court’s civil sanction schedule providing contact information for 
defensive driving schools. 

 
“Class schedule directory” means a complete listing of a school’s defensive driving courses for 
a specified advance period of time including instructor name, time of courses, date and 
location. 

 
“Complete” means to begin and successfully fulfill all requirements of a defensive driving   
course.   
 
“Completion certificate” means a document that may be issued by a school to an individual 
who has successfully completed a defensive driving course. 
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“Continuance” means the extension of the scheduled court arraignment date for an 
individual, pursuant to court order or an administrative order issued by the presiding judge. 

 
“Course demonstration” means a presentation of an applicant school’s complete curriculum 
including all ADM options.  

 
“Course participation questions” means the set of queries asked of a student to determine if 
the student is the person registered for the course and participating in the ADM course. 
 
 
“Court” means, pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-3391, “... unless the context otherwise requires, ... 
a juvenile division of the superior court, a justice of the peace court  or a municipal court.” 
 
“Court automation requirements” means the minimum capabilities necessary to 
electronically transmit student completion records and fund transfers to the court of 
jurisdiction.  
 
“Court reporting requirements” means the method and minimum amount of information 
needed by a court of jurisdiction to adjudicate a citation. 
 
“Curriculum” means a detailed written outline of the defensive driving course or lesson plan, 
films or audiovisual materials and any written materials the school intends to use to 
supplement the presentation. 
 
“Days” unless otherwise defined, means calendar days.  
 
“Defensive driving course” means an educational and behavior modification presentation 
designed to teach safe driving practices and attitudes used for the purpose of court 
diversion or as an element of a sentence.   

 
“Defensive driving database” means the database instituted pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-
3395(B)(3) for the purpose of recording all individual completions of defensive driving 
courses for court diversion programs and court orders. 
  
“Eligible individual” means person cited for a moving traffic violation, who qualifies for 
diversion under A.R.S. § 28-3392(A)(1) or (A)(2).   

 
“Identity verification questions” means the queries made throughout an ADM course 
presentation for personal information from the student participating in the course.   

 
“Instructional time” means the time spent presenting the school’s approved curriculum.  
Instructional time does not include breaks, registration, audiovisual set-up, technical 
breakdown or assistance, or time devoted to other administrative functions.   

 
“Instructor” means a person who is certified pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(E) and this section to 
conduct defensive driving courses for a school. 
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“Instructor seminar” means the course of study a school presents to an applicant for 
certification as an instructor prior to the submission of the individual’s application for 
certification or an instructor prior to the instructor conducting a course for the school.  

 
“Multi-purpose agency” means an entity which conducts other traffic related classes, or 
conducts other activities, services or sales in addition to and apart from its court diversion 
business. 

 
“Negative state fee report” means a standard form submitted in lieu of payment of state fees 
and completion reports when no students completed a school’s defensive driving course during 
a reporting period and therefore, no state fees are due.  

 
 

“On-line processing” means a school submits student records to the defensive driving 
database through direct access, one record at a time.   

 
“Owner” means any individual or entity that holds a beneficial interest in a defensive driving 
school. 

 
“Primary-provider” means a school which has entered into a contract with a court or courts to 
provide defensive driving courses for court diversion and its related activities.  

 
“Remittance report” means a detailed statement of an individual student’s court diversion or 
state fees attached to the disbursement check for any court or the AOC. 
 
“Reporting period” means the two periods of the month set forth for receipt of payments and 
remittance reports. 
  
“Restricted certificate” means permission granted to a school owner or principal to present 
defensive driving courses. 

 
“School” means an entity certified pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(E) and this section to provide an 
educational defensive driving course designed to teach safe driving practices and attitudes.  
 
“School fee” means the total amount, including all fees, charged to each student by a school 
for attending a defensive driving course and retained by the school for its services. 
 
“Serious physical injury” means “physical injury that creates a reasonable risk of death, or 
that causes serious and permanent disfigurement, serious impairment of health or loss or 
protracted impairment of the function of any bodily organ or limb” as provided by A.R.S. § 
13-105(38). 
 
“State fee” means the amount mandated by A.R.S. §§ 28-3397(A) and 12-114(A) collected 
by a school from each individual who begins a defensive driving course for diversion, or by 
an order of a court.   
 
“State fiscal year” means the state business year from July 1 to June 30.   
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“State surcharge” means the amount mandated by A.R.S. § 28-3396 (A)(2) collected by a 
school from each individual who begins a defensive driving course and transmitted to the 
state treasurer for deposit in the state general fund.  
 

B. Applicability.  This section applies to the certification of schools and instructors and the use 
of schools by the courts, pursuant to A.R.S. §§ 28-3391 through -3399.  This section is read 
in conjunction with ACJA § 7-201:  General Requirements.  In the event of a conflict 
between this section and ACJA § 7-201, the provisions of this section shall govern.  This 
section does not apply to educational providers established pursuant to other statutes 
mandating or governing educational programs administered by other agencies except where 
these providers also maintain certification as a school. 

 
C. Purpose.  This section is intended to result in the effective administration of the defensive 

driving program and in certification of schools and instructors for performance of 
responsibilities in a professional and competent manner, for the protection of the public in 
accordance with all applicable statutes, ACJA § 7-201 and this section. 

 
D. Administration.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-201(D), the following 

requirements apply:  
  

1. Pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-3395(B), the Supreme Court shall: 
 

 1. Supervise the use of defensive driving schools by the courts in this state.  
 
 2. Make public the amount of the court diversion fee assessed by each court in 

this state . . . and the total cost to attend a defensive driving school in each 
court. 

 
 3. Establish an automated statewide data base for keeping a record of persons 

who attend a defensive driving school. 
 
 4. Adopt rules that establish criteria for the certification of qualified 

defensive driving schools and instructors used by the courts. 
  
 5. Establish procedures for courts and schools to remit reports that are 

required by the supreme court.  
 
 6. Certify and monitor defensive driving schools and instructors that serve as 

a court authorized diversion program. 
   

2. Role and Responsibilities of the Director.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-
201(D), the director may require the inclusion of specific provisions in any contracts 
written between courts and providers of defensive driving courses to ensure compliance 
with ACJA § 7-201 and this section. 
 

3. Role and Responsibilities of the Deputy Director.  These responsibilities are contained in 
ACJA § 7-201(D)(3). 
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4. Role and Responsibilities of Division Staff.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-
201(D)(4), division staff shall: 

 
a. Review and make recommendations, in writing when necessary, to an applicant school 

regarding the applicant’s: 
 
(1) Affirmation of eligibility; 
(2) Fee refund policy; 
(3) Defensive driving course evaluation form; 
(4) Completion certificate and/or receipting; 
(5) Instructor training seminar; 
(6) Administrative manual; 
(7) Operational manual; 
(8) Financial procedures manual; 
(9) Third - party contracts involving direct delivery of defensive driving services to the 

public or any duties normally performed by the school; 
(10) Capability of operating as a batch or on-line school; 
(11) Course curriculum; 
(12) Course participation questions; and 
(13) Identity verification questions and processes. 
 

b. In conducting the review of an applicant school and making recommendations to an 
applicant: 
 
(1) Review curriculum to determine if the curriculum complies with applicable law, 

court rules and ACJA §§ 7-201 and -205; and 
(2) Utilize the supreme court’s minimum accounting standards as a basis for any 

financial procedures. 
 

c. Conduct a review of the applicant school’s course and curriculum by: 
 
(1) Setting a time and location for the applicant to present its defensive driving course in 

its entirety with all elements and intended formats as proposed in the curriculum; 
(2) Noting deficiencies in the course based on the minimum standards pursuant to 

subsections (E)(1)(k)(1) through (5) and provide the applicant a written summary of 
the deficiencies; 

(3) Providing a copy of the curriculum evaluation to the applicant; and 
(4) Setting a time and location for the applicant to provide a second demonstration of the 

course if the applicant’s deficiencies are numerous.  
 

d. Conduct tests of the applicant school’s hardware and software to verify the applicant 
school has: 
 
(1) The necessary equipment to access the defensive driving database and maintain 

the connection for remittance of information; 
(2) Staff with the expertise to maintain the connection for remittance of information; 
(3) The necessary equipment to comply with court automation and reporting 

requirements and fund transfers; and 
(4) A secure web site. 
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e. Administer the examination required pursuant to this section and ACJA § 7-

201(E)(1)(f) by offering the examination a minimum of four times per calendar year, 
no less than once every three months. 

 
f. Conduct training in the defensive driving database for the applicant school’s 

designated principal upon certification.  
 

g. Conduct, in conjunction with the schools, six hours of continuing education for 
instructors every calendar year in the two year renewal cycle for a total of twelve 
hours. 

 
h. Implement a monitoring program including conducting compliance audits of certified 

schools and instructors. 
 

5. Role and Responsibilities of the Board.   In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-
201(D), the following requirements apply: 

 
a. The Defensive Driving Board is established pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(D), comprised 

of the following eleven members: 
 

(1) Two certified instructors who have worked as a certified instructor for at least five 
years; 

(2) One judge from a limited jurisdiction court; 
(3) Two court administrators from limited jurisdiction courts; 
(4) Three owners, principal officers or administrators of a classroom or ADM school 

who have owned the school or been a business partner in Arizona for at least two 
years; 

(5) Two public members; and 
(6) One additional member appointed by the chief justice. 

 
b. Duties of the Board.  In addition to the responsibilities contained in ACJA § 7-

201(D), the board: 
 

(1) Shall, pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-3393 and subsection (D)(6)(e)(3), review a request 
from a court for approval of the court’s automation, reporting and fund transfer 
requirements.  In conducting this review the board shall: 
(a) Develop and distribute a request form for the courts to complete and submit; 
(b) Conduct the review during a regularly scheduled meeting of the board;  
(c) Base its review of the court’s request for approval on the statewide standards 

adopted by the Supreme Court for electronic reporting of defensive driving 
school registration and completion information; 

(d) Review the stated reasons why the court’s needs cannot be met through the 
statewide standards; 

(e) Make a written decision either approving or denying the court’s request.  The 
board may grant an exception to the adopted standards only under the 
following circumstances: 
(i) The court’s case management system currently receives defensive driving 

completion information from the defensive driving schools in a manner 
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that electronically receipts the associated court diversion fees to each 
individual case; or 

(ii) A non-AZTEC court can demonstrate it needs additional time or cannot 
make the programming changes necessary to accept the defensive driving 
XML messages distributed by MQ series for integration into its case 
management system. 

(f) If the board grants an exception, the board shall review the court’s 
requirements one year after the approval.  At the review, the board shall again 
consider the statewide automation standards and the court’s needs and may 
either reauthorize the approval for another one year period or rescind the 
approval; and  

(g) Request division staff post the list of courts and approved automation and 
reporting requirements on the website for distribution to the schools and 
public. 

(2) May authorize restoration of eligibility for a student pursuant to subsection 
(F)(27)(g). 

 
6. Role and Responsibilities of the Superior and Limited Jurisdiction Courts. 
 

a. The presiding judge of the superior court shall supervise the use of defensive driving 
schools by the municipal and justice of the peace courts in the county in compliance 
with A.R.S. §§ 28-3391 – 3399 and ACJA § 7-205. 

 
b. The presiding judge of the superior court shall not permit any court official or 

employee to accept, either directly or indirectly, any compensation or incentive to use 
a specific school. 

 
c. The presiding judge of the justice, juvenile or municipal court shall: 
 

(1) Subject to the approval of the presiding judge of the superior court, set a single 
diversion fee for an eligible offender attending a defensive driving course; 

(2) Assess a diversion fee in lieu of a civil penalty or order a fine, but not both; 
(3) Notify the supreme court in writing by September 1 for changes effective October 

1 and March 1 for changes effective April 1 of  the court’s diversion fees pursuant 
to subsection (D)(6)(c)(1); 

(4) Effective January 1, 2009, implement the provisions of A.R.S. § 28-3393: 
 

A. Except as provided in subsection B, an eligible individual who 
elects to attend a defensive driving school shall attend one of 
the following within the time allowed by the court: 

 
1. A defensive driving school that is certified by the supreme 

court and complies with the court automation and reporting 
requirements pursuant to subsections B and C. 
 

2.  On application to the court and on the showing of 
reasonable justification by the individual, another supreme 
court certified defensive driving school.  Reasonable 
justification includes the fact that the individual resides in 
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another area and that attendance at any of the defensive 
driving schools that comply with the court automation and 
reporting requirements creates a hardship on the individual.  

 
B. On the expiration of all contracts that are in existence on  July 

1, 2007, between the court and a defensive driving school 
provider, an eligible individual who elects to attend a defensive 
driving school may attend any supreme court certified 
defensive driving school that complies with the court 
automation and reporting requirements.  For the purposes of 
this subsection, the renewal of any contract between a court 
and a defensive driving school after July 1, 2007, shall be 
considered a new contract.  

 
C. A court may adopt requirements for a school to electronically 

report school completions and to transfer funds, subject to the 
approval of the defensive driving board.  

 
D. A law enforcement officer or a jurisdiction issuing a civil 

traffic citation to an individual shall provide notice to the 
individual that if eligible, the individual may attend any 
supreme court certified defensive driving school subject to 
subsection B.  

E. A court shall not promote or favor any supreme court certified 
defensive driving school over another, except that the notice 
provided pursuant to subsection D may exclude a school that 
does not comply with the court’s automation and reporting 
requirements pursuant to subsections B and C.  

 
(5) Have services provided only by a school certified by the Supreme Court;  
(6) Have a written contract with each primary provider and upon the expiration or 

cancellation of each primary provider contract in existence on July 1, 2007, notify 
the division staff of the expiration or cancellation of the contract;   

(7) Provide a person with a written court order specifying the violation date, citation 
and any special conditions if a judge orders a person to attend a school other than 
as diversion.  The order shall include the fine if the court fines a person for the 
violation; 

(8) Pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-3392(A)(1), provide division staff with an update of the 
local ordinances eligible for diversion two times per year;   

(9) Accept notification of an eligible offender’s completion of a defensive driving course 
only from a certified school;  

(10) Pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(H)(1), notify division staff regarding any acts of 
misconduct or violations of the statutes, ACJA § 7-201, this section or court 
rules by a certified school or instructor;  

(11) Designate court staff to: 
(a) Oversee the method of providing bond card information for traffic citations and 

ensure it contains the following:  
(i) A statement indicating an offender, if eligible to attend a defensive driving 

course for diversion, may attend only a supreme court certified school; 
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(ii) The internet address for the AOC’s website containing the list of Supreme 
Court schools an offender may attend; 

(iii)  The AOC’s toll free telephone number for access of information regarding 
supreme court schools an offender may attend, for offenders without access 
to the Website; and 

(iv)  A statement the offender shall complete the course at least seven days prior 
to the court arraignment day; 

(b) Correct registration or completion records within three business days of 
system notice or discovery.  

 
d. The presiding judge of the justice, juvenile or municipal court shall not: 

 
(1) Order any ineligible offender to attend a diversion program for dismissal of a 

violation; 
(2) Permit any court official or employee to accept, either directly or indirectly, any 

compensation or incentive to enroll any person in any school; 
(3) Except as provided in subsection (D)(6)(e)(4), permit school personnel to perform 

any judicial or court staff functions; 
(4) Permit school personnel direct access to court records other than read only access 

to electronic records; 
(5) Permit school personnel access to areas within the court not normally accessible 

to the public; and 
 

e. The presiding judge of each justice, juvenile and municipal court, subject to the 
approval of the presiding judge of the superior court, may:  

 
(1) Change the court diversion fee up to two times each year, effective either on April 

1 or October 1, or on both dates.  A court shall notify division staff by March 1st  
for the April 1st effective date and by September 1st  for the October 1st  effective 
date of the court diversion fee to be assessed for each six-month period. This 
notice shall be filed regardless of whether the court changes the fee or retains the 
current fee, using the form provided by division staff.  A notice of a change in a 
court diversion fee that is received after March 1st for the April 1st effective date, 
or after September 1st for the October 1st effective date, will not take effect on 
April 1st or October 1st, respectively, but will be delayed six months until the next 
change date.  Citations and violations issued prior to the effective date of the 
change in the diversion fee shall be charged under the amount in effect on the date 
of violation; and  

(2) Waive the court diversion fee assessed an individual attending a defensive driving 
course. 

(3) Pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-3393(C) and subsection (D)(5)(b), prepare and submit a 
written request to the board for review and approval of the court’s automation and 
reporting requirements.  This request shall be submitted on a form provided by 
the board and shall identify the specific automation and reporting requirements of 
the court and why these requirements are different from the statewide automation 
standards adopted by the supreme court for the transmission of defensive driving 
information.  If the board approves the court’s automation and reporting 
requirements, the presiding judge shall allow eligible offenders to attend any 
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school the board has determined meets the court’s approved automation and 
reporting requirements. 

(4) Issue an administrative order, authorizing schools to grant continuances to 
students under specified conditions.  If the presiding judge issues an 
administrative order, the presiding judge shall provide a copy of the 
administrative order to the AOC within five days and the AOC shall provide this 
information to the schools. The administrative order shall: 
(a) Authorize all schools to grant continuances and will not limit this authority 

only to specified schools; 
(b) Authorize schools to grant continuances in all cases and will not permit 

schools to decide whether to grant a continuance on a case by case basis;  
(c) Specify that certified schools may grant only one continuance per case and the 

number of days for a continuance; 
(d) Specify that a continuance applies to the court arraignment date and if a 

continuance is granted, the student shall complete the defensive driving 
course at least seven days prior to the new court arraignment date;  

(e) Specify that certified schools may not grant a continuance if the request is less 
than seven days prior to the arraignment date, but shall instead, direct the 
student to the appropriate court; and 

(f) Specify the effective date of the administrative order.  The effective date shall 
be no less than ten days from the date the order is signed.  

 
7. Fund.  A.R.S. § 28-3398(A) establishes the defensive driving school fund consisting of the 

monies collected from the fee established by the supreme court pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-
3397(A). Pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-3398(B), one of the purposes of the fund is “subject to 
legislative appropriation, to supervise the use of defensive driving schools by the courts in 
this state and to expedite the processing of all offenses prescribed in chapters 3 and 4 of this 
title.”  Further, A.R.S. § 28-3398(C) provides:  “The fund established in this section is not 
subject to reversion.  On notice from the supreme court, the state treasurer shall invest and 
divest monies in the fund as provided by section 35-313, and monies earned from investment 
shall be credited to the fund.”   

 
E. Initial Certification.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-201(E), the following 

requirements apply:   
 
1.   Eligibility for Certification as a School. An applicant for certification as a defensive 

driving school shall: 
 

a. Provide proof of citizenship or legal status for every owner, principal, officer, 
director or shareholder. 

 
            b. Provide an indemnification statement and conflict of interest statement signed by an         

owner or officer with the appropriate authority on behalf of the applicant. 
 

            c. Provide an affirmation of eligibility, evaluation form and completion certificate or 
receipt. 

 
            d. Fully disclose all relationships to any parent company or organization and currently 

paid or unpaid officers, directors, owners and boards of directors and any and all 
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company subsidiary dba’s operating in any state.  
 
 e. Declare a statutory agent in Arizona.  
 
      f.    Obtain any necessary federal and state tax identification numbers as required by    

law 
 

 g. Provide a copy of all third party contracts regarding any operational or financial 
proceedings with the application.  The applicant shall not contract with a third 
party to complete or issue completion certificates. Incidental operations such as 
telephone, copying, or Internet services are not subject to this requirement. 

  
 h.  Purchase and maintain general liability insurance that meets the following        

conditions: 
 

(1)   Incidental malpractice with a minimum combined single limit of     
$1,000,000 per occurrence; 

(2)  The policy shall name as additional insureds the state of Arizona, supreme  
court and any superior or limited jurisdiction court with which the applicant 
will provide defensive driving school services and their officers, agents and 
employees;   

(3)  The insurer shall hold a valid license to do business in the state of Arizona with  
minimum ratings as specified by the Arizona Department of Administration; and 

(4)  If the applicant is part of a self-insured government entity, the applicant shall 
submit documentation from the government entity stating the applicant’s 
coverage. 
 

 i. Designate a principal with whom division staff may communicate on any 
administrative, procedural or operational issues and who will have certain 
responsibilities pursuant to subsection (F). 

 
 j. Provide articles of incorporation and letters of good standing from the Arizona 

Corporation Commission or the Secretary of State, or if the applicant uses ADM, 
from comparable entities of the state where the business is incorporated or 
licensed. 

 
 k. File a defensive driving course curriculum only by electronic means.  Pursuant to 

A.R.S. § 28-3395, the time allowed for the course, including testing, reviewing 
and grading of any test, but not including time for completion of an evaluation 
form, shall not exceed 270 minutes nor be less than 240 minutes.  Defensive 
driving courses shall be presented in an interactive format throughout the course.  
ADM courses shall indicate to the student the timeframe for completion begins 
when the student logs into the course.  An ADM school shall require students to 
complete and pass the course participation test.  In addition, an ADM or 
traditional school may require a student to complete a course content review.  All 
applicants for certification shall include, at a minimum, the following Arizona 
specific educational and behavioral modifications: 

 
 (1)  Collision prevention, including: 
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 (a) Vehicle maintenance; and 
(b) Recognition of physical, sensory and mental limitations and disabilities, 
including: 

(i) Fatigue; 
(ii) Stress; 
(iii)Attitude and road rage; and 
(iv) Inattention and distractions. 

(2) Practical defensive driving techniques: 
(a) Reaction time and following distances;  
(b) The importance of driving safely in adverse conditions; and 
(c) Proper vision techniques, including: 

(i) Scanning; 
(ii) High aim; and 
(iii) Blind spots. 

(3) Use and importance of safety systems including: 
(a) Seat belt law and usage; 
(b) Crash forces and fallacies of not wearing seat belts; 
(c) Child restraint law and proper usage; 
(d) Air bags; and 
(e) Anti-lock braking systems. 

(4) Alcohol and drug use including: 
(a) DUI laws, penalties and implied consent; 
(b) Degree of impairment; 
(c) Zero tolerance; and 
(d) Underage drinking and driving. 

(5) Major traffic laws of Arizona and local ordinances, including: 
(a) Speeding; 
(b) Obeying traffic control devices; 
(c) Passing; 
(d) Intersections, lane changes and turning; 
(e) Stopping and yielding; 
(f) School crossings; 
(g) School buses and emergency vehicles; 
(h)  Pedestrians and crosswalks, marked or unmarked; and 
(i) Major criminal traffic violations. 

(6) If an ADM course, the examination shall consist of twenty-five course 
participation and identity verification questions having a maximum 30 second 
timeframe to respond to each question.  

(7) If an ADM course, the course participation examination shall: 
(a) Have a pass rate of 80 percent; and 
(b) Only be included with the on-line course. 

 
l. File an administrative, operational and financial procedures manual detailing the 

applicant’s processes for compliance with all Arizona statutes, ACJA § 7-201, this 
section and court or local rules. Once approved, a school may not change the 
procedures until the school obtains approval from the board. 
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m. Establish an accounting and recording system ensuring accurate reporting of all 
transactions relative to the receipt of court diversion, state fees and state surcharges 
providing sufficient documentation for audit purposes. 

 
n. Establish a cash receipts procedure including use of pre-printed, consecutively 

numbered receipts or receipts consecutively numbered by an automated system and 
issued to each student from whom a defensive driving fee is collected.  These 
procedures shall result in compliance for the timely disbursement of all court 
diversion, state fees and state surcharges pursuant to subsections (F)(27) and (F)(28). 

  
o. If the applicant is an ADM school, contract with at least one Arizona certified 

defensive driving instructor.   
 
p. Provide the name of the instructor the applicant intends to instruct the classroom 

approved curriculum, or if an ADM school, the name of the instructor the school 
has employed or contracted with for student contact.   

 
q. Develop an instructor training seminar.  
 
r.  Present a demonstration of the defensive driving course curriculum by the applicant’s 

owner, principal or instructor to division staff.  The demonstration shall: 
 

(1) Include all elements and intended delivery formats as proposed in the applicant’s 
curriculum program, including the ADM defensive driving course examination; 

(2) Make evident the owner, principal or chief instructor understands the curriculum and 
the curriculum is accurate and created for the state of Arizona’s traffic laws; and 

(3) If the curriculum contains materials that are not original to the applicant or in the 
public domain, the applicant shall provide written authorization for the use of the 
materials. 

 
s. Correct any deficiencies noted by the division staff in the curriculum or authorization 

of use of materials and present a second demonstration if requested by division staff 
to qualify for certification.   

 
t. Designate at least one individual to receive training from division staff on the 

operational requirements of the defensive driving database.   
 
u. Exhibit a proficiency in the operation of the defensive driving database prior to 

certification and obtain signed verification by division staff of that proficiency. 
 
v. Provide a copy of the refund policy to division staff for approval to ensure 

compliance with refund policies of this section. 
   
w. Provide proof the applicant has a secured website when collecting confidential 

information from students. 
 

x. If an ADM applicant, provide documentation of processes regarding:  
 

(1) Identification of a student’s cheating or dishonesty; 
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(2)  Student failure of identity verification questions; and 
(3) Student failure of course participation questions. 

 
2. Eligibility for Certification as an Instructor.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-

201(E), for qualification as an instructor, an individual shall: 
 
 a. Be at least 21 years old. 
 
 b. Have a high school diploma or general equivalency diploma. 
 
 c. Be a legal resident or citizen of the United States. 
 

d. Hold a valid driver license issued by the state of residence. 
 
 e. Pass a certification examination testing the applicant’s knowledge, skills and 

abilities as an instructor. 
 
 f. Attach a certified current 60 month motor vehicle record to the application. 
 
 g. If the applicant is currently serving as an active law enforcement officer where 

any portion of their duties includes the authority to issue citations, the applicant 
may submit a completed application only if the applicant has obtained a waiver 
from the presiding judge of the superior court in the county where the applicant is 
instructing, allowing the officer to serve as an instructor.   

 
3. Time Frames for School Certification. 

 
 a. An applicant for certification shall respond timely to requests for additional 

information from division staff pertaining to the applicant’s initial application and 
curriculum, pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(E)(3)(b). 

 
 b. An applicant for certification as a defensive driving school shall have one year 

from the date division staff received the original application to complete the 
initial certification process.  Failure to complete the certification process or file a 
written request for an extension of time within this time period shall nullify and 
void the original application and supporting documents, including, but not limited 
to, letters of good standing, disclosure of relationships, third party contracts and 
fees.  The applicant shall submit a new application, supporting documents and 
fees after the time frame has lapsed. 

 
c. If the applicant needs additional time to comply with division staff requests to 

complete the application process, including revisions of curriculum, the applicant 
shall file a written request with division staff for an extension of time to complete 
the application process.  The request shall state the reasons for additional time to 
comply with the time frames and certification requirements.  Division staff shall 
forward the written request for an extension of time to the board to review at the 
next regularly scheduled board meeting. Requests for extension of time to 
complete the application process do not constitute an emergency board meeting. 
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d. If the board denies additional time to complete the application process, the 
applicant shall re-apply with all costs and fees as an initial applicant.   

 
4. Decision Regarding Certification for Schools or Instructors.  In addition to the 

requirements of ACJA § 7-201(E) the following requirements apply: 
 

 a. The board shall deny certification of an applicant for certification as an instructor 
if the applicant has received: 

 
(1) A suspension or revocation of the applicant’s driver license in any jurisdiction, 

within the 60 months preceding the date the applicant files for certification;  
(2) A criminal conviction involving vehicle operation in any jurisdiction, within the 

60 months preceding the date the applicant files for certification; or 
(3) More than one civil traffic moving violation of the applicant’s driver license in 

any jurisdiction, within the 24 months preceding the date the applicant files for 
certification. 

 
     b.   The board may refuse to certify any applicant for certification as a school if: 

 
(1) The applicant conducts business under a trade name which implies a course other 

than the teaching of a defensive driving course; 
(2) The applicant offers a premium, prize, food, lifestyle, entertainment or other 

inducement for selecting the school, other than the legal diversion or mitigation of a 
traffic citation; or 

(3) The applicant fails to resolve a conflict of interest, as described in this subsection: 
 
(a) Certification as, or operation of, a school by a public agency or an employee 

of a public agency, where the employing public agency has within the regular 
scope of duties the power to cite individuals for minor moving violations, to 
influence the resolution of citations for minor traffic violations, or otherwise 
control, advise, solicit, or order the attendance, or potential attendance of 
individuals in a school. This limitation on certification or operation of a 
school by public agencies or employees of public agencies does not preclude 
law enforcement officers from acting solely as employed or contracted 
instructors for schools provided the provisions of subsection (E)(2)(g) are 
met; 

(b) Certification as, or operation of, a school by a public agency or an employee 
of a public agency which or who is in a position to derive a profit or fund the 
agency’s or person’s own activities from the use of its facilities or employees 
in the presentation of a defensive driving course; 

(c)  Employment by a school, either for pay or as a volunteer, of any employee of 
a public agency who has within the regular scope of the employee’s duties the 
power or ability to control, advise, solicit, or order the attendance of 
individuals in a school, or who is in a position to derive a profit or fund the 
public agency's activities from the use of the public agency's facilities and 
employees to further the presentation of a school's defensive driving course; 

(d) Compensation of, or offering incentives to, a court employee, either directly 
or indirectly, to enroll students in a school or for selection of a specific 
school; 
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(e) Employment as a volunteer or paid employee, or compensation of any court 
officer or employee, to operate, instruct or provide any service to a school; or 

(f) Any other perceived or actual conflict of interest or appearance of impropriety. 
 

c.   Denial of certification.  These requirements are contained in ACJA § 7-201(E). 
 

d. Eligibility for application after denial.  These requirements are contained in ACJA § 
7-201(E). 

 
F. Role and Responsibilities of Certificate Holders.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 

7-201(F), each school shall: 
 

1. Adhere to the standards in the code of conduct in subsection (J). 
 

2. Assume responsibility for all operational aspects of a school including any elements or  
functions performed by third-party contractors.  Any actions by non-certified third-party 
contractors constituting allegations of acts of misconduct or violations of ACJA § 7-201, 
this section, or any other court policy or rule are the responsibility of the school.  The 
school is subject to disciplinary action as provided in ACJA § 7-201(H) and this section 
for any acts of misconduct or violations by third-party contractors.  

 
3. Maintain a statutory agent in Arizona. 

 
4. Notify division staff of any change in the telephone number, business address, mailing 

address or home address of principals, officers and owners of the school or any other 
required database information within three business days of the change.  The designated 
principal of the school shall notify division staff through the defensive driving email 
system or in writing, utilizing the form provided by division staff.   

 
5. Designate a principal who holds contracting authority for the school, with whom division 

staff can immediately make contact concerning any process or procedure of the school or 
court operation.  The principal shall: 

 
a. Prepare and submit, with the initial school application, a list of all instructors or 

applicants for certification and staff members requiring access and training for the 
defensive driving database. 

 
b. Actively and directly supervise all instructors and staff who have access to the 

defensive driving database to ensure compliance to all Arizona statutes, ACJA § 7-
201 and this section. 

 
c.  Ensure all employees receive initial and continued training as needed for proficiency 

in the ACJA processing requirements and defensive driving tracking system. 
 

d. File with division staff, by December 1st of each year, a list of all instructors and staff 
of the school who have access to the defensive driving database, as of October 31st of 
that year. 
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e. Notify division staff within seven days if an instructor or staff member with access to 
the defensive driving database leaves the employment of the school. 

 
f. Require a newly employed or contracted instructor of a traditional classroom school 

to attend at least two courses regarding the employer school’s curriculum and teach 
one class under the supervision of the principal or the principal’s designated 
instructor.  

 
g. Provide a list of sites to division staff where defensive driving courses are available 

for students and disclose if the course is a traditional classroom or ADM format.  The 
principal shall also provide division staff with a list of instructors’ schedules in a 
specified electronic or other format and update it as often as necessary to ensure 
accuracy.  The school offering ADM courses shall provide division staff with a 
schedule of technical staff and instructors available to answer any student questions, 
within the allowable time frames of the course presentation.   

 
h. Provide division staff with any proposed new third-party contracts after initial 

certification for review by staff and approval by the board.  The staff shall submit this 
information to the board for review and approval at the next regularly scheduled 
meeting of the board. 

 
i. Provide information to division staff on any proposed modification or cancellations of 

previously approved third party contracts.  The staff shall submit this information to 
the board for review and approval at the next regularly scheduled meeting of the 
board. 

 
j. If an ADM school, ensure instructors are available to provide answers for any student 

inquiries within 24 hours and ensure staff is available to correct technical and 
operational system errors within 24 hours of being reported.  

 
k. Provide the total school fee to attend the school’s course in any and all information or 

materials provided to students, including the school’s website.  This total fee must be 
inclusive of all fees and costs assessed and retained by the school for the student to 
attend and complete the school’s course.  This total fee must be provided to the 
student prior to registration. The school shall provide the total school fee information 
in a conspicuous area on the school’s web site or published materials in a manner that 
is readily noticeable to the public.   

 
l. A defensive driving school shall post on the opening page or opening Arizona page of 

their internet website the following information:  
(1) The total cost to attend defensive driving for diversion;  
(2) The school’s total fee to attend reflecting all fees the school may charge;  
(3) The court diversion fee;  
(4) The State surcharge;  
(5) The State fee;  
(6) The eligibility requirements to attend a defensive driving school;  
(7) The instruction that a student must complete the course 7 days prior to their 

arraignment date;  
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(8) The violations eligible for defensive driving diversion or a link to the Supreme 
Court website listing eligible violations;  

(9) A list of the information required for course registration:  
(a) Traffic citation;  
(b) Government issued identification;  
(c) Payment to be made prior to the start of class or program;  

(10) The class or program instructional times; 
(11) School refund policy; and  
(12) Link to the Supreme Court’s website and toll-free telephone number to further   

assist the public. 
 
m. Report the school fee up to two times each year, effective either on April 1st or 

October 1st, or on both dates.  A school shall notify division staff by September 1st for 
changes effective October 1st and by March 1st for changes effective April 1st 
regardless of whether the school changes the fee or retains the current fee, using the 
form provided by division staff. Any notice received from a school after the March 
1st deadline will not take effect on April 1st but will be delayed until the next change 
date on October 1st.  Any notice received from a school after the September 1st 
deadline will not take effect on October 1st but will be delayed until the next change 
date on April 1st.   

 
n. If an ADM school, ensure the examination is included in the online course; and 

 
o. In addition to the provisions contained in ACJA  § 7-201(H)(6)(c), a certificate holder 

is subject to disciplinary action if the board finds the certificate holder has failed to 
cooperate with or supply information to any court or court staff by the time specified 
in any request. 

 
6. At the discretion of the school, in any proceeding under Arizona statutes, ACJA § 7-201 

and this section, the principal may represent the school entity. 
 

7. File any report with the State of Arizona as required by law, court rule, ACJA § 7-201 or 
this section.     
 

8. Maintain the confidentiality of all records regarding student personal and financial 
information and only transmit confidential information by U.S. Post, facsimile, or secure 
electronic file.  A school shall house technical facilities (ISP host, data storage and 
support systems) and shall ensure all information is not accessible to unauthorized 
parties.  The information contained in the defensive driving database is not a public 
record and is confidential.  Certificate holders shall not access the database for any 
purpose other than to verify students’ eligibility or to record students’ registration, 
payment, or completion information.  Accessing the database for the purpose of sale or 
resale or for the purpose of producing a document containing all or part of the database 
for sale or the obtaining of names and addresses from the database for the purpose of 
solicitation or the sale of such names and addresses to another for the purpose of 
solicitation or for any purpose in which the purchaser can reasonably anticipate the 
receipt of monetary gain from direct or indirect use of such information is prohibited. 
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9.  Disposal of records does not relieve the certificate holder from the responsibility of 
maintaining the confidentiality of all records. Disposal or destruction of records shall be 
conducted in a manner that renders students’ personal and financial information illegible.  

  
10. Present the curriculum and materials approved by the board in defensive driving courses. 
      
11. Develop and prepare to offer a version of the curriculum, as approved by the board, in 

response to a request for accommodations under the Americans with Disability Act.   
 

12. Follow detailed written administrative, operational and financial procedures.  If the 
school is a multi-purpose agency, it shall establish separate records and procedures for 
the reporting of revenue receipts, disbursement of funds and any other financial 
transactions for the school portion of the agency.   

 
13. Provide each registering student information regarding the school’s refund policy prior to 

any payment of fees or registration in the course.   
 

14. Not co-mingle any defensive driving diversion or state fees with any school or business 
operating fees or accounts. 

 
15. Ensure procedures and records conform to generally accepted accounting principles and 

the minimum accounting standards adopted by the supreme court. 
 

16. Collect the court diversion fee, defensive driving, judicial collection enhancement fund 
fee, and state surcharge, plus any fee charged by the school for the defensive driving 
course, before an individual begins any type of defensive driving course. 

 
17.  Issue an original completion certificate only to a student who: 
 

a. Provided proper identification; 
 
b. Signed the eligibility affirmation; 
 
c. Accepted the school refund policy; 
 
d. Provided a copy of the citation or court order; 
 
e. Paid all fees;  
 
f. Passed the identity verification and course participation questions if an ADM course; 

and 
 
g. Completed the defensive driving course. 

 
18. Ensure each student who takes an examination following a defensive driving class 

receives notice of passing or failing the examination within 24 hours of the conclusion of 
the examination. 
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19. Collect and remit all court diversion fees to each court as required by A.R.S. § 28-
3396(C) and this section.  Once a student begins a defensive driving course with a school, the 
school is responsible for payment of fees regardless of whether the fee has been collected from 
the student.  The school shall hold the diversion fees in trust for the courts until disbursed.   

 
20. Transmit all required reports and data concerning the student and traffic ticket for which 

the fees are collected, according to the approved reporting procedures pursuant to 
subsection (F)(25).  

 
21. Collect and remit the 45 dollar surcharge imposed pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-3396.  The 

school shall remit this state surcharge to the AOC.  Upon receipt, the AOC shall transmit 
the state surcharge to the state treasurer for deposit, pursuant to A.R.S. §§ 28-3396, 35-
146 and 35-147. The school shall hold the state surcharge in trust for the state treasurer 
until remitted to the AOC, and shall follow the schedule specified in subsection (F)(28) 
for remittance to the AOC.   

 
22. Collect and remit all state fees and the required reports concerning the student and traffic 

ticket for which the fees were collected, or a “negative state fee report” if no state fees 
were collected.  The school shall hold the state fees in trust for the Supreme Court until 
disbursed. 

  
23. Submit the school's schedule of future classroom defensive driving courses within 

fourteen days of the date of the scheduled defensive driving course.  The schedule shall 
include the date, start and end time, instructor name and location of each defensive 
driving course.  The school shall immediately notify division staff of any changes to the 
school’s schedule, such as instructor changes or class cancellations.  The school shall 
make notification to the division staff through the defensive driving email system.   

 
24. Traditional classroom defensive driving schools shall conduct a minimum of one class 

per month in a county to maintain the school’s listing on the defensive driving web site 
and toll free phone lines for that Arizona county. If a school does not provide at least one 
class in a month in the specified county, division staff shall, beginning the following 
month, revise the listing on the website and toll free phone line to remove reference to 
the school as providing services for that county. 

 
25. Comply with the following requirements: 

 
a. Report to the AOC for transmission to the court the following: 

 
(1) Student registration reporting requirements: 

(a) School certification number; 
(b) Student name; 
(c) Student date of birth; 
(d) Student driver license number; 
(e) Student driver license state; 
(f) Citation number; 
(g) Citation violation date; 
(h) Violation type; 
(i) Charge identifier; 
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(j) Registration type; 
(k) Date student scheduled to attend class; and 
(l) Court code number. 

(2) Transmission of registration information: 
(a) Schools shall transmit registration information to the AOC within three 

business days of the students registering.  
(b) Schools shall, within one business day, resolve any rejected student 

registration and resend the corrected registration information to the AOC; 
(c) Schools shall, if the registration information cannot be resolved in one day, 

contact the court of jurisdiction directly to resolve the rejected registration. 
(3) Student completion reporting requirements: 

(a) School certification number; 
(b) Student name; 
(c) Student date of birth; 
(d) Student driver license number; 
(e) Student driver license state; 
(f) Citation number; 
(g) Citation violation date; 
(h) Receipt date of funds; 
(i) Date student completed the course; 
(j) Violation type; 
(k) Program code; 
(l) Completion type; 
(m) Charge identifier; and 
(n) Court code number. 

(4) Transmission of completion information: 
(a) Schools shall transmit completion information to the AOC within three 

business days of the student completing the course; 
(b) Schools shall, within one business day, resolve any rejected student 

completion records and resend the corrected completion record to the AOC; 
(c) Schools shall, if the completion information cannot be resolved in one day, 

contact the court of jurisdiction directly to resolve the rejected completion. 
 

b. Access the defensive driving database correctly and accurately and: 
 

(1) Maintain the proper hardware and software and the ability to connect and 
interface with the defensive driving database and update these as often as required 
by division staff to maintain efficient system function; 

(2) Assume responsibility for all costs of equipment, telephone lines, contractor fees 
incurred to meet these requirements and maintain the system to comply with all 
statutory and ACJA requirements;  

(3) Ensure the required data for state fees and defensive driving course completion is 
entered and all errors corrected, or an error correction requested, within one 
business day; and 

(4) Report completions timely and accurately in order to process, on average, 98 
percent timeliness and accuracy each quarter. 

(5) Pay a processing fee, pursuant to subsection (K)(4)(e), for any individual the 
school allows to complete a defensive driving course when the individual was not 
eligible to attend a defensive driving class. 
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c. Conduct defensive driving courses and: 

 
(1) Maintain class schedule directories as required pursuant to subsections (F)(5)(g) 

and (F)(23) on the same physical computer system that accesses the defensive 
driving database; 

(2) Comply with all requirements of this section in the same manner for students 
attending an out-of-state defensive driving class; except the completion date for 
an out-of-state student is the date the receipt or completion certificate, required 
fees and documentation are received by the coordinating Arizona school; 

(3) Ensure each student receives a minimum of four hours (240 minutes) instructional 
time and a maximum of four and one-half hours (270 minutes) of course time 
pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-3395.  
(a) Instructional time does not include time spent for: 

(i)   identity verification; 
(ii)  participation in validation processes; 
(iii) travel to and from a classroom or testing site; or 
(iv) obtaining student evaluations.    

 (b) Course time includes: 
  (i)   obtaining student evaluations; 
  (ii)  any testing, review, or grading; and  
  (iii) providing students with their receipts or completion certificates.       
(4) Present only the material contained in the school’s board approved curriculum; 
(5) Not use a defensive driving course as a forum for any purpose except the 

presentation of the approved course curriculum; 
(6) Schedule adequate breaks in compliance with the Americans with Disabilities 

Act; 
(7) Require the instructor remain in the classroom with the students during the full 

240 minutes of instructional time; or when an ADM format is used, ensure 
instructors are available to provide answers for any student inquiries within 24 
hours and ensure staff is available to correct technical and operational system 
errors within 24 hours of being reported; 

(8) Limit attendance to only the number commensurate with student comfort in the 
classroom.  This shall include adequate space and seating capacity for all students 
registered for the defensive driving course, heating and cooling and immediate 
access to drinking water and restroom facilities.  In no case shall the number of 
students exceed 60 attendees per class. 

(9) Ensure all classrooms meet all federal, state, county and local health, safety and 
building requirements, including the Americans with Disabilities Act; and are 
consistent with a learning and instructional environment in keeping with judicial 
decorum; 

(10) Provide classrooms with adequate audiovisual equipment allowing all students to 
see and hear the presentation clearly, if audiovisual presentations are a part of the 
approved curriculum; 

(11) Expel students from the class who do not comply with the classroom standards 
and the reasonable instructions of the school’s staff.  When a school expels a 
student from the classroom, the school shall make and retain a report explaining 
the circumstances and reasons for expulsion and copy the court of jurisdiction; 
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(12) Require students to complete an evaluation form in either a classroom setting or 
ADM format and forward the completed evaluations to division staff within five 
days of the request; 

(13) Submit, for approval by the board, changes to any element of the school’s 
currently approved defensive driving course presentation, including any materials 
or additions the certificate holder is proposing to the format or delivery of the 
course.  The school shall obtain board approval for the changes prior to the 
course;  

(14) If an ADM course, provide access and delivery of the course to ensure a student’s 
completion falls within time frames pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(k) and court 
allowances.  An ADM school shall allow a student to log in and out of the ADM 
course at will, provided the school complies with all provisions of subsection 
(E)(1)(k) and shall maintain an electronic record of the student’s participation in 
the course, including the student’s log-in and log-out times; and 

(15) If an ADM course, correct any technical or system breakdowns within 24 hours of 
reporting by a student or discovery by the school. 

 
d. Eligibility, Registration and Attendance of Students. 
 

(1) To determine eligibility, the school shall: 
 
(a)  Pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-3392(B), only allow a person to attend a defensive 

driving school once within a twenty-four month period from the date of the 
last violation by querying the defensive driving database; and 

(b) Verify the violation is: 
(i) an eligible moving violation as specified by A.R.S. § 28-3392(A); 
(ii) permitted by the court for diversion if an eligible misdemeanor;  
(iii) not a violation resulting from a collision causing the death or serious 

physical injury of any person as defined in A.R.S. § 28-3392(C)(1);  
(iv) not a violation which occurred when the offender held a commercial 

driver license;  
(v) not a violation which occurred while operating a commercial motor 

vehicle that requires a commercial driver license; or 
(vi) court ordered. 

 (2) A school may grant a continuance of the arraignment date if: 
(a) the court has issued an administrative order pursuant to subsection 

(D)(6)(e)(4), authorizing the school to grant a continuance;  
(b) it is a onetime occurrence; 
(c) the school informs the student the number of days the court permits for the 

continuance and the date by which the student must successfully complete the 
defensive driving course; and 

(d) the continuance is requested at least seven days prior to the arraignment date. 
A court may not authorize a school to grant a continuance and a school may 
not grant a continuance if the continuance is requested less than seven days 
prior to the arraignment date.  

(3) In the materials provided to students, the school shall: 
(a) Include phone numbers and e-mail addresses of the available school staff to 

allow students to receive answers to their questions quickly and efficiently; 
and 
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(b) Notify the student the course completion date is seven days prior to the court 
arraignment date on the citation. 

(4) Each school shall: 
(a) Require each student to show official identification prior to beginning a class 

and verify the registration information for accuracy against the official 
information by direct comparison.  Acceptable forms of identification are 
limited to a government-issued driver license or identification card.  Schools 
may retain a photocopy of each driver license; 

(b) Require individuals who are court-ordered to attend a defensive driving class 
to provide the court order requiring attendance at the time of class attendance. 
The school shall retain a copy of each court order; 

(c) Collect and retain a copy of the individual’s citation to permit verification of 
data and eligibility and furnish the citation on request to division staff; 

(d) Provide an explanation to each individual enrolling in a defensive driving 
course of the provisions and implications of signing the affirmation of 
eligibility and require the individual to read and sign the affirmation of 
eligibility prior to beginning any defensive driving course for dismissal of a 
traffic citation; 

(e) Provide students who complete a defensive driving course with a receipt or 
completion certificate including, at a minimum, the following information: 
(i) name of the student; 
(ii) date of the class; 
(iii) court of jurisdiction; 
(iv) citation or docket number for dismissal; 
(v) name of the school; and 
(vi) the school's authorized signature. 

(f)  Complete all required information on each certificate prior to delivery to the 
student;  

(g)  Not issue a completion certificate or receipt to any student who has not signed 
the affirmation of eligibility; 

(h) Not accept any student who has not registered and been prescreened through 
the eligibility process of subsection (F)(25)(d)(1) for the class and attempts to 
participate as a walk-in; and  

(i) A school shall not allow a third party to complete or issue a certificate of 
completion. 

(5) The ADM school shall: 
(a) Use the same methods for determining individual and citation eligibility 

pursuant to subsection (F)(25)(d); 
(b) Make a positive identification of the individual enrolled in the defensive 

driving course, at the time of delivery of the course materials, by 
demonstrating the individual registered for the course is the actual participant 
during the time the course is taken and completed;  

(c) Obtain and keep on file a copy of the student’s citation or court order prior to 
the student beginning an ADM course.  A school may accept citations by fax, 
mail, or via electronic means;  

(d) Schedule system outages for server maintenance and upgrades and post 
advanced notice on the website, accordingly; 

(e) Notify students immediately of technical difficulties as they arise, including an 
estimate of the length of time the system may be unavailable;  
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(f) Maintain a record of validation and course content questions and dates the 
examination was given for two years; 

(g) Maintain a record of each question and whether it was answered correctly, 
incorrectly, or not at all; 

(h) Maintain, for three years, a complete electronic record of each student’s 
participation in the defensive driving course including student log-in and log-
out times; 

(i) Maintain evidence the student engaged in active participation during the 
presentation of the course; 

(j) Not allow a retest when a student fails the course participation portion of the 
examination; 

(k) Maintain a record of each student’s course participation and identity 
verification test results for three years; 

(l) Immediately refer any student caught cheating or being dishonest in 
participating in the course or examination to the court of jurisdiction; 

(m) Refer a student who fails the examination twice to the court of jurisdiction or 
to a traditional classroom course, time permitting;   

(n) Provide a student who fails the examination twice with specific written 
instructions for the process of registering for a classroom course, and 
documentation to provide to the classroom school reflecting the student’s 
failure of the online examination; and 

(o) Not issues a student participating in an ADM course a certificate of 
completion unless the student correctly answered the required number of 
course participation and identity verification questions.   

(6) Correct, or request division staff to correct, a registration record within three 
business days of system notice or discovery.  A school shall correct the following 
types of registration errors without division staff assistance: 
(a) Citation number; 
(b) Violation type; 
(c) Charge identifier; and 
(d) Court code number. 

 
26. Out of State Offenders.   

 
a. A school shall coordinate the defensive driving attendance and completion of eligible 

offenders who receive an Arizona violation and are authorized by a court to attend an 
out-of-state program.  Coordination shall include: 

 
(1) Verification of the individual’s eligibility prior to attendance; 
(2) Collection and retention of all student data and an affirmation of eligibility; 
(3) Reporting registration information pursuant to subsection (F)(25); 
(4) Collection and disbursal of court diversion fees, state fees and state surcharges as 

required by this section; 
(5) Reporting of required data to the defensive driving database for an out-of-state 

student who completes a defensive driving course pursuant to subsection (F)(25); 
(6) Notification to the jurisdictional court of the student’s completion and any other 

reports required by that court in connection with a student attendance; and 
(7) Providing each out-of-state student with information regarding the student’s 

responsibilities regarding attendance requirements. 
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b. A student shall provide satisfactory evidence of course completion seven days prior 

to the court arraignment date issued on the citation and shall comply with all 
applicable requirements and policies of statutes, this section and court or local rules. 

 
c. The completion date for an out-of-state attendee is the date a copy of the receipt or 

valid completion certificate and all required fees are received by a school. 
 

d. A school shall require and retain reasonable evidence the individual taking the out-of-
state course is the same individual named on the Arizona violation.  The school shall 
make a positive check of the individual’s driver license at the time of the  defensive 
driving course in a classroom setting or if an ADM course, upon delivery of materials 
to the individual, and notarization by jurat of the required documents. 

 
27. Accounting Systems.  A school shall comply with the following accounting and     

recording requirements: 
 

a. Maintain an accounting and recording system ensuring accurate reporting of all 
transactions relative to the receipt of court diversion fees, state fees and state 
surcharges, providing sufficient documentation for audit purposes. 

 
b. Maintain a cash receipts procedure including use of pre-printed, consecutively 

numbered receipts or receipts consecutively numbered by an automated system and 
issued to each student from whom a defensive driving fee is collected.  Receipts shall 
provide the following information: 

 
(1) Student’s name; 
(2) Receipt date; 
(3) Amount received; 
(4) Name of the individual making the payment; 
(5) Identification of the individual receiving the payment; 
(6) Method of payment; 
(7) Sequential receipt number; and 
(8) Name of the school. 

 
c. Maintain a cumulative record of each individual who has prepaid for a defensive 

driving course but has not attended.  A school shall handle all prepaid fees in 
accordance with this section and hold them in trust in a non-interest bearing account 
for the courts and state treasurer until disbursal on the prescribed schedule or until an 
approved refund is issued to the individual pursuant to this section. 

 
d. Not enter student completion records in the defensive driving database in advance, 

nor enter a student record for any individual who has not actually completed an 
approved defensive driving course. 

 
e. Retain all records related to a student’s attendance or otherwise required by this 

section a minimum of three years.  Each student record shall include the following 
information: 
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(1) Receipt number; 
(2) Student’s complete name, address, date of birth, and license number; 
(3) Citation information, including the number, charge number, court code, violation 

code and violation date; 
(4) Receipt date; 
(5) Amount received; 
(6) Method of payment; 
(7) Identification of the individual accepting the payment; 
(8) Date and location of class assignment; 
(9) Date the student completed the defensive driving course; 
(10) Program code; 
(11) Violation type; 
(12) Location of class (in state or out of state); 
(13) Copies of any applicable court order and other information significant to the record;  
(14) Type of defensive driving course, if not a classroom course; and 
(15) Issuing court. 

 
f. Enter all required completion information on the defensive driving database no later than 

three business days after the date of each defensive driving course for each student who 
completed a course. 
 

g. Enter a state fee record on the defensive driving database for any student who pays 
for a defensive driving course but does not complete the course within that payment 
period. 

 
h. Enter a state fee record for any student who did not complete a defensive driving 

course no later than seven days after the end of either of the payment periods in 
which the fee was collected. 

 
i. Correct, or request division staff to correct, a state fee or completion record within 

three business days of system notice or discovery.  A school shall correct the 
following completion record errors without division staff assistance: 

 
(1) Date student competed the course; and 
(2) Violation type. 

 
j. Maintain a checking account for court diversion and state fees for the sole purpose of 

preventing any co-mingling of school operating monies, fees from any court 
diversion and state fees or state surcharges until disbursed to the appropriate court. 

 
k. Maintain procedures resulting in compliance for the timely disbursement of all court 

diversion fees, state fees and state surcharges pursuant to subsection (F)(28). 
 

28. Remittance and Reporting of Court Diversion, State Fees and State Surcharges.  A school 
shall comply with the following requirements regarding remittance of fees to the 
appropriate court and reporting requirements: 

 
a. Maintain a remitting and reporting system ensuring accurate transmission of court 

diversion fees, state fees and state surcharges providing sufficient documentation for 
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audit purposes.  Division staff shall pre-approve any change in the remitting or 
reporting system. 

 
b. Deliver electronic state  fee and state surcharge remittance reports to division staff in 

the required format, on or before the payments due date, pursuant to subsection 
(F)(28)(e). The school shall retain electronic reports in an accessible format until the 
school receives confirmation from division staff the information is usable, complete, 
accurate and reconciled.  

 
c. Deliver state fee and state surcharge remittance reports to division staff in the 

required format, on or before the payment due date, pursuant to subsection (F)(28)(e). 
  

d. Report general student and payment information and defensive driving course 
completion data directly to the defensive driving database in either an on-line or 
batch basis.   
 

e. Remittance reports shall provide detailed records on each student the school is 
reporting; aggregate numbers are not acceptable.  The report shall ensure a state fee 
and state surcharge is remitted for each student whose name appears on the 
remittance report.  A school shall remit all state fees and state surcharges in 
compliance with the following: 

 
(1) “Pay Period A” fees shall be received between the first through the 15th of the 

month by the 22nd day of that month; 
(2) “Pay Period B” fees shall be received between the 16th through the 31st of the 

month by the seventh day of the following month; 
(3) Submit a separate remittance report for each of the following categories: 

(a) Individuals who completed the defensive driving course and the state fees and 
state surcharge are remitted for the pay period; 

(b) Individuals who registered but did not complete a defensive driving course 
and the state fee and state surcharge were collected in the pay period; 

(c) Individuals who completed the defensive driving course and the state fee and 
state surcharge were paid in a prior pay period; or 

(d) If no payment is due to the supreme court, the school shall prepare and submit 
a non-state fee and non state surcharge report. 

  
f. A school shall transmit all diversion fees to the appropriate court in compliance with 

the following: 
 

(1) The school shall submit a remittance report with the fees.   The report shall 
contain the following information: 
(a) Name of each court to which a payment is made; 
(b) Payment date; 
(c) Amount of the payment;  
(d) Check number;  
(e) Information on the individual who completed the defensive driving course: 

(i) Complete name; 
(ii) Birth date; and 
(iii) Driver license number; 
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(f) Citation number; 
(g)  Violation date; 
(h) Violation;  
(i) Date of defensive driving course completion, if applicable; and 
(j) School name and number. 

(2) The school shall transmit the court diversion fees and the remittance report to the 
court once a week and within eleven (11) days of the successful completion of the 
class.   

(3) The school shall transmit the court diversion fees and the remittance report only 
for those students who have successfully completed the defensive driving course 
and the completion record has been successfully transmitted to the AOC.  
Pursuant to subsection (F)(28)(c), the school shall hold the court diversion fees in 
trust for any student who has registered and paid the fees but not yet completed 
the course.  

 
g.  A school shall submit diversion fee information to division staff, but may submit 

copies of checks or receipts instead of the court remittance diversion fee report 
pursuant to subsection (F)(28)(f). 

 
h. Notify division staff and the court of jurisdiction of any student who completes a class 

but was not eligible for diversion and include in the notification the reasons the school 
failed to prevent the attendance.  This requirement does not apply to students who are 
court-ordered pursuant to statute, when the court order is issued prior to the defensive 
driving course attendance. 

  
i. Within three business days, replace any checks disbursed to any court or the state 

treasurer returned by the bank for insufficient funds and add all returned check 
charges incurred by the school to the replacement check. 

 
29. Reconciliation System. A school shall comply with the following financial and 

reporting requirements: 
 

a. Reconcile and balance all collected fees on a daily basis and account for the 
remainder in the account at all times. 

 
b. Reconcile the monthly bank statement for the court diversion, state fee and state 

surcharge checking account including: 
 

 (1) Aggregate receipts for the month shall match the aggregate deposits; and 
(2) The month-end checking account balance shall match the unpaid amounts owed to 

the courts. 
 

c. Investigate on a monthly basis all disbursement checks outstanding for more than six 
months and if a check is outstanding the school shall:   

 
(1) If the payee is a court or the state treasurer, notify the court or state treasurer, as 

applicable, of the outstanding check, cancel the outstanding check and reissue a 
new check, if necessary; 
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(2) If the payee is a student to whom a refund is owed,  send a letter to the payee’s 
last known address advising the payee the check has not been cashed;  

(3) If the student payee responds the check is lost, cancel the outstanding check and 
issue a new check; or 

(4) If the student payee does not respond within 30 days or cannot be located, cancel 
the outstanding check and issue a check to the supreme court.  The supreme court 
shall process the unclaimed refund according to state law. 

 
d. A school shall correct errors to state fee, state surcharge and completion records or 

submit a request for correction to division staff within three days of receiving notice 
from the system of the error or three days after discovery. 

 
e. Ineligible completion processing fee.  The division director may assess an ineligible 

completion processing fee of $20, for payment by the defensive driving school, if the 
school permits an ineligible student to complete a defensive driving course.    

 
(1) The division director shall notify the school in writing of the decision to impose 

the ineligible completion processing fee, the amount imposed, and the list of 
ineligible completion reports that are the basis for the fee. 

(2) A school may request the board review the division director’s decision to impose 
an ineligible completion processing fee by filing with the board a written request 
within 20 days after the school is notified of the division director’s decision. In its 
written request for review, the school shall submit a copy of the notice received 
from the director and the school’s grounds for objecting to the division director’s 
decision to impose the fee.  The board shall not consider any grounds that are not 
included in the school’s written request for review. 

(3) Payment of the ineligible completion processing fee is suspended until the 
determination of the request by the board.  

(4) At the next regular board meeting, the board shall review the written request of 
the school and the documentation supporting the division director’s decision to 
assess the ineligible completion processing fee.  The board may also permit a 
representative of the school to appear and answer any questions regarding its 
request for review.   

(5) Upon review, the board shall either uphold or reverse the division director’s 
decision.  

(6) Division staff shall deposit all processing fees paid for ineligible student reports 
pursuant to this section in the Defensive Driving Fund.  

 
f. Reconcile any insufficient fund checks and charges to the replacement check. 

 
30. Refunds.   

 
a. Once a person begins a defensive driving course, classroom or ADM, the state fee, 

court diversion fee and state surcharge are non-refundable except as set forth in this 
subsection. An ADM school shall not refund the state fee or state surcharge for any 
student failing the required test but shall forward the state fee and state surcharge to 
the Supreme Court.  A school may refund other registration fees pursuant to its own 
guidelines, or at the direction of a court.  A school shall provide a student with its 
refund policy prior to accepting the fees from the student. 
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b. A school shall provide a refund of court diversion, state fees and the state surcharge 

when: 
 

(1) A student pre-pays for a defensive driving course, does not begin the course and 
does not contact the school to reschedule for a future course.  The school shall 
refund  the court diversion fee, state fee and state surcharge 30 days after the 
scheduled defensive driving course date or upon notification from the student the 
student will not attend a course, whichever is first;  

(2) An officer fails to file a citation with a court and the cited person attends a 
defensive driving course for that citation.  Upon notification by the jurisdictional 
court, the school shall notify division staff a refund is requested.  Upon written 
approval by division staff, the school shall refund the court diversion, state fee 
and state surcharge to the student; or 

(3) A citation is dismissed by a jurisdictional court on its own motion, for technical 
problems not correctable under civil traffic rules of court. 

 
c. Refund of the court diversion fee, state fee or the state surcharge shall result in 

restoration of the student’s eligibility for a defensive driving course. 
 

d. Refund of state fees and state surcharges to a school or a student is not permitted for 
an ineligible violation or an ineligible student who attends a defensive driving course, 
whether by fault of the student or school. 

 
e. At its discretion, a court may direct refund of a court diversion fee to a student, or 

may direct the school to forward the fee to the court for a bond or other amount due 
the court, up to the amount of the default for the citation. 

 
f. A school shall maintain complete and accurate records of all refunds and shall attach 

supporting documentation to each refund disbursement. 
 

g. In cases where refunds cannot be authorized under this section, the board may 
authorize, pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(b)(2), restoration of eligibility for a student 
who attends a defensive driving course but cannot have the violation dismissed 
because the violation was ineligible for diversion.  An ineligible violation is any 
violation not included in A.R.S. § 28-3392(A)(1) or (2). 

 
31. Assumed Business Name.  These requirements are contained in ACJA § 7-201(F)(3). 

 
32. Instructors.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-201(F), an instructor may only 

teach defensive driving courses or contract to provide assistance under the auspices of a 
school. 

 
G. Renewal of Certification.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-201(G), the 

following requirements apply: 
 

1. Expiration Date.  All school and instructor certificates shall expire at midnight, October 
31st of odd numbered years.   
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2. Schools.  Each school seeking renewal of certification shall: 
 

a. Pay the specified renewal fee in subsection (K), calculated by division staff based on 
the total number of students completing a defensive driving course during the 
previous two state fiscal years;  

 
b. Pay any outstanding assessed ineligible completion processing fee;  

 
c. Provide division staff any changes in administrative, operational or financial 

procedures; 
 

d. Provide division staff any changes in curriculum content by electronic means only; 
and 

 
e. Provide division staff any changes in third party contracts. 

 
3. Instructors.  All instructors shall: 

 
a. Apply for renewal by submitting a certified motor vehicle record for the prior 24 

months preceding the date the applicant files the renewal application with division 
staff. 

 
b. Teach a minimum of eight classes in the 24 months of each renewal cycle.  An 

instructor whose certificate expires less than one year from the effective date of 
certification shall teach on a pro-rated basis at the rate of at least one class for every 
two months the instructor has been certified. The employing or contracted school 
shall maintain records of classes taught for each employed or contracted instructor 
and shall provide the records on request of division staff or the board. 

 
c. Continuing education.  During each renewal cycle all instructors shall attend a total of 

twelve hours of continuing education, six in each calendar year as required by the 
continuing education policies in subsection (L). 

 
d. Pass the examination for certification required pursuant to subsection (E)(2)(e) to 

qualify for renewal of certification.  
 

4. Restricted Certification. 
 

a. In order for a school to cover their scheduled defensive driving courses in the event 
of an emergency where an instructor is not available to teach a course, an owner or 
principal of a school may apply for, and the board may grant a restricted certificate 
under the following conditions: 

 
(1) The owner or principal shall apply for the restricted certificate on a form 

approved by the board; 
(2) The owner or principal holds a valid certificate as an instructor and meets all 

renewal requirements, except the requirement for the number of classes taught; 
and 
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(3) The owner or principal has not had a certificate that has been revoked or 
suspended.  

  
b.  To remain eligible to renew a restricted certificate, owners and principals shall 

complete all renewal requirements each renewal cycle except the number of defensive 
driving courses taught pursuant to subsection (G)(3). 

 
5. Denial of Renewal.  In addition to the requirements in ACJA § 7-201(G), the following 

requirements apply: 
 

a. The board may refuse to renew the certificate of any instructor who fails to meet the 
standards of this section and ACJA § 7-201 on two or more successive classroom 
monitoring sessions, completed more than 30 days apart. 

 
b. If an instructor’s certification lapses or is denied due to failure to meet renewal 

requirements, the instructor is not eligible to apply for subsequent certification for six 
months. 

 
H. Complaints, Investigation, Disciplinary Actions and Hearings.  These requirements are 

contained in ACJA § 7-201(H). 
 
 
I. Policies and Procedures for Board Members.  These requirements are contained in ACJA 

§ 7-201(I). 
 
J.  Codes of Conduct.   
 

1. Schools.  This code of conduct is adopted by the supreme court to apply to all schools 
certified by the Arizona Supreme Court, pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-3395.  The purpose of 
this code of conduct is to establish minimum standards of performance for schools. 

 
a. Curriculum.  A school shall exercise extreme care and diligence and ensure all 

materials used in the instruction of defensive driving courses, whether in a classroom 
or in an ADM format, are in the public domain or original and not copied without the 
appropriate written permission. 

 
(1) A school shall make all reasonable efforts to secure accurate and current 

information in its presentations in defensive driving courses. 
(2) A school shall not use any curriculum material or teaching methods not approved 

by the board.  
 

b.   Ethics.  A school shall not operate in a manner reflecting adversely on the judiciary, 
board, courts, division staff or other agencies involved in the administration of justice 
including law enforcement agencies and attorneys. 
 
(1) A school shall maintain the confidentiality of all defensive driving student 

records, only transmit confidential information by U.S. Post, facsimile, or a 
secure electronic file, and shall not disclose defensive driving database 
information to any third party.  A school may disclose information only upon 
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presentation of reasonable evidence the individual seeking the information is the 
same individual who is the subject of the record.  A school shall refer all third 
party requests for information to division staff. 

(2) A school shall not perform nor permit its employees, representatives or third party 
contractors to perform judicial functions or functions for court staff.  School 
employees, representative or third party contractors shall not volunteer assistance 
to court staff in their official duties.   

(3) In addition to the provisions of ACJA § 7-201(H)(6)(c), a school and its staff  
shall comply with all requests for communications or information from court 
staff. 

 
c. Classrooms.  A school shall maintain the appropriate decorum in the classroom to 

promote an atmosphere of learning for students.  A school shall: 
 

(1) Direct the instructors to require students to be punctual and attentive; 
(2) Direct the instructors to prevent or control disruptions by students interfering with 

the conduct of the defensive driving course or distressing other students; 
(3) Direct the instructors to prohibit students from sleeping or engaging in other 

activities that are not a part of the school’s approved defensive driving course 
during the classroom instruction;  

(4) Direct the instructors to forbid the use of electronic devises or laptop computers 
by students causing inattention or detractions from the learning of the student of 
other students in the defensive driving course; and 

(5) Not use a facility for a classroom presentation which may create distractions 
prior, during or after the presentation. 

 
d. Compliance.  A school shall perform all duties and discharge all obligations in 

accordance with current Arizona law and the administrative rules, court orders, 
administrative orders, ACJA § 7-201 and this section.  

 
e. Advertising.  A school shall not permit any erroneous or misleading advertising by 

omission, material misrepresentation, dishonesty or fraud. A school shall not permit 
advertising during the presentation of its approved course. A school shall not provide       
any endorsements, rewards, or incentives to a student in order to:  

 
(1) Receive reduced costs to attend the school’s course by responding to an 

advertisement or taking a survey provided by the advertiser or school;     
(2) Waive any costs or fees to attend the course; 
(3) Misrepresent the costs to attend the course; or 
(4) Misrepresent other schools’ course offerings. 

 
2. Instructors.  This code of conduct is adopted by the supreme court to apply to all 

instructors.  The purpose of this code of conduct is to establish minimum standards of 
conduct for all instructors. 

 
a. Responsibilities.  The fundamental responsibility of an instructor is to ensure the 

instruction of all students in the approved curriculum and to meet the mandatory 
instruction time, in a professional manner encouraging student learning.  
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b. Ethics.  An instructor shall exhibit the highest degree of ethical conduct and maintain 
the confidentiality of information provided by students. 

 
(1) An instructor shall be aware at all times the instructor represents the Supreme 

Court and the instructor’s employing school. 
(2) An instructor shall not act disagreeably or permit personal feelings, prejudices, 

animosities, or friendships to influence the student, classroom conduct or delivery 
of the defensive driving course. 

(3) An instructor shall not accept any gratuities or favors from a student, other 
classroom participant or court employee. 

(4) An instructor shall avoid the appearance of a conflict of interest or self-dealing.  
A conflict of interest or self-dealing arises where the instructor has a personal or 
agency interest other individuals may perceive as self-serving or adverse to the 
position of the student, school or court. 

(5) An instructor shall exhibit the highest degree of professional conduct.  An 
instructor shall: 
(a) Act in a professional manner, prior, during and after the delivery of a 

defensive driving course;   
(b) Dress in business casual attire, when teaching in a classroom setting;  
(c) Not use a classroom presentation as a forum for any purpose except the 

presentation of the approved curriculum;  
(d) Respond to questions or comments in a constructive manner, to encourage 

student questions and participation.  This requirement applies to a classroom 
presentation and when an instructor is answering an on-line question; 

(e) Respond in a constructive and professional manner to any disruptive activity 
in a classroom; 

(f) Not make any derogatory comments concerning the courts, board, court 
employees, law enforcement or other professionals associated with the 
judicial system;  

(g) Not advise or provide interpretation on any traffic law or the legality of a 
traffic law or citation issued to a student; and 

(h) Not conduct any other enterprise or business activity in or within close 
proximity to the classroom or facility in which the traditional classroom 
course is conducted. 

(6) Knowledge and training.  An instructor shall: 
(a) Understand the approved curriculum and have the knowledge and training to 

present the information to the students through an understandable adult 
learning technique; 

(b) Present only the material contained in the school’s curriculum; 
(c) Respond to students’ questions with clear and correct answers.  If the 

instructor does not know the answer, the instructor shall advise the student, 
research the question and obtain the correct answer.  The instructor shall 
provide the answer to the student, if possible, before the end of the classroom 
presentation or on-line defensive driving course.  If the instructor cannot 
locate the answer before the end of the presentation or course, the instructor 
shall follow-up with the information for the student as soon as possible; and 

(d) Take the necessary steps to become informed of any statutory or local 
ordinances changes in the traffic laws. 
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(7) Compliance.  An instructor shall perform all duties and discharge all obligations 
in accordance with current Arizona law and the administrative rules, court orders, 
administrative orders, ACJA § 7-201 and this section. 

 
 
 
 
K.  Fee Schedule.   
 
 1. Initial School Certification Fees for Two Year Period.                                Fee 
 

a. Application year 2011: 
 
 (1) Certification expiring more than one year after application date     $ 3000.00 
 

(2) Certification expiring less than one year after application date $ 1500.00 
 

b. Application year 2012: 
 
 (1) Certification expiring more than one year after application date     $ 4000.00 
 

(2) Certification expiring less than one year after application date $ 2000.00 
 

c. Application year 2013 and after: 
 
 (1) Certification expiring more than one year after application date     $ 5000.00 
 

(2) Certification expiring less than one year after application date $ 2500.00 
 

2.   Initial Instructor Certification Fees for Two Year Period.  
 

a.  Certification expiring more than one year after application date   $      50.00  
 

b.  Certification expiring less than one year after application date   $      25.00 
 
 3. Examination Fees for Individuals. 

 
a.  Applicants for certification examination  $     50.00 
 
b.  Re-examinations  $     50.00 

  
(For any applicant who did not pass the examination on the first  
attempt. The $50.00 fee applies to each re-examination.) 

 
c.  Re-registration for examination  $     50.00 

 
(For any applicant who registers for an examination date and 
fails to appear at the designated site on the scheduled date and 
time.) 
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 4. Renewal Certification Fees for Two Year Period. 
 
  a. School renewal  
 

 (1)   Renewal year 2011: 
 

 Renewal fee for all schools   $    500.00 
 
(2)   Renewal year 2013: 
 
 Renewal fee for all schools  $    750.00 
 
(3)   Renewal year 2015 and after: 
 
 Renewal fee for all schools  $  1000.00 

  
b. Instructor renewal  $    50.00 
 
c. Late renewal fees 

 
  (1)  School                 $     50.00 

   (2)  Instructor               $     50.00 
 
  d.   Delinquent continuing education          $     50.00 
 
 5. Miscellaneous Fees. 
 

a. Replacement of certificate or name change  $     25.00 
 
b. Public record request per page copy  $     00.50 

 
c. Certificate of correctness of copy of record  $     18.00 
 
d. Reinstatement application  $   100.00 

 
(Application for reinstatement to certification after suspension 
or revocation of certification.) 
 

e. Ineligible student completion processing fee (per occurrence) $     20.00 
 
f. Implementation of an additional modality application fee $ 2000.00 

 
 
L.  Continuing Education Policies.   
 

1. Purpose. 
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a. Ongoing continuing education is one method to ensure instructors maintain 
competence in the field after certification is obtained.  Continuing education also 
provides opportunities for instructors to keep abreast of changes in the profession, 
applicable traffic laws, and the Arizona judicial system. 

 
b. Pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(D)(5)(c)(1) the board shall make recommendations to the 

supreme court regarding rules, policies, and procedures to implement and enforce the 
requirements regarding instructors, including continuing education.  This subsection 
is intended to provide direction to instructors and schools to ensure compliance with 
the continuing education requirements and to provide for equitable application and 
enforcement of the continuing education requirements. 

 
2. Applicability.  Pursuant to subsection (G)(3)(c): 

 
a. All instructors shall comply with the continuing education policies in ACJA §§ 7-201 

and 7-205.  
 

b. All instructors who hold individual certification shall complete six hours of 
continuing education every year for a total of twelve hours of continuing education 
during the renewal cycle, unless the board grants an extension.  Instructors may not 
bank or roll over excess continuing education hours from one calendar year period to 
the next. 

 
3. Responsibilities of Instructors. 

 
a. It is the responsibility of each instructor to ensure compliance with the continuing 

education requirements, maintain documentation of completion of continuing 
education, and to submit the maintained documentation upon the request of the board 
or division staff. 

 
b. Upon request of the board or division staff, each instructor shall provide additional 

information required by the board or division staff when the board or staff reviews 
renewal applications and continuing education documentation. 

 
c. Continuing education not recognized for credit upon board review does not in any 

way relieve the instructor of the responsibility to complete the required hours of 
continuing education. 

 
4. Authorized Continuing Education Activities. 

 
a. Continuing education activity shall address areas of proficiency, competency and 

performance as a defensive driving instructor, impart knowledge and understanding of 
the field, applicable Arizona traffic laws and safe driving techniques; and increase the 
participant’s understanding of the conduct and responsibilities of an instructor. 

 
b. Continuing education activity shall include the following subjects: 

 
(1) The role, conduct and responsibility of an instructor pursuant to ACJA §§ 7-201    

and  7-205; 
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(2) Topics pertaining to any defensive driving curriculum subject matter listed in 
subsection (E)(1)(k); 

(3) Ethics for instructors, including cooperation with the court staff, schools, 
students, and other certified instructors or, professional courtesy and impartiality 
to all students; and knowing the differences between providing information versus 
giving legal advice.  At least one hour in an ethics-related topic is required each 
year of the renewal period.  The one hour of ethics must stand alone and may only 
be credited as ethics and not as a portion of the other five hours of continuing 
education required each year of the renewal period; 

(4) Traffic laws pertinent to Title 28 of the Arizona Revised Statutes; Arizona Rules 
of Court; administrative orders and rules; Motor Vehicle Division issues which 
pertain to the Defensive Driving Program; and current issues in the Arizona court 
system affecting the Defensive Driving Program; 

(5) Accompanying an on-duty certified law enforcement officer who is actively 
engaged in traffic enforcement activities;   

(6) Adult education techniques; 
(7) Presentation skills including utilizing reference materials and software for presenting 

defensive driving courses; 
(8) Professional or personal development topics such as interaction management, time 

management, stress management, and CPR training; or   
(9) Eligible in-service training conducted by a school owner or principal. 

 
c. Conferences.  An instructor may receive continuing education credit for attendance at 

a conference relevant to the profession.  An instructor may receive 100 percent 
continuing education credits for attendance at such a conference, provided the 
conference is directly related to the profession.  Breaks, meals, business meetings, 
and general sessions of the conference do not qualify as continuing education hours. 

 
d. University, college and other educational institution courses.  An instructor may 

receive continuing education credit for a course or professional development program 
provided by a university, college or other institutionally accredited educational 
program if the instructor successfully completes the course or program with a grade 
of “C” or better or a “pass” on a pass/fail system.  An instructor may receive 
continuing education credit if the course is relevant to the role and responsibilities of 
an instructor, adult education techniques, traffic laws or other topics pertaining to 
defensive driving curriculum and presentations.  The instructor may receive credit up 
to two times the number of credit hours awarded by the educational institution.  The 
maximum total hours of continuing education credits earned from the course work 
shall not exceed 50 percent of the total number of continuing education hours 
required for renewal. 

 
e. Authoring or coauthoring articles.  An instructor may receive continuing education 

credit for authoring or coauthoring an article directly related to defensive driving 
instruction and curriculum if the article is published in a state or nationally 
recognized professional journal and if the article is a minimum of 1,000 words in 
length.  An instructor may receive a maximum of one hour of continuing education 
credit for authoring an article or articles during a renewal period.  An instructor shall 
not receive continuing education credit for the same article published in more than 
one publication or republished in the same publication in later editions. 
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f. Self-study.  An instructor may receive continuing education credit for self-study 

activities, including video and audio tapes, online computer seminars, and other 
methods of independent learning.  A copy of the curriculum shall be submitted to 
division staff upon request.  The maximum total hours of continuing education credits 
earned from self-study shall not exceed 50 percent of the total number of continuing 
education hours required for renewal. 

 
g. Serving as faculty.  An instructor may receive continuing education credit for serving 

as faculty, instructor, speaker, or panel member of a continuing education or 
instructional seminar directly related to defensive driving.  This does not include any 
class or on-line presentations as an instructor for students enrolled in a defensive 
driving course.  An instructor may receive continuing education credit for the actual 
presentation time and up to two hours of preparation time for each hour of 
presentation.  The maximum hours of continuing education credits earned as faculty, 
instructor, speaker or panel member shall not exceed 50 percent of the total number 
of continuing education hours required for renewal and an instructor shall not receive 
duplicate credit for repeating a presentation during the renewal period.  An instructor 
may receive continuing education credit for actual presentation time for duplicate 
presentations in subsequent renewal periods, however, shall not receive continuing 
education credit for preparation time for those programs.  

 
h. An instructor shall not receive credit for monitoring or mentoring activities of a newly 

employed or contracted instructor. 
 

5. Minimum Time.  Each continuing education activity shall consist of at least 30 minutes 
of actual clock time spent by a registrant in actual attendance at and completion of a 
continuing education activity.  “Actual clock time” is the total number of hours attended, 
minus the time spent for introductory remarks, breaks, meals, and business meetings.  
After completion of the initial 30 minutes of a continuing education activity, an instructor 
may receive credit in fifteen minute increments. 

 
6. Maximum Credit.  Unless the board determines otherwise, an instructor shall not receive 

more than 50 percent of the credit requirement for the renewal period through one activity.  
This limit shall not be exceeded unless the board approves an additional amount be 
credited, on a case-by-case basis, for an exceptionally lengthy or involved, professionally 
relevant activity, course, or event completed by the instructor.  The board’s decision is 
final in all such matters. 

 
7. Non-Qualifying Activities. 

 
a. The following activities shall not qualify for continuing education credit for 

instructors: 
 

(1) Educational course work and training completed to qualify for initial certification; 
(2) Mentoring or trainee supervision activities; 
(3) Serving on boards, committees or councils or as an officer in a professional 

organization;  
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(4) Attendance or participation at board, committee, council or professional 
association business meetings, general sessions, elections, policymaking sessions 
or program orientation; and 

(5) Activities completed as required by the board as part of a disciplinary action. 
 

b. Repeat of an activity.  Continuing education activities repeated during a renewal 
period do not qualify for credited duplicate hours.  An exception shall be allowed for 
an instructor who attends a Supreme Court training program or conference once per 
calendar year. 

 
c. If an instructor attends part, but not all of a continuing education activity, the 

instructor is not eligible to claim partial credit completion. 
 

8. Documentation of Attendance or Completion.  When attending or completing a 
continuing education activity, each instructor shall obtain documentation of attendance or 
completion from the sponsoring entity.  At a minimum, this documentation shall include 
the: 

 
a. Name of the sponsor; 
 
b. Name of the participant; 
 
c. Topic of the educational activity; 
 
d. Number of hours actually attended or the number of credit hours awarded by the 

sponsoring entity; 
 
e. Date and place of the program; and 
 
f. Signature of the sponsor or an official document from the sponsoring entity. 

 
9. Compliance and Non-Compliance. 

 
a. Affidavit of compliance.  An instructor shall submit an affidavit of continuing 

education compliance when applying for renewal of certification.  The affidavit shall 
be in the format provided by division staff.   

 
b. Pro-ration of continuing education requirement.  An instructor whose certificate expires 

less than one year from the effective date of certification shall complete continuing 
education on a pro-rated basis at the rate of at least one continuing education credit for 
every two months the instructor has been certified.  In subsequent renewal periods, the 
instructor shall complete the normal twelve hour continuing education requirement.  
Pro-ration of the continuing education requirement does not apply to an instructor who 
previously held certification and allowed certification to lapse. 

 
c. Extension or waiver of continuing education requirements.  An instructor seeking 

renewal of certification who has not fully complied with the continuing education 
requirements may request an extension of the continuing education requirements 
under the following conditions: 
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(1) The instructor submits a written statement to the board, explaining the facts 

regarding non-compliance and requesting an extension of the requirements no 
later than the September 1st preceding the October 31st expiration of the 
certificate. Upon a showing of extenuating circumstances, the board may grant an 
extension of a maximum of 90 days for the instructor to complete the continuing 
education requirement. 

(2) The board shall determine whether extenuating circumstances exist.  In reviewing 
the request, the board shall consider if the instructor has been unable to devote 
sufficient hours to fulfill the requirements during the renewal period because of: 
(a) full-time service in the armed forces of the United States during a substantial 

part of the renewal period; 
(b) an incapacitating illness documented by a statement from a currently licensed 

health care provider; 
(c) a physical inability to travel to the sites of approved programs documented by 

a statement from a currently licensed health care provider; or 
(d) any other special circumstances the board deems appropriate. 

 
(3) An instructor whose certificate has been suspended or revoked by the board is not 

eligible to request an extension of the continuing education requirement. 
(4) The board or division staff may request documentation or additional information 

from an instructor applying for renewal to verify compliance with the continuing 
education requirements. If the instructor fails to provide the requested 
documentation or additional information, the board may deem the application for 
renewal incomplete and deny renewal of certification. 

 
d. Random audits of continuing education compliance.  During each renewal period, the 

board shall request division staff to randomly specify a number of instructors to 
demonstrate continuing education requirement compliance through submission of 
proof of continuing education participation.  Refusal or failure to respond to a board 
or division staff request for  documentation of continuing education compliance may 
result in denial of renewal of certification pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(G) or 
disciplinary action pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(H) and this section. 

 
e. An instructor who fails to complete the continuing education requirement, falsifies 

documents, or misrepresents attendance or an activity is subject to any or all of the 
following actions of the board: 

 
(1) Assessment of the delinquent continuing education fee; 
(2) Denial of renewal of certification; or 
(3) Disciplinary action pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(H) and this section. 

 
10. Board Decision Regarding Continuing Education Compliance. 

 
a. Upon a review of continuing education documentation and any applicable additional 

information requested, the board may: 
 

(1) Recognize instructor compliance with the continuing education requirement; 
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(2) Require additional information from the instructor seeking renewal before making 
a decision;  

(3) Recognize partial compliance with the requirement and order remedial measures; 
or 

(4) Enter a finding of non-compliance. 
 

b. Division staff shall notify the instructor, in writing, within ten days of the board’s 
decision. An instructor may appeal the decision by submitting a written request for 
review to division staff within fifteen days of the date of the notice of the board’s 
decision.  The instructor may request to appear before the board at the next available 
regularly scheduled board meeting. 

  
 
 

c. The certification of an instructor who timely appeals a decision by the board regarding 
continuing education shall continue in force until a final decision is made by the board. 

 
d. The board shall make the decision on the appeal in writing.  The decision is final and 

binding. 
 
 
 
 

Defensive Driving Certification 
Continuing Education Policy for Instructors 

  
2. Definitions.  The following definitions apply throughout this policy: 
 

a. “ACJA” means Arizona Code of Judicial Administration. 
 
b. “CE” means continuing education. 
 
c. “Instructor” means a person who is certified pursuant to ACJA §§ 7-201(E) and 7-205 to 

conduct defensive driving courses for a certified school; or in the case of alternative 
delivery methods, where an instructor is not present, who serves as the certified school’s 
point of contact to answer student questions by telephone or electronic means. 

 
3. Purpose. 
 
      a. Ongoing CE is one method to ensure instructors maintain competence in the field after 

certification is obtained. CE also provides opportunities for  instructors to keep abreast of 
changes in the profession, applicable traffic laws, and the Arizona judicial system. 

 
 b. Pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(D) the board shall make recommendations to the supreme court 

regarding rules, policies, and procedures to implement and enforce the requirements 
regarding instructors, including CE. This policy is intended to provide direction to instructors 
to ensure compliance with the CE requirements and to provide for equitable application and 
enforcement of them. 

  
 3. Applicability.   
 
  a. All instructors shall comply with the CE policies in ACJA §§ 7-201 and 7-205.  
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  b. Pursuant to ACJA § 7-205(G)(3)(e), all instructors who hold individual certification shall 

complete at least six hours of CE through October 31, 2007.  Beginning with the renewal 
cycle of November 1, 2007, and thereafter, instructors shall complete 12 hours of CE during 
the renewal cycle, unless the board grants an extension. 

   
 
 
 4. Responsibilities of instructors. 
 
 a. It is the responsibility of each instructor to ensure compliance with the CE requirements, 

maintain documentation of completion of CE, and to submit the maintained documentation to 
the Defensive Driving Program upon the request of the board or division staff. 

  
b. Upon request, each instructor shall provide all additional information required by the board or 

division staff when reviewing renewal applications and CE documentation. 
 
5. Standards. 

   
 a. Maximum credit.  An instructor may receive up to 50 percent in one activity of the total 

number of CE hours required for renewal, if the course/program is relevant to the profession. 
 

 (1) This limit shall not be exceeded unless the board approves an additional amount be 
credited, on a case-by-case basis, for an exceptionally lengthy or involved, professionally 
relevant activity, course, or event completed by the instructor.  The Board’s decision is 
final in all such matters. 

 (2) CE credits shall not be repeated during a renewal period.  An exception shall be allowed 
for an instructor who attends a supreme court training program or conference once per 
calendar year. 

 
 b. Minimum time.  Each CE activity shall consist of at least 30 minutes of actual clock time 

spent by an instructor in actual attendance at and completion of a CE activity. 
 

 (1) “Actual clock time” includes the total number of hours attended, minus the time spent for 
breaks, meals, and business meetings. After completion of the first 30 minutes of a CE 
activity, credit shall be recognized in additional 30-minute increments. 

 (2) If an instructor attends part, but not all of a CE activity, unless otherwise provided for in 
the curriculum, the instructor is not eligible to claim partial credit completion. 

 
 c. Documentation of attendance or completion. When attending or completing a CE activity, 

each instructor shall obtain documentation of attendance or completion from the sponsoring 
entity.  At a minimum, this documentation shall include the: 

 
  (1) name of the sponsor; 
  (2) name of the participant; 
  (3) topic of the subject matter; 
  (4)  number of hours actually attended or the number of credit hours                           

awarded by the sponsoring entity; 
  (5) date and place of the program; and 

 (6)  signature of the sponsor or an official document from the sponsoring      
  entity. 

   
  d. CE in excess of the required number of hours may not be carried forward into any future 

renewal period. 
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 6. Authorized CE Activities, Courses and Events. 
 

 a. CE Activities.  A CE activity shall address the areas of proficiency, competency, and delivery 
of defensive driving instruction, impart knowledge and understanding of the field, applicable 
Arizona traffic laws and safe driving techniques, and increase the participant's understanding 
of the conduct and responsibilities of an instructor. Authorized CE activities include the 
following subjects:   

 
 (1) The role and responsibility of instructors including ACJA §§ 7-201 and 7-205. 
 (2) Topics pertaining to any defensive driving curriculum subject matter listed in ACJA § 7-

205(E)(j)(1). 
 (3) Ethics for instructors, including cooperation with the court staff, schools, students, and 

other certified instructors.  Also, professional courtesy and impartiality to all students, 
and knowing the differences between providing information versus giving legal advice.  
At least one hour in an ethics-related topic pursuant to ACJA § 7-250(J)(2) is required 
each renewal period.   

 (4) Traffic laws pertinent to Title 28 of the Arizona Revised Statutes; Arizona Rules of 
Court; administrative orders and rules; Motor Vehicle Division issues which pertain to 
the Defensive Driving Program; and, current issues in the Arizona court system affecting 
the Defensive Driving Program. 

(5) Participation in accompanying an on-duty certified law enforcement officer who is 
actively engaged in traffic enforcement activities.   

(6) Adult education techniques. 
 (7) Presentation skills including utilizing reference materials and software for presenting 

defensive driving courses. 
(8) Professional/personal development topics such as interaction management, time 

management, stress management, and CPR training.   
(9) Eligible in-service training conducted by a school owner or principal. 

 
b. Conferences.  An instructor may receive CE credit for attendance at a conference relevant to 

the profession.  A certificate holder may receive CE credits for attendance at such a 
conference, provided the conference is directly related to the profession.  Breaks, meals, 
business meetings, and general sessions of the conference do not qualify as CE hours. 

 
 c. University, college and other educational institution courses.  University, college and other 

accredited educational institution courses and/or professional development programs.  
An instructor may receive CE credit for a course or professional development program 
provided by these organizations if the instructor successfully completes the course or 
program as certified by the institution and the course/program is related to the profession.  

 
d. Self-study.  An instructor may receive CE credit for self-study activities, including video and 

audio tapes, online computer seminars, and other methods of independent learning.  The 
employing school shall confirm the self-study was completed by the instructor for the stated 
number of hours and topic.  A copy of the curriculum shall be submitted to Division Staff 
upon request.  

 
  e. Serving as faculty. An instructor may receive CE credit for serving as faculty, instructor, 

speaker, or panel member of an instructional seminar directly related to defensive driving.  
An instructor may receive CE credit for the presentation time and up to two hours of 
preparation time for each hour of presentation.   

 
7. Non-Qualifying Activities. 
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a. The following activities shall not qualify for CE credit for instructors: 
 

(1) Educational course work and training completed to qualify for certification; 
  (2) Trainee supervision activities. An instructor shall not receive CE credit for trainee supervision; 

(3) Attendance or participation at professional or association business meetings, general 
sessions, elections, policymaking sessions or program orientation; 

(4) Serving on committees or councils or as officers in a professional organization; and 
(5) Activities completed as required by the board as part of a disciplinary action. 
(6) Meetings.  Regularly scheduled meetings of committees on which the certificate holder 

serves do not constitute CE.  Also, meetings held for the purpose of conducting a business 
meeting, election, policymaking session or program orientation do not constitute as in-
service training. 

 
 b. If an instructor attends part, but not all of a CE activity, the instructor is not eligible to claim 

partial credit completion. 
 

8. Compliance and Non-Compliance. 
 

 a. Affidavit of compliance.  An instructor shall submit an affidavit of CE compliance when 
applying for renewal of certification.  The affidavit shall be in the format provided by 
division staff.   

 
b. Pro-ration of CE requirement. An instructor whose certificate expires less than one year from 

the effective date of certification shall complete CE on a pro-rated basis at the rate of at least one 
CE credit for every two months the instructor has been certified.  In subsequent renewal periods, 
the instructor shall complete the normal 12-hour CE requirement. Pro-ration of the CE 
requirement does not apply to an instructor who previously held certification and allowed 
his/her certification to lapse. 

 
 c. Extension of CE requirements. An instructor seeking renewal of certification who has not 

fully complied with the CE requirements may request an extension of the CE requirements 
under the following conditions: 

 
                (1)  The instructor submits a written statement to the board, explaining the facts regarding      

non-compliance and requesting an extension of the requirements no later than the 
September 1st preceding the October 31st expiration of the certificate. Upon a showing of 
extenuating circumstances, the board may grant an extension of a maximum of 90 days 
for the instructor to complete the CE requirement. 

 (2) The board shall determine whether extenuating circumstances exist.  In reviewing the   
request, the board shall consider if the instructor has been unable to devote sufficient 
hours to fulfill the requirements during the renewal period because of: 
(a) full-time service in the armed forces of the United States during a substantial part of 

the renewal period; 
(b) an incapacitating illness documented by a statement from a currently licensed health care 

provider; 
(c) a physical inability to travel to the sites of approved programs documented by a 

statement from a currently licensed health care provider; or 
(d) any other special circumstances the board deems appropriate. 

 (3) An instructor whose certificate has been suspended or revoked by the board is not 
eligible to request an extension of the CE requirement. 

 (4) The board or division staff may request documentation or additional information from an 
instructor applying for renewal to verify compliance with the CE requirements. If the 
instructor fails to provide the requested documentation or additional information, the 
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board may deem the application for renewal incomplete and deny renewal of 
certification. 

 
  
 d. Random audits of CE compliance.  During each renewal review period, the board shall direct 

division staff to randomly select 20 percent of instructors to demonstrate CE requirement 
compliance through submission of proof of CE participation.  Refusal or failure to respond to 
a board or division staff request for audit documentation of CE compliance may result in 
denial of renewal of certification or disciplinary action pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(H) and this 
section. 

 
 e. An instructor who falsifies documents or misrepresents attendance or an activity is subject to 

any or all of the following actions of the board: 
 

 (1) Denial of renewal of certification; and 
 (2) Disciplinary action pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(H), § 7-205, and/or this CE policy. 

 
 9. Board Decision Regarding CE Compliance. 

 
a.  Upon a review of CE documentation and any applicable additional information requested, the 

board may: 
 

 (1) Recognize instructor compliance with the CE requirement; 
 (2) Require additional information from the instructor seeking renewal before making a 

decision;  
 (3) Recognize partial compliance with the requirement and order remedial measures; or 
 (4) Enter a finding of non-compliance. 

 
b. The division staff shall promptly notify the instructor, in writing, of the board’s decision. An 

instructor may appeal the decision by submitting a written request for review to division staff 
within fifteen days of receipt of notification of the board’s decision.  The instructor 
requesting review may request to appear before the board at the next available regularly 
scheduled board meeting. 

 
 c. The certification of an instructor who timely appeals a decision by the board regarding CE shall 

continue in force until a final decision is made by the board. 
 

d.    The board shall make the decision on the appeal in writing. The decision is final and binding. 
 
 

 
Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) 

 
28-695. Aggressive driving; violation; classification; definition 
A. A person commits aggressive driving if both of the following occur: 
1. During a course of conduct the person commits a violation of either section 28-701, subsection A or 
section 28-701.02 and at least two of the following violations: 
(a) Failure to obey traffic control devices as provided in section 28-644. 
(b) Overtaking and passing another vehicle on the right by driving off the pavement or main traveled 
portion of the roadway as provided in section 28-724. 
(c) Unsafe lane change as provided in section 28-729. 
(d) Following a vehicle too closely as provided in section 28-730. 
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(e) Failure to yield the right-of-way as provided in article 9 of this chapter. 
2. The person's driving is an immediate hazard to another person or vehicle. 
B. A person convicted of aggressive driving is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor. 
C. In addition to any other penalty prescribed by law: 
1. A person convicted of a violation of this section shall attend and successfully complete approved traffic 
survival school training and educational sessions that are designed to improve the safety and habits of 
drivers and that are approved by the department. 
2. The court shall forward the abstract of conviction to the department and may order the department to 
suspend the person's driving privilege for thirty days. 
D. If a person who is convicted of a violation of this section has been previously convicted of a violation 
of this section within a period of twenty-four months: 
1. The person is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor. 
2. In addition to any other penalty prescribed by law, the court shall forward the abstract of conviction to 
the department. On receipt of the abstract of conviction, the department shall revoke the driving privilege 
of the person for one year. 
E. The dates of the commission of the offense determine whether subsection D of this section applies. A 
second or subsequent violation for which a conviction occurs as provided in this section does not include 
a conviction for an offense arising out of the same series of acts. 
F. For the purposes of this section "course of conduct" means a series of acts committed during a single, 
continuous period of driving. 
 
28-701. Reasonable and prudent speed; prima facie evidence; exceptions 
A. A person shall not drive a vehicle on a highway at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under 
the circumstances, conditions and actual and potential hazards then existing. A person shall control the 
speed of a vehicle as necessary to avoid colliding with any object, person, vehicle or other conveyance 
on, entering or adjacent to the highway in compliance with legal requirements and the duty of all persons 
to exercise reasonable care for the protection of others. 
B. Except as provided in subsections C and D of this section or except if a special hazard requires a lesser 
speed, any speed in excess of the following speeds is prima facie evidence that the speed is too great and 
therefore unreasonable: 
1. Fifteen miles per hour approaching a school crossing. 
2. Twenty-five miles per hour in a business or residential district. 
3. Sixty-five miles per hour in other locations. 
C. The speed limits prescribed in this section may be altered as authorized in sections 28-702 and 28-703. 
D. The maximum speed provided in this section is reduced to the speed that is reasonable and prudent 
under the conditions and with regard to the actual and potential hazards then existing, including the 
following conditions: 
1. Approaching and crossing an intersection or railroad crossing. 
2. Approaching and going around a curve. 
3. Approaching a hillcrest. 
4. Traveling on a narrow or winding roadway. 
5. A special hazard exists with respect to pedestrians or other traffic or by reason of weather or highway 
conditions. 
E. A person shall not drive a motor vehicle at a speed that is less than the speed that is reasonable and 
prudent under existing conditions.  
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28-724. Overtaking on the right 
A. The driver of a vehicle may overtake and pass on the right of another vehicle only under the following 
conditions: 
1. When the vehicle overtaken is making or about to make a left turn. 
2. On a street or highway with unobstructed pavement that is not occupied by parked vehicles and that is 
of sufficient width for two or more lines of moving vehicles in each direction. 
3. On a one-way street or on a roadway on which traffic is restricted to one direction of movement and if 
the roadway is free from obstructions and of sufficient width for two or more lines of moving vehicles. 
B. The driver of a vehicle may overtake and pass another vehicle on the right only under conditions 
permitting the movement in safety. The driver shall not make the movement by driving off the pavement 
or main traveled portion of the roadway.  
 
28-726. Limitations on driving to left of roadway center 
A. A person shall not drive a vehicle to the left side of the roadway under the following conditions: 
1. When approaching the crest of a grade or on a curve in the highway where the driver's view is 
obstructed within such distance as to create a hazard in the event another vehicle might approach from the 
opposite direction. 
2. When approaching within one hundred feet of or traversing any intersection or railroad grade crossing 
or where appropriate signs or markings have been installed to define a no passing zone. 
3. When the view is obstructed on approaching within one hundred feet of any bridge, viaduct or tunnel. 
B. The limitations provided in this section do not apply on a one-way roadway.  
 
28-775. Authorized emergency vehicles; approaching; following fire apparatus; defensive driving 
schools; driver license examinations 
A. Except when otherwise directed by a police officer, on the immediate approach of an authorized 
emergency vehicle equipped with at least one lighted lamp exhibiting a red or red and blue light or lens 
visible under normal atmospheric conditions from a distance of five hundred feet to the front of the 
vehicle and that is giving an audible signal by siren, exhaust whistle or bell, the driver of another vehicle 
shall: 
1. Yield the right-of-way. 
2. Immediately drive to a position parallel to and as close as possible to the right-hand edge or curb of the 
roadway clear of any intersection. 
3. Stop and remain in the position prescribed in paragraph 2 of this subsection until the authorized 
emergency vehicle has passed. 
B. An authorized emergency vehicle being operated with activated emergency lights and siren is exempt 
from the requirements of this section. 
C. The driver of a vehicle other than one on official business shall not follow any fire apparatus traveling 
in response to a fire alarm closer than five hundred feet or drive into or park the vehicle within the block 
where fire apparatus has stopped in answer to a fire alarm. 
D. When a police vehicle is giving a visual signal with at least one lighted red or red and blue light or lens 
and is giving an audible signal by siren, the driver of another vehicle: 
1. Shall not approach or drive parallel to the police vehicle. 
2. Shall maintain a distance of at least three hundred feet behind any police vehicle involved in an 
emergency until the police vehicle moves to the lane closest to the right-hand edge or curb of the 
roadway. 
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E. If a person who drives a vehicle approaches a stationary authorized emergency vehicle and the 
authorized emergency vehicle is giving a signal by displaying alternately flashing red or red and blue 
lights, the person shall do either of the following: 
1. If on a highway having at least four lanes with at least two lanes proceeding in the same direction as 
the approaching vehicle, proceed with due caution and if possible, with due regard to safety and traffic 
conditions, yield the right-of-way by making a lane change into a lane not adjacent to that of the 
authorized emergency vehicle. 
2. If changing lanes would be impossible or unsafe, proceed with due caution and reduce the speed of the 
vehicle, maintaining a safe speed for road conditions. 
 
28-776. Funeral procession right-of-way; funeral escort vehicles; certification; fee; definition 
A. Pedestrians and the operators of all vehicles, except emergency vehicles, shall yield the right-of-way to 
each vehicle that is a part of a funeral procession being led by a funeral escort vehicle. The driver of the 
funeral escort vehicle may direct the drivers of other vehicles in the procession to proceed through any 
intersection or to make turns or other movements, and the other vehicles may continue to follow and 
make the turns or other movements as are made by or as directed by the driver of the funeral escort 
vehicle notwithstanding any traffic control device prescribed by statute or local ordinance, except that a 
driver of a vehicle in the funeral procession shall not exceed the posted speed limit and shall exercise 
reasonable and prudent care to avoid colliding with any other vehicle or pedestrian on the roadway. Each 
vehicle in a funeral procession shall have its headlights lighted. 
 
28-792. Right-of-way at crosswalk 
A. Except as provided in section 28-793, subsection B, if traffic control signals are not in place or are not 
in operation, the driver of a vehicle shall yield the right-of-way, slowing down or stopping if need be in 
order to yield, to a pedestrian crossing the roadway within a crosswalk when the pedestrian is on the half 
of the roadway on which the vehicle is traveling or when the pedestrian is approaching so closely from 
the opposite half of the roadway as to be in danger. A pedestrian shall not suddenly leave any curb or 
other place of safety and walk or run into the path of a vehicle that is so close that it is impossible for the 
driver to yield. 
B. If a vehicle is stopped at a marked crosswalk or at an unmarked crosswalk at an intersection to permit a 
pedestrian to cross the roadway, the driver of another vehicle approaching from the rear shall not overtake 
and pass the stopped vehicle.  
 
 
 
28-793. Crossing at other than crosswalk 
A. A pedestrian crossing a roadway at any point other than within a marked crosswalk or within an 
unmarked crosswalk at an intersection shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles on the roadway. 
B. A pedestrian crossing a roadway at a point where a pedestrian tunnel or overhead pedestrian crossing 
has been provided shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles on the roadway. 
C. Between adjacent intersections at which traffic control signals are in operation, pedestrians shall not 
cross at any place except in a marked crosswalk.  
 
28-794. Drivers to exercise due care 
Notwithstanding the provisions of this chapter every driver of a vehicle shall: 
1. Exercise due care to avoid colliding with any pedestrian on any roadway. 
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2. Give warning by sounding the horn when necessary. 
3. Exercise proper precaution on observing a child or a confused or incapacitated person on a roadway.  
 
28-797. School crossings; civil penalty; assessment; definition 
E. A vehicle approaching the crosswalk shall not proceed at a speed of more than fifteen miles per hour 
between the portable signs placed on the highway indicating "school in session" and "stop when children 
are in crosswalk". 
 
28-854. Railroad grade crossing; moving heavy equipment; exception; definition 
A. A person shall not operate or move any heavy equipment on or across a track at a railroad grade 
crossing unless: 
1. Notice of the intended crossing is given to a station agent of the railroad. 
2. Before making the crossing, the person operating or moving the vehicle or equipment: 
(a) Stops the vehicle or equipment at least fifteen feet but not more than fifty feet from the nearest rail of 
the railroad. 
(b) While so stopped, listens and looks in both directions along the track for an approaching train and for 
signals indicating the approach of a train. 
3. Does not proceed until the crossing can be made safely. 
B. A person shall not make a crossing pursuant to this section when a warning is given by automatic 
signal, crossing gates or a flagman or otherwise of the immediate approach of a railroad train or car. If a 
flagman is provided by the railroad, movement over the crossing shall be under the flagman's direction. 
C. This section does not apply to the normal movement of farm equipment in the regular course of a farm 
operation. 
D. For the purposes of this section, "heavy equipment" means any crawler type tractor, steam shovel, 
derrick, roller or other equipment or structure having a normal operating speed of ten miles per hour or 
less or a vertical body or load clearance of less than one-half inch per foot of the distance between any 
two adjacent axles or in any event of less than nine inches measured above the level surface of a roadway.  
 
28-856. Emerging from alley, driveway or building 
The driver of a vehicle emerging from an alley, driveway or building within a business or residence 
district shall: 
1. Stop the vehicle immediately before driving onto a sidewalk or onto the sidewalk area extending across 
any alleyway or private driveway. 
2. Yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian as necessary to avoid collision. 
3. On entering the roadway, yield the right-of-way to all closely approaching vehicles on the roadway 
 
28-857. School bus signs; overtaking and passing school bus; violation; driver license suspension; civil 
penalty 
A. On meeting or overtaking from either direction a school bus that has stopped on the highway, the 
driver of a vehicle on a highway shall: 
1. Stop the vehicle before reaching the school bus, if the school bus is displaying the signal as provided in 
subsection D and if alternately flashing lights are in use. 
2. Not proceed until the school bus resumes motion or the signal and alternately flashing lights are no 
longer displayed. 
B. A bus used for the transportation of school children shall have on the front and rear of the bus a plainly 
visible sign containing the words "school bus" in letters not less than eight inches in height. 
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C. A school bus operated on a highway shall cover or conceal all markings indicating "school bus" unless 
the bus is operated for the transportation of children to or from any of the following: 
1. School. 
2. School sponsored academic activities. 
3. School sponsored vocational and technological education. 
4. School sponsored athletic trips. 
5. School sponsored extracurricular activities. 
D. A bus used for the transportation of school children shall have a signal with the word "stop" printed on 
both sides in white letters not less than five inches high on a red background. The signal shall be an 
eighteen inch reflectorized octagon. The operator of the school bus shall: 
1. Manually operate the signal in a manner so that the signal is clearly visible from both front and rear 
when extended from the left of the body of the bus. 
2. Display the signal and alternately flashing lights if passengers are being received or discharged while 
the bus is stopped on the roadway. 
E. The driver of a vehicle on a highway with separate roadways need not stop on meeting or passing a 
school bus that is: 
1. On a different roadway. 
2. On a controlled access highway and the school bus is stopped in a loading zone that is a part of or 
adjacent to the highway and where pedestrians are not permitted to cross the roadway. 
F. For the purposes of subsection E, a lane or group of lanes on either side of a two-way left turn lane is 
not considered a separate roadway. 
G. A person who is responsible for a violation of subsection A of this section is subject to a civil penalty 
as follows: 
1. The court shall impose a minimum civil penalty of two hundred fifty dollars for the first violation. 
2. If a person violates this section a second time within a period of thirty-six months, the court shall 
impose a minimum civil penalty of seven hundred fifty dollars and shall direct the department to suspend 
the driver license of the person for not more than six months. 
3. If a person violates this section three or more times within a period of thirty-six months, the court shall 
impose a minimum civil penalty of one thousand dollars and shall direct the department to suspend the 
driver license of the person for at least six months but not more than one year. 
 
28-857.01. Overtaking and passing school bus; report by school bus operator; notification letter 
A. The operator of a school bus who observes a violation of section 28-857, subsection A may prepare a 
signed written report that indicates that a violation occurred. The report shall include: 
1. The date, time and approximate location of the violation. 
2. The number and state of issuance of the license plate on the vehicle involved in the violation. 
3. Identification of the vehicle as an automobile, a station wagon, a truck, a bus, a motorcycle or any other 
type of vehicle. 
4. The color of the vehicle involved in the violation. 
B. Within two days after the violation occurs, excluding weekends and holidays, the school bus operator 
shall send a copy of the report to the director. On receiving the report, the director shall promptly mail a 
notification letter to the last known registered owner of the vehicle. The letter shall include: 
1. A notification containing the information included in the bus operator's report and stating that a vehicle 
registered in the vehicle owner's name was observed passing a school bus loading and unloading children. 
2. A complete explanation of the provisions of section 28-857. 
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3. An explanation that the notification letter is not a police citation but is an effort to call attention to the 
seriousness of the incident.  
 
28-909. Vehicle restraints required; exceptions; civil penalty 
A. Each front seat occupant of a motor vehicle that is designed for carrying ten or fewer passengers, that 
is manufactured for the model year 1972 and thereafter and that is required to be equipped with an 
integrated lap and shoulder belt or a lap belt pursuant to the federal motor vehicle safety standards 
prescribed in 49 Code of Federal Regulations section 571.208 shall either: 
1. Have the lap and shoulder belt properly adjusted and fastened while the vehicle is in motion. 
2. If only a lap belt is installed where the occupant is sitting, have the lap belt properly adjusted and 
fastened while the vehicle is in motion. 
B. The operator of a motor vehicle that is designed for carrying ten or fewer passengers, that is 
manufactured for the model year 1972 and thereafter and that is required to be equipped with an 
integrated lap and shoulder belt or a lap belt pursuant to the federal motor vehicle safety standards 
prescribed in 49 Code of Federal Regulations section 571.208 shall require each passenger under sixteen 
years of age to either: 
1. Have the lap and shoulder belt properly adjusted and fastened while the vehicle is in motion. 
2. If only a lap belt is installed where the passenger is sitting, have the lap belt properly adjusted and 
fastened while the vehicle is in motion. 
 
28-1321. Implied consent; tests; refusal to submit to test; order of suspension; hearing; review; temporary 
permit; notification of suspension; special ignition interlock restricted driver license 
A. A person who operates a motor vehicle in this state gives consent, subject to section 4-244, paragraph 
33 or section 28-1381, 28-1382 or 28-1383, to a test or tests of the person's blood, breath, urine or other 
bodily substance for the purpose of determining alcohol concentration or drug content if the person is 
arrested for any offense arising out of acts alleged to have been committed in violation of this chapter or 
section 4-244, paragraph 33 while the person was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle 
while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs. The test or tests chosen by the law enforcement 
agency shall be administered at the direction of a law enforcement officer having reasonable grounds to 
believe that the person was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle in this state either: 
1. While under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs. 
2. If the person is under twenty-one years of age, with spirituous liquor in the person's body. 
B. After an arrest a violator shall be requested to submit to and successfully complete any test or tests 
prescribed by subsection A of this section, and if the violator refuses the violator shall be informed that 
the violator's license or permit to drive will be suspended or denied for twelve months, or for two years 
for a second or subsequent refusal within a period of eighty-four months, unless the violator expressly 
agrees to submit to and successfully completes the test or tests. A failure to expressly agree to the test or 
successfully complete the test is deemed a refusal. The violator shall also be informed that if the test 
results show a blood or breath alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, or if the results show a blood or 
breath alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more and the violator was driving or in actual physical control of 
a commercial motor vehicle, the violator's license or permit to drive will be suspended or denied for not 
less than ninety consecutive days. 
C. A person who is dead, unconscious or otherwise in a condition rendering the person incapable of 
refusal is deemed not to have withdrawn the consent provided by subsection A of this section and the test 
or tests may be administered, subject to section 4-244, paragraph 33 or section 28-1381, 28-1382 or 28-
1383. 
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D. If a person under arrest refuses to submit to the test designated by the law enforcement agency as 
provided in subsection A of this section: 
1. The test shall not be given, except as provided in section 28-1388, subsection E or pursuant to a search 
warrant. 
2. The law enforcement officer directing the administration of the test shall: 
(a) File a certified report of the refusal with the department. 
(b) On behalf of the department, serve an order of suspension on the person that is effective fifteen days 
after the date the order is served. 
(c) Require the immediate surrender of any license or permit to drive that is issued by this state and that is 
in the possession or control of the person. 
(d) If the license or permit is not surrendered, state the reason why it is not surrendered. 
(e) If a valid license or permit is surrendered, issue a temporary driving permit that is valid for fifteen 
days. 
(f) Forward the certified report of refusal, a copy of the completed notice of suspension, a copy of any 
completed temporary permit and any driver license or permit taken into possession under this section to 
the department within five days after the issuance of the notice of suspension. 
E. The certified report is subject to the penalty for perjury as prescribed by section 28-1561 and shall state 
all of the following: 
1. The officer's reasonable grounds to believe that the arrested person was driving or in actual physical 
control of a motor vehicle in this state either: 
(a) While under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs. 
(b) If the person is under twenty-one years of age, with spirituous liquor in the person's body. 
2. The manner in which the person refused to submit to the test or tests. 
3. That the person was advised of the consequences of refusal. 
F. On receipt of the certified report of refusal and a copy of the order of suspension and on the effective 
date stated on the order, the department shall enter the order of suspension on its records unless a written 
request for a hearing as provided in this section has been filed by the accused person. If the department 
receives only the certified report of refusal, the department shall notify the person named in the report in 
writing sent by mail that: 
1. Fifteen days after the date of issuance of the notice the department will suspend the person's license or 
permit, driving privilege or nonresident driving privilege. 
2. The department will provide an opportunity for a hearing if the person requests a hearing in writing and 
the request is received by the department within fifteen days after the notice is sent. 
G. The order of suspension issued by a law enforcement officer or the department under this section shall 
notify the person that: 
1. The person may submit a written request for a hearing. 
2. The request for a hearing must be received by the department within fifteen days after the date of the 
notice or the order of suspension will become final. 
3. The affected person's license or permit to drive or right to apply for a license or permit or any 
nonresident operating privilege will be suspended for twelve months from that date or for two years from 
that date for a second or subsequent refusal within a period of eighty-four months. 
H. The order for suspension shall: 
1. Be accompanied by printed forms that are ready to mail to the department and that may be filled out 
and signed by the person to indicate the person's desire for a hearing. 
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2. Advise the person that unless the person has surrendered any driver license or permit issued by this 
state the person's hearing request will not be accepted, except that the person may certify pursuant to 
section 28-3170 that the license or permit is lost or destroyed. 
I. On the receipt of a request for a hearing, the department shall set the hearing within thirty days in the 
county in which the person named in the report resides unless the law enforcement agency filing the 
certified report of refusal pursuant to subsection D of this section requests at the time of its filing that the 
hearing be held in the county where the refusal occurred. 
J. A timely request for a hearing stays the suspension until a hearing is held, except that the department 
shall not return any surrendered license or permit to the person but may issue temporary permits to drive 
that expire no later than when the department has made its final decision. If the person is a resident 
without a license or permit or has an expired license or permit, the department may allow the person to 
apply for a license or permit. If the department determines the person is otherwise entitled to the license 
or permit, the department shall issue and retain a license or permit subject to this section. 
K. Hearings requested under this section shall be conducted in the same manner and under the same 
conditions as provided in section 28-3306. For the purposes of this section, the scope of the hearing shall 
include only the issues of whether: 
1. A law enforcement officer had reasonable grounds to believe that the person was driving or was in 
actual physical control of a motor vehicle in this state either: 
(a) While under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs. 
(b) If the person is under twenty-one years of age, with spirituous liquor in the person's body. 
2. The person was placed under arrest. 
3. The person refused to submit to the test. 
4. The person was informed of the consequences of refusal. 
L. If the department determines at the hearing to suspend the affected person's privilege to operate a 
motor vehicle, the suspension provided in this section is effective fifteen days after giving written notice 
of the suspension, except that the department may issue or extend a temporary license that expires on the 
effective date of the suspension. If the person is a resident without a license or permit or has an expired 
license or permit to operate a motor vehicle in this state, the department shall deny to the person the 
issuance of a license or permit for a period of twelve months after the order of suspension becomes 
effective or for a period of two years after the order of suspension becomes effective for a second or 
subsequent refusal within a period of eighty-four months. 
M. If the suspension order is sustained after the hearing, a motion for rehearing is not required. Within 
thirty days after a suspension order is sustained, the affected person may file a petition in the superior 
court to review the final order of suspension or denial by the department in the same manner provided in 
section 28-3317. The court shall hear the review of the final order of suspension or denial on an expedited 
basis. 
N. If the suspension or determination that there should be a denial of issuance is not sustained, the ruling 
is not admissible in and has no effect on any administrative, civil or criminal court proceeding. 
O. If it has been determined under the procedures of this section that a nonresident's privilege to operate a 
motor vehicle in this state has been suspended, the department shall give information in writing of the 
action taken to the motor vehicle administrator of the state of the person's residence and of any state in 
which the person has a license. 
P. After completing not less than ninety consecutive days of the period of suspension required by this 
section, a person whose driving privilege is suspended pursuant to this section may apply to the 
department for a special ignition interlock restricted driver license pursuant to section 28-1401. Unless the 
certified ignition interlock period is extended by the department pursuant to section 28-1402, a person 
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who is issued a special ignition interlock restricted driver license as provided in this subsection shall 
maintain a functioning certified ignition interlock device in compliance with this chapter during the 
remaining period of the suspension prescribed by this section. This subsection does not apply to a person 
whose driving privilege is suspended for a second or subsequent refusal within a period of eighty-four 
months or a person who within a period of eighty-four months has been convicted of a second or 
subsequent violation of article 3 of this chapter or section 4-244, paragraph 33 or an act in another 
jurisdiction that if committed in this state would be a violation of article 3 of this chapter or section 4-244, 
paragraph 33. 
 
28-1381. Driving or actual physical control while under the influence; trial by jury; presumptions; 
admissible evidence; sentencing; classification 
A. It is unlawful for a person to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle in this state under any 
of the following circumstances: 
1. While under the influence of intoxicating liquor, any drug, a vapor releasing substance containing a 
toxic substance or any combination of liquor, drugs or vapor releasing substances if the person is 
impaired to the slightest degree. 
2. If the person has an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more within two hours of driving or being in 
actual physical control of the vehicle and the alcohol concentration results from alcohol consumed either 
before or while driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle. 
3. While there is any drug defined in section 13-3401 or its metabolite in the person's body. 
4. If the vehicle is a commercial motor vehicle that requires a person to obtain a commercial driver license 
as defined in section 28-3001 and the person has an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more. 
 
28-1382. Driving or actual physical control while under the extreme influence of intoxicating liquor; trial 
by jury; sentencing; classification 
(L07, Ch. 219, sec. 2) 
A. It is unlawful for a person to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle in this state if the person 
has an alcohol concentration of 0.15 or more within two hours of driving or being in actual physical 
control of the vehicle and the alcohol concentration results from alcohol consumed either before or while 
driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle. 
B. A person who is convicted of a violation of this section is guilty of driving or being in actual physical 
control of a vehicle while under the extreme influence of intoxicating liquor. 
 
 
28-3392. Defensive driving school; eligibility 
A. A court: 
1. Shall allow an individual who is issued a citation for a civil traffic moving violation pursuant to chapter 
3, articles 2, 3, 4 and 6 through 15 of this title or a local civil traffic ordinance relating to the same subject 
matter to attend a defensive driving school for the purposes provided in this article. 
2. Except as prescribed in subsection C of this section, may allow an individual who is issued a citation 
for a violation of section 28-701.02 to attend a defensive driving school. 
B. A person who attends a defensive driving school pursuant to this article is not eligible to attend a 
defensive driving school again within twenty-four months from the day of the last violation for which the 
person was authorized by this article to attend a defensive driving school. 
C. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section: 
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1. An individual who commits a civil or criminal traffic violation resulting in death or serious physical 
injury is not eligible to attend a defensive driving school, except that the court may order the individual to 
attend a defensive driving school in addition to another sentence imposed by the court on an adjudication 
or admission of the traffic violation. 
2. If a commercial driver license holder is found guilty or responsible for a moving violation, the court 
may require the violator to attend defensive driving school as an element of sentence, but may not dismiss 
the conviction or finding of responsibility and shall report the conviction or finding of responsibility to 
the department as prescribed in section 28-1559. A commercial driver license holder is not eligible for the 
defensive driving diversion program. 
 
28-3395. Supreme court authority and duties; rules; record 
B. The supreme court shall: 
1. Supervise the use of defensive driving schools by the courts in this state. 
2. Make public the amount of the court diversion fee assessed by each court in this state pursuant to this 
article and the total cost to attend a defensive driving school in each court. 
3. Establish an automated statewide database for keeping a record of persons who attend a defensive 
driving school. 
4. Adopt rules that establish criteria for the certification of qualified defensive driving schools and 
instructors used by the courts. 
5. Establish procedures for courts and schools to remit reports that are required by the supreme court. 
6. Certify and monitor defensive driving schools and instructors that serve as a court authorized diversion 
program. 
7. Require that a defensive driving school class not exceed a total of four and one-half hours, including 
any testing, reviewing and grading related to the defensive driving school class. 
 
 
ALSO: 
  
Arizona Driver License Manual (and Customer Service Guide) 
http://www.azdot.gov/mvd/MenuFormsandPubs.asp 
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