2018 Rules Summary

2018 Court Rules

Court Services Division
Administrative Office of the Courts

This document summarizes new court rules and rule amendments adopted by the Arizona
Supreme Court during its August and December 2018 rules agendas. The summary includes
potential impacts for several of these rule changes.

e Rule petition numbers in this summary (e.g., R-18-0000) include a hyperlink to the
Court’s Order promulgating the new or amended rule. Each Order contains the full text
of the changes, and readers can click on the hyperlink to review the text.

e The effective date of rule changes in this 2018 summary is January 1, 2019, except as
noted in the summary.

e This summary includes most rule changes affecting trial courts, but it does not include
every rule change. It does not include rule changes regarding the practice of law or the
admission to practice, or that concern judicial discipline, and it excludes some rule
changes previously adopted on a temporary basis. See the Court’s August 27, 2018 and
December 12, 2018 minutes, and the Court’s recent rules amendments webpage for
further information concerning rules on these and other topics.

Please contact Mark Meltzer by telephone at (602) 452-3242 or by e-mail at
MMeltzer@courts.az.gov if you have any questions.
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Rules of Civil Procedure

Rule

Affects

Summary and Impact

Rule 26(b)(4)

R-18-0007

Superior

Judges

Summary: The amendments to Rule 26(b)(4) conform state
practice with federal practice on the discoverability of draft
expert reports and communications between parties’
attorneys and experts. The amendments do not permit
discovery of experts’ drafts and communications not falling
within the identified categories and that are unlikely to bear
upon the soundness of experts’ final opinions, assumptions,
and methodologies.

Impact: Judges might consult this amended rule when
discovery disputes arise regarding experts’ reports and
experts’ communications with counsel. Note that consistent
with Rule 81(b) of the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure,
the amendments apply not only to cases filed after January
1, 2019, but also to cases pending on that date unless the
parties agree otherwise or the court rules that their
application “would be infeasible or work an injustice.”

Rules 62 and 69
+ ARCAP 7

R-18-0017

Superior

Judges
Clerks
Administrators

Summary: The amendments to Civil Rule 62 provide that
“execution on a judgment and proceedings to enforce it are
stayed for 15 days after its entry unless the court orders
otherwise. During the 15-day period, unless and until a
bond or other security is posted, a party may record a
judgment.” There are special provisions for cases involving
injunctions or receiverships. The amendments to Rule 69
allow post-judgment discovery, including discovery from
the judgment debtor, under specified circumstances.

The amendments to ARCAP 7 include a process for setting
a bond and objecting to the bond. “Bond” i1s defined to
include types of court-ordered security other than a
supersedeas bond. When setting the amount of the bond in
a case involving monetary damages, the amendments to
ARCAP 7 provide that one of the three potential ceilings on
the bond amount includes not only damages (the current
rule) but also costs, attorney’s fees, and prejudgment
interest that are included in the judgment. For a family court
judgment, the court will be required to take “into account
the judgment as a whole and whether requiring a bond
would impose an undue hardship.”
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Impact: Unless the motion for a supersedeas bond is
uncontested, the court must hold a hearing. There are new
provisions in ARCAP 7 for setting a bond when a judgment
is for recovery of real property or for execution of an
instrument or the sale of perishable property, and for family
court judgments and other non-monetary judgments. The
amendments to ARCAP 7 include provisions regarding
objections to the bond or other security. The court may
order a party to deposit “other security” with the superior
court clerk.

Rules 38, 39,
49, 77, and 84

R-18-0018

Superior

Judges
Clerks
Administrators

Summary: Under an amendment that went into effect on
January 1, 2017, parties in medical malpractice cases need
not file a demand for jury trial. Instead, it is presumed that
the parties in those cases desire a jury trial, and that they are
able to “affirmatively waive the right to a jury trial by filing
a written stipulation, signed by all parties, at any time after
the action is commenced, but no later than 30 days before
the trial is scheduled to begin.”

This most recent amendment to Rule 38 provides that in all
civil cases—not just medical malpractice cases—parties
must affirmatively waive their right to a jury trial rather
than affirmatively assert that right through a written
demand. The waiver must be a written stipulation, signed
by all parties who will appear at trial. The parties may file
the waiver at any time after the action is commenced, but
no later than 30 days before the trial is scheduled to begin.
The stipulation may not be combined with any other motion
or pleading. In the stipulation/waiver, the parties may
specify any issues they wish to have tried by a jury;
otherwise, the parties will be deemed to have waived trial
by a jury on all issues.

Impact: These amendments might result in more cases
being set for trial by jury and require the court to summon
more individuals for jury duty. Note that consistent with
Rule 81(b) of the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure, the
amendments apply not only to cases filed after January 1,
2019, but also to cases pending on that date unless the
parties agree otherwise or the court rules that their
application “would be infeasible or work an injustice.”
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Rule 8.1

R-18-0033

Superior

Judges
Clerks
Administrators

Summary: Rule 8.1, the rule concerning commercial
courts, was previously an experimental rule. This Order
permanently adopted Rule 8.1 and various amendments,
effective January 1, 2019. A significant amendment
provides that “a case that seeks only monetary relief in an
amount less than $300,000 is not eligible for the
commercial court.” I.e., going forward, only tier 3 cases
are eligible if only monetary relief is sought. Note that the
exclusion does not apply to cases seeking less than
$300,000 if the plaintiff also is seeking injunctive or
declaratory relief.

Impact: Although Maricopa County is the only county with
a specialized program for commercial cases, a new Rule
8.1(g) provides, “The case management procedures in Rule
8.1(e) are available to any judge who finds those procedures
beneficial, wholly or partially, in managing a commercial
case that is not assigned to the commercial court, or that is
pending in a county that has not established a commercial
court.” Also note that the $300,000 eligibility floor for
cases seeking only monetary relief applies only to cases
filed on or after January 1, 2019.

Rules of Criminal Procedure

Rule Affects Summary and Impact

Rules 11.5 and Superior Summary: The new amendments to Rules 11.5 and 11.6 fall

11.6 Justice into one of three categories:
Municipal

R-18-0012 (1) substantive changes that permit a limited jurisdiction court
Judges to order restoration treatment if the defendant is found
Clerks incompetent but restorable [Rule 11.5(b)(2): “if authorized by

Administrators

the presiding judge of the superior court, order competency
restoration treatment.”];

(2) clarifying language that delineates the differences between
what a limited jurisdiction court and the superior court may
do if a defendant is found incompetent and not restorable
[Rule 11.5(b)(3): a limited jurisdiction court may dismiss the
case on the State’s motion, or transfer the case to superior
court for further proceedings]; and

(3) clarifications to timeframes for the restoration of

competency treatment orders [in Rule 11.5(b)(3): “If the
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superior court determines that the defendant is incompetent
and that there is no substantial probability that the defendant
will become competent within 21 months or within the
defendant’s maximum possible sentence as defined by A.R.S.
§ 13-4515, whichever is less,..;” or in a limited jurisdiction
court, “that there is no substantial probability that the
defendant will become competent within the timeframes as
defined in A.R.S. § 13-4515.”

Impact: In addition to the changes noted above, judges should
be aware that at subsequent Rule 11 hearings, there is a new
time limitation, as follows: “If the court determines that there
is a substantial probability that the defendant will regain
competence in the foreseeable future, then the court may
renew and may modify the treatment order for no more than
an additional 180 days or the time period provided for the
defendant’s maximum possible sentence by A.R.S. § 13-
4515, whichever is less.”

Rule 1.6(b)(1)(E)

R-18-0022

Appellate
Superior
Justice
Municipal

Judges
Clerks
Administrators

Summary: Certain rules provide word limits for court filings,
which are readily ascertainable for electronically filed
documents. But it is difficult to do a word count for
handwritten documents. This amendment therefore specifies
that the number of pages in handwritten briefs and other
filings must not exceed the number of words specified in a
rule, divided by 280. Also, a handwritten submission to an
appellate court must include an original and one copy.

Impact: Rule 1.6 is a rule of general application, and it
applies to filings in criminal cases at all levels of the court.

Note that this rule amendment was adopted on an emergency
basis by order dated February 14, 2018. The rule has now
been permanently adopted.

Rules 24.3 and
26.12

+ Rule 24.1,
Rules for Civil
Traffic and Civil
Boating
Violations

R-18-0026

Superior
Justice
Municipal

Judges
Clerks
Administrators

Summary: These amendments were proposed by the Court’s
Fair Justice for All Task Force. The amendment to Rule 24.3
(“modification of sentence”) adds a new section (b) that
permits the court, subject to Rule 39 on victims’ rights, to
mitigate a monetary obligation imposed at sentencing. Rule
26.12 deals with the defendant’s compliance with monetary
and non-monetary terms of a sentence. The amendments to
that rule permit the court to mitigate all or part of a monetary
obligation if the defendant’s default on the obligation is not
willful and the defendant is unable to pay it. In determining
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whether to find the defendant in contempt, the amendment
excludes from the defendant’s income TANF, SSI, SSDI, and
veteran’s disability compensation. The amendment to the
traffic rule permits the court to mitigate a monetary obligation
as provided by specified Title 28 statutes.

Impact: These rule changes effectuate policies underlying
recent legislation and clarify that courts are permitted to
mitigate certain monetary obligations contained in criminal
sentences and civil traffic judgments - even after the sentence
is pronounced. These changes should enable the courts to deal
more effectively with individuals in the justice system who
are experiencing serious financial challenges.

Rules 26.11, 29,
30, and 41

R-18-0028

Superior
Justice
Municipal

Judges
Clerks
Administrators

Summary: Rules 26.11, 29, and 41 were amended, and Rule
30 was adopted, on an emergency basis effective July 1, 2018,
On December 13, 2018, these changes were made permanent
effective immediately.

The Court’s Fair Justice for All Task Force initially proposed
statutory amendments, which subsequently became HB 2312,
adopted by Laws 2018, Chapter 83. These amendments
primarily impacted A.R.S. § 13-907, which concerns setting
aside a judgment of conviction.

The amendments to Rule 26.11 requires that the court at the
time of sentencing notify the defendant of the right to apply
for a set aside of the conviction.

The amendments to Rule 29 modified the process for applying
for, and entering an order for, a set aside. New Rule 30
separates from former Rule 29 the process for the restoration
of civil rights. These rule amendments stemmed from the
statutory amendments.

In Rule 41 (“forms”):

- Current Form 21 (an application to restore civil rights
and set aside the conviction) is abrogated

- Current Form 21(a) (an application for a sex
trafficking victim to set aside a conviction for
prostitution) is renumbered as Form 21

- A new Form 31(a) is an application to set aside a
conviction, which includes the restoration of gun
rights
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- A new Form 31(b) is an order regarding the
application to set aside the conviction and restore gun
rights

- A new Form 32(a) is an application to restore civil
rights and gun rights

- A new Form 32(b) is the order regarding the
application to restore civil rights and gun rights

Impact:

The sentencing script should now include an advisal of the
right to apply for a set aside.

Clerks should assure that defendants who apply to set aside a
conviction or the restoration of civil rights use the correct
form.

Rule 29.6 and 30.6 include factors for the court’s
consideration of these applications. A hearing on an
application, if scheduled, must occur within 120 after the
application was filed. A victim has the right to be present and
to be heard. On an application to restore civil rights, the
applicant must prove by clear and convincing evidence that he
or she likely will not act in a manner dangerous to the public’s
safety, and that granting the requested relief is not contrary to
the public interest. If the court denies an application, it must
state its reasons in writing. The clerk must transmit orders to
the applicant, the prosecutor, and the Department of Public
Safety.

Rules 4.2 and 7.2

R-18-0031

Superior
Justice
Municipal

Judges
Clerks
Administrators

Summary: These rules were amended on an emergency basis
effective July 1, 2018, and on December 13, 2018, were
adopted on a permanent basis effective immediately.

Rule 4.2 concerns the initial appearance. Rule 7.2 concerns
the right to release. The amendments to both of these rules
deleted references to “a sexual assault.”

Article 2, § 22 of the Arizona Constitution provides that
defendants charged with sexual assault are not bailable when
the proof is evident, or the presumption is great. A pair of
court opinions (State v Wein and State v Miller) invalidated
the constitutional provision, and these rule amendments
implement those opinions.
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Impact: In making determinations at the initial appearance or
at other times prior to conviction, the court must apply the
same criteria to sexual assault charges as it does to other
felony charges, except capital crimes.

Rule 15.3(a)
R-18-0035

This petition was
opened for public
comments until
May 1, 2019.

Superior
Justice
Municipal

Judges

Summary: This Court entered this Order on an expedited
basis on October 24, 2018, at the request of prosecutors who
alleged that the recent restyling of this rule changing “those
excluded by Rule 39(b)” to “victims” had the unintended
consequence of precluding a prosecutor’s deposition of a
victim. The Order reverts the language to what existed before
restyling, which has the practical effect of permitting the State
to depose a victim.

Impact: Information only.

Rules of the Supreme Court (“SCR”)

Rule Affects Summary and Impact
Rule 123 Appellate Summary: This rule amendment provides that if the court
Superior provides remote electronic access to case records for
R-17-0043 Justice attorneys, it also must provide access to self-represented
Municipal litigants, although the court may limit that access to records
in the self-represented litigant’s own case. Note that the
Judges rule reflects the provisions of a recently amended statute.
Clerks 2017 Ariz. Legis. Serv. Ch. 51 § 1 (West) (amending
Administrators | A.R.S. 8 12-284.02(A)).
Impact: If not already in place, courts should develop a
process for providing access to self-represented litigants in
these circumstances, including, if necessary and
appropriate, a registration process for those litigants.
Rule 28 Appellate Summary: The amended rule informs the court community
Superior and the public about how to file a rule petition, a comment
R-18-0002 Justice to a petition, and a reply. Changes to this rule include:
Municipal
- Restyled text to conform to the restyling regime
Judges used in other updated court rules.
Clerks - Prioritizing electronic filing as the primary means

Administrators

of filing, and emphasis on using the Court Rules
Forum.
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- Still allowing paper filing with the Clerk’s office to
make participation in the rules process possible for
those who do not have internet access.

Impact: Note the change in the timeline of the annual rules
cycle. The date for filing a rule petition remains January
10. The deadline for submitting comments was moved
from May 20 to May 1, and the deadline for filing replies
to the comments from June 30 to June 1. This schedule
should allow the Court sufficient time during the summer
months to analyze the petitions and comments while
affording the public more than three months to comment
on petitions submitted by January 10.

Court consideration of petitions under current Rule 28(F)
is fixed in September, but the Court has scheduled its
annual rules agenda in late August for the last several
years. Amended Rule 28(g) accordingly provides for the
annual rules agenda to occur in “August or September of
each year” to allow for scheduling flexibility. That rule
also recognizes that the Court may continue its
consideration of a rule petition to a later date.

Rule 123 +
Juvenile Rules
19, 47, 75, and
86

R-18-0005

Appellate
Superior
Justice
Municipal

Judges
Clerks
Administrators

Summary: These amendments give juvenile court parties,
participants, the clerk of court, and superior court judges
more detail on access to juvenile court matters than is
currently available in court rule.

Some of the amendments are in Supreme Court Rule
123(d) (“access to case records”). The title of subpart
(d)(1) has been changed from “juvenile delinquency
proceedings records” to “juvenile records.” This provision
now provides, in part:

“(A) AIl records of delinquency and incorrigibility,
emancipation, and guardianship under ARS Title 14
proceedings are open to the public to the extent provided
for in the Rules of Procedure for the Juvenile Court, the
Arizona Rules of Probate Procedure, or by law.

“(B) All records of proceedings under Rule 47.3, Rules of
Procedure for the Juvenile Court, dependency,
guardianship under ARS § 8-871 through 8-874,
termination of parental rights, adoption, and other related
proceedings are confidential and must be withheld from
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public inspection unless authorized by law, rule, or court
order.”

In a Rule 123(g) (“remote electronic access to court
records”) subpart concerning the general public, the

following deletion was made: “Juvenile dependency—and
delingueney-or-other matters brought under ARS Title 8.”

Juvenile Rule 19 refers to records “identified” [rather than
“marked”] as confidential “by law, rule, or court order.”
Rule 47 includes extensive amendments concerning who
may inspect juvenile court records without a court order
and when a court order is required to access records, based
on the role of the individual requesting access. Rules 75
and 86 contain amendments concerning adoption records.

Impact: Clerks, judges, and court administrators should
assure that processes are in place that allow access to
records as provided by these rule amendments, and that
individuals provide appropriate orders to the clerk, when
necessary, before they are given access to those records.

Arizona Rules of Evidence

Rule Affects Summary and Impact
Rule 807 Superior Summary: Rule 807 is the residual exception to the rule
Justice against hearsay. This amendment conforms Arizona’s rule
R-18-0003 Municipal to a change in the federal rule.
Judges Four primary concerns prompted the federal rule change.

First, the requirement that the court find trustworthiness
“equivalent” to the circumstantial guarantees in the Rule
803 and 804 exceptions was difficult to apply, because
there is no unitary standard of trustworthiness in the Rule
803 and 804 exceptions. Second, there was no requirement
in the former rule that courts consider corroborating
evidence. Third, the requirements in Rule 807 that the
residual hearsay must be proof of a “material fact” and that
admission of residual hearsay be in “the interests of justice”
and consistent with the “purpose of the rules” did not serve
any helpful purpose. Fourth, the notice requirement in the
former rule was problematic and was improved by, among
other things, requiring that the notice be in writing.
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The conforming changes to Arizona’s Rule 807 therefore
include the following:

- Adding to the requirements of section (a): “the
court determines that it [the residual hearsay
statement] is supported by sufficient guarantees of
trustworthiness—after considering the totality of
circumstances under which it was made and any
evidence corroborating the statement;”

- Deleting in section (a) provisions that: i-is-effered
o ﬁ ial fact. and admitting it will
best serve the purposes of these rules and the

. uctics.

- Adding to the notice provisions in section (b) that
the statement is admissible only if the proponent
gives an adverse party reasonable notice of an intent
to offer the statement—including its substance and
the declarant’s name—so0 that the party has a fair
opportunity to meet it. The notice must be provided
in_writing before the trial or hearing—or in any
form during the trial or hearing if the court, for good
cause, excuses a lack of earlier notice.

Impact: Information only.

Rules 1001,
1002, 1004,
1006, 1007,
1008 + Criminal
Rules 15.1, 15.2,
15.3 + Juvenile
Rules 16, 44, 73
+ RPEA 10

R-18-0008

Superior
Justice
Municipal

Judges

Summary: A Supreme Court Task Force on digital
evidence found that the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure
was the only rule set that expressly addressed disclosure of
truly digital evidence. The Task Force therefore did not
suggest changes to the Civil Procedure Rules, but it did
recommend changes to other procedural rule sets, which
the Court adopted.

Evidence Rules: In addition to the current definitions of
“photograph” and “recording,” the Evidence Rules now
include a definition of “video” in Rule 1001: “A ‘video’ is
an electronic visual medium for the recording, copying,
playback, broadcasting, or displaying of moving images,
which may or may not contain an audio recording.”
“Video” also was added to Rules 1002, 1004, 1006, 1007,
and 1008.

Page 11 of 17


https://www.azcourts.gov/Portals/20/2018%20Aug%20Rules/R180008.pdf?ver=2018-08-28-153051-013

2018 Rules Summary

Criminal _Rules: The term “electronically stored
information” was added to disclosure requirements in
Rules 15.1, 15.2, and 15.3. (“Electronically stored
information” is the term used in the Civil Rules.)

Juvenile Rules: The term “electronically stored
information” has similarly been added to Juvenile Rules
16, 44, and 73 concerning disclosure and discovery.

Eviction Rules: Eviction Rule 10 also has a disclosure
provision, but these amendments add to that provision the
phrase, “including any electronically stored information.”

Impact: Information only.

Rules of Family Law Procedure (“FLR”)

Rule Affects Summary and Impact
All Superior Summary: The Supreme Court’s Task Force on the
Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure filed this rule
R-17-0054 Judges petition. The Court’s Order abrogated the existing Rules
Clerks of Family Law Procedure (colloquially referred to as

Administrators

“ARFLP”) and replaced them with these new family law
rules (referred to as “FLR”). The Order retains the current
forms, except that Form 6 was abrogated and replaced with
a new Form 6 titled “default information for spousal
maintenance.”

All the rules have been restyled. The 2019 version of the
FLR adds informative titles and subheadings, which should
make rules and sections easier to locate. To enhance clarity
and reflect current usage, some provisions have been
abrogated, relocated, consolidated, bifurcated, or presented
in a different sequence. The restyled rules attempt to use
clearer language, uniform formatting, and consistent
terminology.

Impact: The FLR also includes substantive changes. The
substantive changes are too numerous to list in this rules
summary. However, a prefatory comment to the FLR,
found before Rule 1, provides an overview of many of
those changes. Click on the link to R-17-0054 in the
column to the left to review the prefatory comment. A
recent article in the January 2019 issue of the Arizona
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Attorney also highlights these changes and provides a link
to a comprehensive PowerPoint presentation on those
changes. Click here for the January 2019 issue.

Rules of Procedure for the Juvenile Court

Rule Affects Summary and Impact
Rules 19, 47, 75, | Superior See the discussion of R-18-0005 under the Rules of the
and 86 Supreme Court above.
Judges
R-18-0005 Clerks
Administrators
Rules 1 and 31 | Superior Summary: The Court granted these amendments on an
emergency basis on June 8, 2018. They have now been
R-18-0029 Judges adopted in final form. These amendments modify rules to
Clerks mirror changes made by Laws 2018, Chap. 301, HB 2356.
Administrators | HB 2356 provides that, on notice by the State, a juvenile
court must retain jurisdiction over a person who is at least
17 years old, and who has been adjudicated delinquent,
until the person turns 19, unless the court terminates its
jurisdiction earlier, the person is discharged earlier by the
Department of Juvenile Corrections, the juvenile is charged
as an adult with an offense described in A.R.S. 8 13-501,
or for other specified reasons. The pertinent statute is
A.R.S. § 8-202(H).
Impact: The State may file a notice of intent to retain
jurisdiction for specified juvenile proceedings. The court’s
case management system will need to accommodate these
notices, which will extend the court’s jurisdiction in those
cases until the juvenile’s nineteenth birthday.
Rule 47.3 Superior Summary: Rule 47.3 concerns court authorized removal of
a child. On June 8, 2018, the Court adopted amendments to
R-18-0030 Judges Rule 47.3 on an emergency basis effective July 1, 2018.
Clerks After a comment period, the amendments have been

Administrators

adopted in final form. These amendments implement
changes to A.R.S. 8 8-821 enacted by Laws 2018, Chapter
191, SB 1395. These rule amendments:

- In various sections, delete the phrase “ex parte;”
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- In section (B), change the applicant’s burden of
proof from ‘“reasonable grounds” to ‘“probable
cause;”

- In section (C), allow the judicial officer reviewing
the application to consider information, including
oral information, other than the application, but the
information must be in writing or be by a recorded
oral statement that is made under oath

Impact: The court order must state whether there is
probable cause (rather than reasonable grounds) to believe
that “authorization of temporary custody” is necessary
(rather than to be believe “ex parte temporary custody” is
necessary.) A similar change is made regarding an order
for an Indian child. A provision that requires the applicant
to provide a copy of the application and order to a parent
or custodian may be excused if disclosure of the documents
would cause harm or violate other provisions of state or
federal law.

Rules of Probate Procedure

Rule Affects Summary and Impact
Rule 28.1 Superior Summary: At its August 2018 Rules Agenda, the Court
entered Rules Order No. R-18-0018 and modified Civil
R-18-0039 Judges Rule 38(b). [See the summary of R-18-0018 under the Civil
Clerks Rules.] The modified rule, which became effective on

This petition has
been opened for
comments, which
are due by May
1, 20109.

Administrators

January 1, 2019, replaced the current title, “demand,” with
the new title of “waiver,” and provided that parties are
deemed to have waived a right to trial by jury “only if they
affirmatively waive that right.” However, many individuals
who are the subject of guardianship and conservatorship
proceedings lack the capacity to knowingly and
intelligently waive that right.

Rather than waive a jury trial, as new Civil Procedure Rule
38(b) would require, Probate Rule 28.1 requires a party to
a guardianship petition — and a party to a conservatorship
petition, to the extent the right to a jury exists — to
affirmatively demand a jury trial. In the absence of a
demand, the alleged incapacitated person would have a
trial to the court.
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https://www.azcourts.gov/Portals/20/2018%20Rules/R-18-0039-FINAL%20RULES%20ORDER.pdf?ver=2018-12-14-085404-127

2018 Rules Summary

The Court adopted this rule on an emergency basis,
effective January 1, 2019. It is open for comments until
May 1, 2019.

Impact: A party in a guardianship or conservatorship
proceeding must make a timely demand — i.e., within 30
days after the initial hearing on a petition - to preserve any
right the party might have to a jury trial.

Rules of Procedure for Eviction Actions (“RPEA”)

Rule Affects Summary and Impact

Rules 5 and 13 Superior Summary: Under the housing voucher program, which
Justice affects tens of thousands of Arizona tenants, a tenant is not

R-18-0020 obliged to the pay the public entity’s portion of the rent.
Judges The tenant therefore should not be sued for the subsidized
Clerks portion of unpaid rent.

Administrators

The amendments to RPEA 5 concern the complaint: first,
the complaint must “state that the action involves a
subsidized rental property if the action involves a
subsidized rental property;” and second, “if the rental is a
subsidized housing unit, the landlord must state the total
amount of the rent per month, the tenant’s portion of the
monthly rent and the total amount of the tenant’s portion
of the rent that the tenant owes.”

The amendment to Rule 13 concerns the entry of judgment.
It requires the court, “if the court determines that the rental
property is subsidized, [to] determine whether there is
unpaid rent that the tenant is obligated to pay as the
tenant’s portion of the rent.”

Impact: These amendments should preclude a landlord
from obtaining possession of a unit if a tenant has met his
or her obligations to pay their portion of the rent. The
tenant should not be adversely affected by the housing
program’s failure to pay its apportionment of the
subsidized rent.
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2018 Rules Summary

Miscellaneous Rules

Rule Affects Summary and Impact
JCRCP Rule Justice Summary: This amendment conforms JCRCP 113(i) to
113(i) Civil Rule 4(i) and allows the court to dismiss a complaint
Judges as to any defendant who has not been served with the
R-17-0033 Clerks summons and complaint within ninety (90) days after the
Administrators | filing date of the complaint. The time period was
previously 120 days.
Impact: Justice court administrative processes should
reflect the shortened time for dismissing a complaint that
has not been served.
JRAD Rule 13 Appellate Summary: This amendment clarifies that an appeal from a
Superior decision of the Superior Court in an administrative appeal
R-18-0011 should be to the Arizona Court of Appeals in the first
Judges instance rather than to the Arizona Supreme Court.
Clerks

Administrators

Impact: Information only.

Rule Petitions That Were Continued

Petition Number and Rule

Summary

R-18-0004

Supreme Court Rule 31(d)

The petition asks the Court to simplify and reorganize the
provisions of Rule 31(d) [exemptions concerning the authority to
practice law], and to expand the circumstances when privately
held corporations could represent themselves in court
proceedings.

See further Supreme Court Administrative Order No. 2018-111,
which established a Task Force on the Delivery of Legal
Services. One of the goals of the Task Force is restyling and
revising Rule 31(d).
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2018 Rules Summary

Rule Petitions That Were Denied

Petition Number and Rule

Summary

Supreme Court Rule 30

R-18-0010

This petition requested an amendment to Supreme Court Rule 30
that would have given courts the discretion to deny requests for
certified reporters in proceedings where a certified reporter was
not mandatory under a statute or rule, and there was not a certified
reporter available.

Civil Rules 11 and
26(b)(2)(D)

R-17-0050

The petition contended that amendments to Rules 11 and 26
unanimously recommended by the Court’s Committee on Civil
Justice Reform in rule petition number R-17-0010, and which
received little opposition during the comment period, were
improvidently omitted from the Court’s Order adopting the
Committee’s proposed rules.

Criminal Rule 7

R-17-0037

A recent Rules Order (R-16-0041) amended the bond provisions
of Rule 7. This petition sought to repeal or modify those previous
amendments.

Criminal Rule 39

R-18-0001

The petition requested “a comprehensive approach to victims’
rights” and “full integration into the rules in a way that instructs
trial courts and attorneys what the Victims’ Bill of Rights
mandates in each situation.” The petition proposed to abrogate
Criminal Rule 39 and to instead relocate enumerated rights within
other rules.

Family Law Rule
65(A)(2)(b)

R-18-0019

The petition would have applied sanctions available for other
discovery and disclosure deficiencies to the failure to appear for
a properly noticed deposition and a failure to respond to a Request
for Production of Documents.

Family Law Rule 95

R-18-0023

The petition proposed the abrogation of portions of Rule 95 to
align that rule with Rules 72 and 74 concerning masters and
parenting coordinators.
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