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Post-Conviction Actions Task Force 
Minutes 
 
Tuesday, July 10, 2018 
Established by A.O. No. 2018-52 
 
 
 
Present:  Jerry Landau, Chair; Kurt Altman; Alex Benezra; Cathy Clarich; Mirisue Galindo; Jeremy 
Mussman (proxy Joe Cappellini); Aaron Nash; Tom O’Connell; Leonard Ruiz; Judge Keith Russell; 
Amber Sliwinski; Mikel Steinfeld 
 
Appearing Telephonically:  Judge Sam Myers; Judge Antonio Riojas 
 
Absent:  Julie Ahlquist; Colleen Clase; Kirstin Flores; Jeremy Ford; Will Gaona; Ryan Glover; Judge 
John Hudson; Sandra Hunter; Donald Jacobson; Lisa Royal; Kathy Waters 
 
Presenters/Guests:  Jennifer Carstens; Judge Kathleen Quigley (telephonic); Art Glenberg 
 
Staff:  Theresa Barrett; Jennifer Greene; Susan Pickard; Kathy Sekardi 
 

Welcome and Introductions 
 
Jerry Landau, Chair, welcomed the members.  He briefly discussed Administrative Order (A.O.) 2018-
52 that established the Task Force.  
 
Self-introductions were made by all who were in attendance either in person or on the telephone. 

Report from the Juvenile Adjudication Set Aside Subcommittee (formerly 
Workgroup) 
 
The minutes for this portion of the meeting are organized by code section, statute, then instructions 
and form.  Because the discussion moved from item to item and back again, all discussion related to 
an item is under that item’s heading and does not necessarily appear chronologically. 
 
Judge Kathleen Quigley, Juvenile Adjudication Set Aside Subcommittee Chair, presented proposed 
amendments to A.C.J.A. §3-402; and Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) §§ 8-348(B), 8-349(D), and 
13-912.01; and draft Instructions and an Application to Seal Juvenile Records and Application to Set 
Aside and Restore Right to Possess a Gun for use statewide. 
 
Action Item: The Task Force members agreed that the Juvenile Adjudication Set Aside Subcommittee 
should proceed with discussions and develop recommendations regarding presumptive record 
sealing and set aside. 
 

http://www.azcourts.gov/Portals/22/admorder/Orders18/2018-52.pdf
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A.C.J.A. §3-402: Superior Court Records Retention and Disposition Schedule  
 
The proposed code section would amend the length of time that the court must retain a juvenile 
delinquency record from 25 to 60 years.  Keeping the records for 60 years means the record is 
available to assist the person with explaining juvenile adjudications that can appear in a background 
check over the course of his or her lifetime. 
 
Comments: 
1. Paper records cannot always be protected and may not last 60 years. 
2. Electronic records must be migrated to the most recent software and hardware to be maintained. 
3. Records Retention Schedules:  

a. In the Superior Court, criminal case records are permanently maintained. 
b. In the Limited Jurisdiction Court, depending upon the nature of the offense, the case records 

are maintained for five to eight years. 
4. The Arizona Department of Public Safety maintains criminal history records for 99 years. 
5. If a case record has been destroyed and the defendant wants to pay fines, fees and restitution 

that is owed, there is no case number to which the clerk can apply the funds and no accounting 
to determine the remaining amount owed.  If the record is sealed, this issue does not exist, the 
accounting remains. 

6. What does a court do when an individual applies for a set aside and the court record, paper or 
electronic, no longer exists? 
a. This needs to be addressed with those who have record retention expertise. 
b. The code has been revised two to three times in the last 10 years, the issue has come up 

each time, but has not been addressed. 
7. In California, juvenile records are destroyed at age 35.  The juvenile has a right to request 

possession of the court file in lieu of destruction. 
8. Juvenile records are not on public access. 

 
Motion: To accept the proposed amendment to Arizona Code of Judicial Administration §3-402, 
Record Series Number 15, to retain juvenile delinquency case files for 60 years following the year 
the case was filed by Aaron Nash. 2nd: Kurt Altman Vote: Passed unanimously. 

A.R.S. §8-348: Setting aside adjudication; application; release from disabilities; 
exceptions 
 
The proposed statute would increase the juvenile court’s jurisdiction to 19 years of age in certain 
situations by adding subsection C.5. 
 
Comments: 
1. Another approach to extending the court’s jurisdiction, may be to amend the first sentence of 

subsection A to read “. . .a person who is at least eighteen or at least nineteen years of age if 
jurisdiction was extended…" 

2. Subsection B may need to be amended to mirror A.R.S. §13-907 in relation to the department of 
transportation. 

 
Action Item: Mr. Landau asked the members to take a close look at the whole of A.R.S. §8-348 and 
return to the next meeting with suggested amendments, if any. 
 
Motion: To accept A.R.S. §8-348(C)(5) as drafted by Judge Myers. 2nd: Mikel Steinfeld Vote: Passed 
unanimously. 



Post-Conviction Actions Task Force Minutes  Page 3 of 7 

 
A.R.S. §8-349: Destruction Sealing of juvenile records; electronic research records 
 
The proposed statute would: 
• amend the section title moving from destruction of the record to sealing the record. 
• increase the ability of a juvenile to address the record for purposes of clarifying a background 

check. 
• allow a juvenile who did not successfully terminate probation but has turned his or her life 

around, to apply to the court at age 21 to have his or her record sealed. 
• allow reconsideration of restitution owed when the juvenile turns 18 if there are extenuating 

circumstances. 
• limit consideration of fines, fees, and restitution for sealing purposes to those owed by the 

juvenile. 
• within six months of notification by the Superior Court that a person’s juvenile record is sealed, 

the Department of Child Safety shall destroy all delinquency court, juvenile probation, and 
Department of Juvenile Corrections records produced in the delinquency matter. 

• define sealing and limit the request to unseal the record to the person or the person’s 
conservator or guardian. 
 

Comments: 
1. Subsection (B)(5): 

a. Should begin with “All VICTIM restitution” to mirror the adult set aside.  The same language 
should be used in subsection (C)(6). 

b. The need to have “monetary assessments” paid in full was also removed as a barrier from 
the adult set aside statute. No objection to removing this language was expressed. 

2. A request to seal a case that was diverted will need a separate process.  Because when diversion 
is successful, the records are either maintained by juvenile probation or court administration. 

 
(Continued after lunch) 

Additional statutory considerations 

Designating an Undesignated Felony as a Class 6 Misdemeanor 
 
The workgroup requested guidance regarding developing a proposed statute that would extend 
juvenile court jurisdiction beyond age 18 or 19 to address undesignated felonies.  Currently once the 
child turns 18, the court loses jurisdiction and cannot designate the offense as a misdemeanor. 

Restoration of civil rights 
 
A.R.S. §13-912.01 can currently be read to include misdemeanor offenses, for which the right to 
possess a gun or firearm is not lost, except as a requirement of probation.  This provision should be 
limited to persons who were adjudicated delinquent for a felony.  The proposal would eliminate 
subsection A and renumber subsections B and C as A and B.  “[F}for a felony offense” would be 
added to the first sentence of new subsection A after “adjudicated delinquent.” 
 
In A.R.S. 13-912-01(C) is a requirement that for certain violations the youth cannot have his or her 
right to possess a gun or firearm restored until age 30.  For adults this is a 10-year waiting period.  
Question posed to the task force is should the waiting period be the same? 
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Judicial Officer Training Recommendations 
 

1. Train juvenile court judicial officers: 
a. to inform juveniles of the loss of a right to possess a gun or firearm during a plea agreement 

when the youth is admitting to a felony and at disposition, 
b. about the impact of sentencing a juvenile to the Arizona Department of Juvenile Corrections 

close in time to his or her 18th birthday, 
c. to order DPS to remove the juvenile’s fingerprints from the criminal history database when a 

case that was charged in adult court is reverse transferred or dismissed. 
2. Develop a form of notice advising of the loss of the right to possess a gun or firearm and about 

having that right restored. 
 
Overall Comments: 
1. In A.R.S. 8-349(B) the required age to apply to have records sealed is 18 or 19, in (D) because a 

certain offense was charged, the age is 21, and in 13-912-.01(C) again because a certain 
offense was charged, the age to apply is 30.   Caution should be taken regarding the differing 
ages when developing a process for presumptive sealing. 

2. Because of the limited impact of a juvenile adjudication as compared with a criminal conviction, 
the set aside process is almost a non-issue in juvenile, the major issue is sealing the record 
versus destruction of the record. 

3. The inability of the military to access records is an important component and could cost juveniles 
the ability to enlist in the armed forces. 

4. A DUI conviction as a juvenile can tremendously hamper that person’s ability to become 
employed as an adult. 

Call to the Public 
 
Before breaking for lunch, Mr. Landau made the first of two calls to the public.  No comments were 
made. 

A.O. 2018-52 and A.C.J.A. §1-202 
 
Mr. Landau discussed the Task Force’s mandate to further consider setting aside of criminal 
convictions, restoration of civil rights, and the setting aside and disposition of records of juvenile 
adjudications, and membership.  He urged all members to read A.C.J.A. §1-202 pertaining to public 
meeting policy. 

Report from the Juvenile Adjudication Set Aside Subcommittee (cont.) 

A.R.S. §8-349: Destruction Sealing of juvenile records; electronic research records 
(cont.)  
 
Comments: (cont.) 
 
Action Item: Invite a victim’s advocate to provide input at the next meeting. 
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5. Subsection (C) - Add a list of factors that a judicial officer must consider before ordering a court 
record sealed. 

6. Subsections (D)(1) and (E)(1) - Are there other laws or rules that define why age 21 was used 
versus age 18? 

7. Subsection (E) - “Extenuating circumstances” should be defined. Does this refer to financial 
hardship or a relative victim asking the court to seal the record or set aside the adjudication? 

8. NEW Subsection (F) - The court shall inform the Department of Public Safety when a record is 
sealed. 

9. Subsection (G)  
a. If the juvenile is no longer on probation and has his or her record sealed, what incentive is 

left to encourage the continued payment of victim restitution? A juvenile restitution order can 
be issued and recorded. 

b. If victim restitution is reduced to a juvenile restitution order, the victim must pay to have it 
recorded.  Can recording fees be waived? 

 
Action Item:  Mr. Landau to discuss recording fee waiver with members of the Arizona Association of 
Counties. 
 

10. Subsection (H) 
a. The nondisclosure statement is troublesome, “for any purpose” should be replace with 

“except as otherwise provided by law.” 
b. When does the ability to not disclose begin, as soon as the record is sealed, or after a 

specified period? 
11. Where does the military search to discover a juvenile record?  If they have access to JOLTS can 

the record in JOLTS be removed when the case is sealed? 
12. Subsection (J) 

a. The members discussed a variety of others (such as the victim, parents, the military and 
agencies of this state or a political subdivision) who may need access to the sealed record. 

b. The Department of Public Safety must receive court records directly from the court or an 
attorney to assist a juvenile with correcting his or her criminal history record.  Can the 
defendant request that the court release a copy of the record to a third-party designee? 

c. At issue is “obtained” versus “requested” in paragraph 1. 
d. Add “3. An agency of this state or a political subdivision upon request of the person whose 

records were sealed.” And “4. A third party as the result of a court order requested by the 
person whose records were sealed.” 

13. Currently the county attorney can object to the destruction of records until the person is 25 years 
of age.  The amendment is suggesting that the age be changed to 21.  The reasoning behind this 
age should also apply to the sealing of the record unless other entities are permitted to request a 
court order to unseal the record. 

14. Should an age-based tiered approach for sealing a case record under A.R.S. §13-501 be 
developed? 

 
The discussion was tabled for completion at the next meeting. 
 
Restoration of Civil Rights Workgroup - Judge Sam Myers, Chair 
 
Jeff Cappellini discussed automatic restoration of civil rights in the United States reviewing the 
outcome of a fifty state and District of Columbia survey.  Automatic restoration of civil rights has 
economic and efficiency advantages and can reduce the confusion among election officials caused 
by improper instructions given to felons. 
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• Two states do not suspend the right to vote, hold public office, or serve on a jury. 
• Seven states do not allow for any type of automatic restoration of rights. 
• Fifteen states and the District of Colombia allow for the automatic restoration of all civil rights 

that are suspended. 
• Thirteen states allow for the automatic restoration of voting rights alone. 
• Eight states allow for the automatic restoration of the right to vote and hold office, but not the 

right to serve on a jury. 
• Three states allow for the automatic restoration of the right to vote and serve on a jury, but not 

the right to hold office. 
• Arizona and Nevada allow for automatic restoration of civil rights for first-time, non-violent 

offenders, but require a restoration process thereafter. This is also known as a bifurcated 
system. 

 
Jennifer Carstens, AOC Extern, shared an informational summary as well. 
 
Comments: 
1. Clarity in the statutes is paramount. 
2. What does automatic mean?  Does the person need proof of restoration? 
3. Arizona’s bifurcated system is confusing for those seeking restoration.  The consistency of all 

automatic or all upon motion may be problematic but would be less confusing. 
4. Clarification is needed regarding the restoration of gun or firearm rights in conjunction with 

restoring civil rights and set aside. 
5. Should rights be separated and addressed individually? 
6. From a clerk’s perspective, there are definite efficiencies gained when using an automated 

process with a set number of years after an identified date. 
7. Consider nature of the offense (category or chapter) versus number of offenses when limiting 

automatic restoration. 
 
Mr. Landau outlined the issues that need to be discussed regarding restoration of rights. (e.g. 
automatic versus upon motion in some or all cases, addressing each right to be restored separately, 
restoring rights from a conviction in Federal Court.) 
 
The consensus of the members at this time would be to restore all civil rights (excluding gun or 
firearm rights) automatically. 
 
Discuss A.R.S. § 13-907 and Rule 29 Set Aside - Tom O’Connell, Chair 
 
Mr. O’Connell, reviewed HB 2312 that amended A.R.S. §13-907, Rule 29 regarding set aside and 
the Application to have a Conviction Set Aside. 
 
Comments: 
1. Include a checkbox to indicate that the person is requesting reconsideration of a prior decision 

regarding a set aside. 
2. Clarify that a person can request a hearing, but the court may rule without a hearing. 
3. Review the language in Rules 29.5 and 30.5 

a. Replace “A hearing must be held no later than 120 days after the application’s filing, unless 
the court finds good cause for an extension. With “The court may set a hearing no later than 
120 days after the application’s filing, unless the court finds good cause for an extension.” 
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Good of the Order/Call to the public 
 

1. Arthur Glenberg, Tempe People Power, made comment during the call to the public. 
2. Leonard Ruiz was asked to advise Bill Montgomery of Task Force’s objectives and ascertain his 

interests. 
3. With a goal of completing Task Force objectives prior to the October AJC meeting when legislative 

proposals are considered, Mr. Landau asked the members if it was feasible to add a meeting in 
August, possibly the 20th or 22nd. 

4. Mr. Landau will invite Judges Quigley and McCullough to become Task Force members. 
5. Staff was asked to invite the members of the Juvenile Adjudication Set Aside Subcommittee to 

the next meeting. 

Adjournment  
The meeting adjourned at 3:01 p.m. 

Next Meeting: 
 Thursday, September 13, 2018 
 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. 
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