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INTRODUCTION 
On October 17, 2012, the Steering Committee on Arizona Case Processing Standards (“Steering 

Committee”) was established by Administrative Order 2012-80. The committee was charged with 

reviewing the national model time standards for all major case types in the limited and general 

jurisdiction courts and developing case processing standards for Arizona. The review of major 

case types included small claims cases filed into Arizona’s Justice of the Peace courts.  

 

The Steering Committee recommended that the following case processing standard for small 

claims cases:  

 

• 75% of cases disposed within 100 days,  

• 90% of cases disposed within 150 days, and  

• 98% of cases disposed within 180 days.  

 

The Supreme Court adopted this standard as final by Administrative Order 2016-50, effective 

August 1, 2016. 

 

A review of the time standards data for small claims cases in Arizona’s Justice of the Peace courts 

revealed that courts were having trouble in meeting the time standards adopted for this case type.1  

Accordingly, the Steering Committee recommended that this case type be examined in greater 

depth and to recommend any rule amendments or pilot projects which would assist to reduce the 

time required to resolve small claims cases.  As such, the Committee on Improving Small Claims 

Case Processing was established by Chief Justice Scott Bales on November 2, 2016 by 

Administrative Order 2016-115. 

 

One challenge the committee faced in developing recommendations is that almost all litigants in 

small claims cases are self-represented litigants, many of whom have no familiarity with the small 

claims process or court processes generally.  With that, many litigants do not know how to proceed 

with litigation to move a case forward, e.g., process of service, application for default, request for 

judgment, etc. 

 

Another challenged posed is that many courts do not actively monitor small claims cases to dismiss 

pending cases due to inactivity.  To further complicate matters, while the Arizona Justice Court 

Rules of Civil Procedure provide a process for dismissing cases that have not had service within 

120 days of filing, neither the rules or statutes provide guidance for cases that have had service 

executed but have no further activity.  More specifically, no explicit authority is provided in the 

Arizona Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure or the Arizona Revised Statutes to dismiss a case 

for lack of prosecution after service has been executed. 

 

The final challenge the committee faced in developing recommendations is the diverse nature of 

the jurisdictions the courts serve. Arizona has large urban, mid–sized, and small courts, all of 

which have varying volumes and methods for disposing of small claims cases.  For example, in 

some precincts, small claims hearing officers hear all small claims matters, while these matters in 

other precincts are heard by the Justice of the Peace.  Additionally, the number of small claims 

cases filed varies greatly from court to court and from county to county.  This was an important 

                                                 
1 A chart of the data can be found in Chart A in Appendix B. 
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factor for committee consideration since most justice courts in Arizona have only one Justice of 

the Peace to hear all matters.  

 

Given the varying resources, caseload sizes, and the diverse nature of courts statewide, the 

committee has developed recommendations to pilot a proposed set of court rules it believes are 

realistic and reasonable and will accomplish the committee’s charge of developing 

recommendations to reduce the time to disposition of small claims cases in Arizona’s Justice of 

the Peace courts.   

FORMATION AND COMPOSITION OF THE COMMITTEE 
 

Chief Justice Scott Bales established the Committee on Improving Small Claims Case Processing 

November 2, 2016. The committee is comprised of leaders from the justice courts, court 

administrators, and public members.   

 

WORK OF THE COMMITTEE 
 

The committee was charged with developing recommendations, including proposed rule 

amendments or pilot projects, to reduce the time required to resolve small claims cases in Arizona’s 

Justice of the Peace courts. The committee considered statutory requirements, court rules, court 

jurisdiction, model systems in other states and any other relevant factors in making its 

recommendations. 

 

To address the issues surrounding small claims cases, the committee began by acknowledging that 

there is very limited guidance and authority for small claims case processing that exist in the 

Arizona Rules of Court and in the Arizona Revised Statutes.  Specifically, the Arizona Rules of 

Court make only two provisions in the Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure applicable to small 

claims cases, namely Rule 113(i) concerning dismissal due to lack of service and Rule 140 

concerning the entry of default judgements.   

 

Additionally, although the Arizona Revised Statutes dedicate an entire chapter of Title 22 to small 

claims cases, they do not address all circumstances or provide guidance for all scenarios that 

frequently arise in small claims cases.  Accordingly, the committee agreed that due to the unique 

nature of small claims cases and the ideology that small claims cases, by statutory definition, are 

intended to be “inexpensive, speedy, and informal”, there should be a new designated set of rules 

tailored to processing these cases. 

 

The committee also agreed that the courts must do a better job at the outset of informing litigants 

about what is required once a small claims case is filed.  Specifically, the idea is to make the system 

more user-friendly so that self-represented litigants can navigate the system and resolve cases 

without delay. 

 

The committee chair asked that each member draft and submit a “short, simple” set of rules for 

small claims cases.  The drafts submitted were compiled, and the members made revisions and 

discussed provisions that were important to efficient case processing on a statewide basis for 

litigants, as well as the courts.   
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The members also drafted a “Notice to Plaintiff and Defendant” that details the responsibilities of 

each party during small claims litigation.  Committee members agreed that this document should 

be included in the Rules of Court and should be required to be served to all defendants. 

 

After several discussions and revisions regarding the draft rules, the committee reviewed data on 

the causes of delay in small claims cases to determine whether the draft rules produced would 

effectively resolve the problems posed.2   

 

The data analyzed represents 410 of 705 (58%) cases that took more than 100 days to dispose in 

fiscal year 2016 from 13 justice courts throughout the state.3  The most notable causes of delay are 

as follows: 

 

• 42% of cases not dismissed for lack of service.  Case age ranged from 104 – 3,464 days, 

an average case age of 755 days. 

 

o Rule 113(i), Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure indicate that these cases should 

have been dismissed at 120 days so long as the plaintiff was notified of the intent 

to dismiss at least 20 days prior to dismissal.  

 

• 10% of cases had delays in hearings set (or no hearing set) after a response was filed.  Case 

age ranged from 102 – 4,051 days, an average case age of 387 days. 

 

o A.R.S. § 22-515 states “On the filing of an answer by the defendant . . . [t]he 

hearing shall be set for a date within sixty days of the filing of the defendant's 

answer.” 

 

• 19% of cases had delayed or no application for entry of default filed.  Case age ranged 

from 103 – 4,059 days, an average case age of 683 days. 

 

o A.R.S. § 22-514 provides the defendant 20 days to file an answer.  Rule 140(b), 

Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure, allows the plaintiff to file an application 

for entry of default if the defendant has not answered within this timeframe.  

 

• 6% of cases had delayed or no motion for judgment after an application for entry of default 

was filed.  Case age ranged from 102 – 3,241 days, an average case age of 633 days. 

 

o Rule 140(b), Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure, allows the plaintiff to request 

the entry of a default judgment if no response is filed by the defendant within 10 

days of the application for entry of default filing date. 

 

 

The committee’s initial draft rules did not adequately offer resolution to the issues outlined above.  

Accordingly, the committee reviewed other states’ small claims processes to gain a better 

                                                 
2 The full data reviewed can be found in Chart B Appendix B.  
3 It should be noted that while this particular data does not include Maricopa County Justice Courts or Pima County 

Justice Courts, the time standards data for courts in these two counties reflected time to disposition percentages similar 

to the statewide time to disposition percentages. 
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understanding of the similarities and differences as compared to Arizona’s process, and what has 

proved successful in other states.  Two of the main findings were:  

 

1) Almost half of the states (at least 23 states) do not require a written response from 

the defendant, and 

2) At least 19 states set the hearing (trial) date at the time the complaint is filed. 

As to the first difference, committee members agreed that many times a written response does not 

offer sufficient information or adequate notice to the plaintiff of any defenses that the defendant 

may raise at trial, rendering a written response somewhat useless to the plaintiff.  Additionally, 

requiring a written response from a self-represented litigant may, in fact, preclude or intimidate 

some defendants from appearing at a hearing, who otherwise would if there is not the requirement 

to file a formal response.   

As to the second difference, committee members agreed that apart from civil cases, small claims 

is the only justice court case type that does not have a hearing date set in advance.  Specifically, 

all civil traffic, criminal traffic, criminal, and eviction actions filed into Justice of the Peace courts 

have return dates that are given to all parties until the case is disposed.   

Not having a future return date set at the outset of a small claims case filing is contributing to the 

state’s low disposition rates.  Specifically, because cases are being filed and do not have a future 

court date set, many cases are “falling through the cracks” if service is not filed or if a default 

judgment is not requested because the courts do not have the cases on their calendars.  

To prevent cases from “falling through the cracks”, the court can set the hearing date at the time 

of filing so that the plaintiff knows when to return to have their case decided.  Additionally, the 

plaintiff would be required to serve the court date to the defendant so that the defendant knows 

when they would be required to appear.  Setting the hearing at the time of filing would resolve the 

issue of the courts not timely setting hearings, as well as the courts’ untimely dismissal of cases 

that have not had proof of service executed. 

The draft rules were revised to reflect the considerations above, but committee members were not 

completely in agreement that setting the hearing at the time of filing would be practical for 

implementation on a statewide basis because some courts have a larger volume of filings than 

others.  Moreover, historically, because there is a high no-show rate for defendants, there was 

concern that this process would clog the court calendar for matters that could otherwise be handled 

outside the courtroom setting by having the plaintiff file for default.  However, it is difficult to 

compare the current defendant no-show rate with a process that would allow the defendant to 

appear in person at the hearing without having to first file a written response. Additionally, some 

committee members indicated that it takes less time to hold a hearing and award a judgment than 

it takes to review default paperwork and award a judgment.   

Due to the conflicting views on statewide rules that would require courts to set a hearing at the 

time the complaint is filed, the committee agreed that the proposed rules and process should be 

piloted selected justice courts in at least two counties for a duration of 12 months.   
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Major changes to the process as set forth by the draft rules include:4 

• The hearing will be set at the time the complaint is filed, within 45-60 days of the 

complaint filing date. 

• A written response will no longer be mandatory, but the defendant will have an option to 

file a written response if they wish. 

• Service will be required within 20 days of filing the complaint.  If the plaintiff is not able 

to serve within this timeframe, they may return to the court on or before the court date to 

request an extension and a new summons for service. 

• The court will not be required to wait 120 days before dismissing a case for lack of service.  

Specifically, if proof of service has not been received and the plaintiff fails to appear to 

request an extension, the court may dismiss the case without prejudice. 

• A “Notice to Plaintiff and Defendant” will be required to be served to all defendants. 

In order to gather input and feedback from all key justice partners regarding the small claims draft 

rules for Arizona’s Justice of the Peace courts, the draft rules were distributed to the State Bar of 

Arizona, The Morrison Institute, Southern Arizona Legal Aid, and the Arizona Commission on 

Access to Justice.  Recipients were invited to submit comments regarding the proposed small 

claims draft rules.  The draft rules were also presented at the September 2017 JP Association 

Conference. 

 
Overall, the committee received positive feedback, reviewed the comments and made appropriate 

revisions.  

GUIDING PRINCIPLES 
 

As the dialogue about small claims case processing evolved, the following principles emerged: 

 

➢ The small claims process should be speedy, inexpensive, and informal. 

 

➢ The new, separate small claims rules should be easy for self-represented litigants to follow. 

 

➢ The product of the committee should help self-represented litigants navigate and resolve 

their small claims cases through the system and should not be a means by which courts can 

simply dismiss more cases. 

 

➢ The small claims rules should encourage courts to move cases forward expeditiously, 

reflecting the actual timeframes required for certain events statutorily mandated, existing 

resource limitations, and limitations contained in court rules for due process reasons.   

 

➢ The small claims rules should benefit litigants on a statewide level and not disadvantage 

litigants in urban or rural areas.  

 

➢ An effort to better educate litigants on the process, requirements, and expectations is 

necessary.      

                                                 
4 Timelines illustrating the differences can be found in Appendix B. 

9 of 31



10 

12/1/2017 

➢ Successful implementation of the new small claims rules requires cooperation, 

communication, commitment, and training from multiple parties and agencies involved in 

the justice process.  The courts should seek an on-going dialogue with stakeholders to 

achieve a smooth implementation. 

RECOMMENDATIONS 
 

➢ The committee recommends the draft Rules of Procedure for Small Claims Cases be approved 

for use in a 12-month pilot project for small claims cases in selected justice courts in at least 

two counties. 

 

➢ The committee recommends that the pilot courts work in conjunction with the Administrative 

Office of the Courts (AOC) to collect data to evaluate the progress and success of the pilot 

project.  

 

➢ The committee recommends that it reconvene during the pilot project period to examine 

intermediate data collected. 

 

➢ The committee recommends that it be permitted to file a rule petition for statewide adoption 

of the rules and implementation if the pilot project is successful.  

 

FUTURE CONSIDERATIONS 

The small claims case processing procedure set forth in the draft rules deviates significantly from 

the practice currently in place for small claims cases.  The committee recognizes that the timelines 

set forth by the draft rules may need to be adjusted based on the data and feedback received from 

the pilot courts.  The committee recommends that it be able to make necessary adjustments to 

timeframes based on feedback and data received before statewide implementation. 

 

Some courts have a large volume of small claims cases filed by government agencies. The 

committee recommends that the AOC work with courts that have this unique situation to establish 

a case processing procedure that allows compliance with the Rules of Procedure for Small Claims 

Cases rules without overwhelming the normal calendars with government filings. 

 

An Online Dispute Resolution (ODR) project is currently underway, and will likely be piloted in 

Small Claims cases.  The committee recommends that the Rules of Procedure for Small Claims 

Cases be revised where necessary to accommodate ODR and other means of Alternative Dispute 

Resolution (ADR) programs. 

 

CONCLUSION: 
 
The committee recommends the following steps in the implementation of the Rules of Procedure 

for Small Claims cases for Arizona:  

➢ First, the committee is requesting an extension of its term.  

➢ Second, the draft Rules of Procedure for Small Claims Cases will be piloted in at least two 

counties.  

➢ Third, data and feedback will be provided from the pilot courts.  
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➢ Fourth, the draft rules will be reviewed, along with the actual data from the case 

management systems, so the committee can determine whether the draft rules are practical 

and achieve the goal of reducing time to disposition in small claims cases.  

➢ Fifth, based on this review, the committee will propose any necessary changes to draft 

rules.  

➢ Finally, if necessary, the revised Rules of Procedure for Small Claims Cases will be 

presented to the Arizona Judicial Council for permission to file a rule petition. 

 

A revision to the way small claims cases are disposed in Arizona is the first step toward reducing 

the time it takes to dispose of these cases.  The implementation of the small claims process set 

forth in the Rules of Procedure for Small Claims Cases in Arizona should result in the more 

effective use of time by judges, clerks, litigants, and all other administrative personnel involved. 

For those courts that have reached a saturation point where additional resources are needed, the 

efficiencies gained through successful implementation of draft rules may be used as a justification 

for requesting additional state and local funding.  
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APPENDIX A: Administrative Order 2016-115 
 

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ARIZONA 
 

 

 

 

In the Matter of: ) 

 ) 

ESTABLISHMENT OF THE  ) Administrative Order 

COMMITTEE ON IMPROVING ) No. 2016-115 

SMALL CLAIMS CASE PROCESSING   ) 

AND APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS ) 

 ) 

 

 The Arizona Judiciary’s strategic agenda, Advancing Justice Together: Courts and 

Communities, includes the goal of “Improving Court Processes to Better Serve the Public” by 

improving timeliness and efficiency of processing court cases. 

 

 The Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure are applicable to all civil lawsuits filed in justice 

courts in Arizona, including small claims cases, which are cases in which the claim does not exceed 

$3,500.  In addition to these rules, the Arizona Revised Statutes establish a small claims division 

in each Justice of the Peace court to provide a forum for “…inexpensive, speedy, and informal 

resolution of small claims.” (§ 22-501, et. al.). 

 

 The Court and justices of the peace handling these cases desire to review the rules of 

procedure applicable to the processing of small claims cases to identify any changes that may serve 

to reduce the time and expense to litigants in small claims cases. 

 

 Therefore, pursuant to Article VI, Section 3, of the Arizona Constitution, 

 

 IT IS ORDERED that the Committee on Improving Small Claims Case Processing 

(Committee) is established as follows: 

 

1. Purpose.  The Committee shall develop recommendations, including proposed rule 

amendments or pilot projects, to reduce the time required to resolve small claims 

cases in Arizona’s Justice of the Peace courts. 

 

2. Membership.  The individuals listed in Appendix A are appointed as members of 

the Committee effective immediately, and ending December 31, 2017.  The Chief 

Justice may appoint additional members as may be necessary. 

 

3. Meetings.  The Committee shall meet at the discretion of the Committee Chair.  All 

meetings shall comply with the public meeting policy of the Arizona Judicial 

Branch, Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 1-202. 
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4. Recommendations.  The Committee shall submit its recommendations, together 

with proposed rule changes, to the Arizona Judicial Council no later than June 30, 

2017. 

  

 

 Dated this 2nd day of November, 2016. 

 

 

 

 

            

     SCOTT BALES 

     Chief Justice 
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APPENDIX B: Small Claims Charts and Timelines 

 
Chart A. 

 
 

 

Chart B. 
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Timeline A. 

 
 

 

 

Timeline B. 
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Charge: The Committee shall develop recommendations, including proposed 
rule amendments or pilot projects, to reduce the time required to resolve small 
claims cases in Arizona’s Justice of the Peace courts. 
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Small Claims Data Analysis

Reason for Delay

Number of 

Cases*

% of 

Cases Age Range

Average Case 

Age

No Proof of Service 170 41%

104 - 3,464 

days 755 days

Delayed Service 22 5% 107 - 350 days 177 days

Delayed/No App for 

Default 79 19%

103 - 4,059 

days 683 days

Delay in Hrg Set/ No Hrg

Set 43 10%

102 - 4,051 

days 387 days

Delay in Jdgmt 38 9% 105 - 453 days 168 days

Delayed/No Motion for 

Judgmt 25 6%

102 - 3,241 

days 633 days

Other 19 5% 104 - 245 days 161 days

Delayed Dismissal 14 3%

105 - 3,243 

days 716 days

No Proof of Service
42%

Delayed Service
5%

Delayed/No App for 
Default

19%

Delay in Hrg Set/ No Hrg 
Set

11%

Delay in Jdgmt
9%

Delayed/No Motion for 
Judgmt

6%

Other
5%

Delayed Dismissal
3%

Small Claims Analysis - Case Age >100 days 

No Proof of Service

Delayed Service

Delayed/No App for Default

Delay in Hrg Set/ No Hrg Set

Delay in Jdgmt

Delayed/No Motion for Judgmt

Other

Delayed Dismissal

*Reviewed 410 (58%) cases exceeding 100 days in age of the 705 cases disposed in FY16 for 13 of 81 (16%) justice courts.
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Pilot Project Proposal

Committee is requesting approval to pilot draft rules for small claims case processing
◦ Pilot will include two justice courts – one urban and one rural

◦ Pilot will run for 12 months

◦ Committee will review and analyze progress and results to determine success of implementing on a 
statewide basis
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Rule 1.   Small Claims Lawsuit 

 

 

(a) Definition of a “Small Claims Lawsuit.”  A “small claims lawsuit” is an elective, simplified 

procedure for a lawsuit in which the debt, damage, or value of property at issue is not more than 

$3,500.  A “small claims lawsuit” also includes lawsuits where a party asks the court to void or 

rescind a contract, or requests other relief involving an amount of $3,500 or less. 

 

(b) Purpose of the “Small Claims Division.”  The purpose of the justice court’s “small claims 

division” is to provide a process for the inexpensive, speedy, and informal resolution of small 

claims lawsuits.  Courts and parties should interpret these rules liberally and consistently with this 

purpose. 
 

(c) Representation.  A.R.S. § 22-512 governs who may represent a party in a small claims lawsuit.  

Attorneys may not represent a party in a small claims lawsuit unless all of the parties agree to it. 

A corporation, partnership, association, or any other business or organization, must file a notice 

stating the name of an authorized person who will appear in court on its behalf.    

 

(d)  No Jury and No Appeal.  A party does not have a right to a jury trial or to appeal the judgment 

in a small claims lawsuit. 

 

(e) Rules and Statutes. These rules and the Arizona Revised Statutes (“A.R.S.”) Title 22, Chapter 

5, govern procedures for small claims lawsuits.  

 

 

Rule 2.  Parties to a Lawsuit 

 

(a) Parties. The parties to a small claims lawsuit are the plaintiff and the defendant.  A party can be 

an individual, a marital community, a corporation, a partnership, an association, a business, or 

another organization.   

 

(b) Plaintiff.  A plaintiff is the party who files a small claims lawsuit.  The plaintiff must be a party 

to the original transaction that forms the basis of the lawsuit.  A plaintiff must use the party’s 

correct legal name when filing a lawsuit. 

 

(c) Defendant. A defendant is the party who is sued.  Each defendant must be sued by the correct 

legal name.   

 

Rule 3. Phone Numbers and Email Addresses 

All parties must provide the court with a physical address, email address, and phone number.  The 

court may use this information to communicate with the parties about their case by mail, email, text 

message, and phone.  
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Rule 4.  Time   

 

These rules may require a party to take action within a specified number of days from an event.  The 

day of the event is not counted.  A party must include Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays when 

counting days; but if the last day to take action falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, the party has 

until the next business day to take that action. 

 

 

Rule 5.  Where to File a Small Claims Lawsuit 

 

The plaintiff must file a complaint in the justice court precinct (the “venue”) where the defendant 

lives or where the claim occurred.    

 

 

Rule 6.  Plaintiff Must File a Complaint 

 

(a) The Complaint.  A small claims lawsuit starts when a plaintiff files a small claims complaint. 

The complaint must be legible and must briefly state the plaintiff’s reasons for the claim against 

each defendant.  The complaint must include a statement indicating whether the defendant is in 

active military service.  The plaintiff must pay a fee to the court to file a complaint, although the 

court may waive this fee if it presents a financial hardship. The amount of all claims in the 

complaint cannot be more than $3,500. 

 

(b) Claim for More Than $3,500. If the amount in the plaintiff’s complaint is more than $3,500, the 

plaintiff must file the lawsuit in the justice court’s “civil division” and not in the “small claims 

division.”  A plaintiff may not avoid this requirement by splitting a claim for more than $3,500 

into several smaller claim amounts.    

 

(c) Amendments.  No amended complaints will be allowed.  A plaintiff can choose to dismiss the 

complaint and file a new lawsuit.  

 
(d) Settlement.  The plaintiff has a responsibility to notify the court if the lawsuit settles before the 

hearing date. 

  

Rule 7.  Plaintiff Must Serve the Summons, Complaint, and Notice on Each Defendant 

 

(a)  Summons; Hearing Date.  The summons is an order that requires the defendant to appear for a 

hearing.  The court will set a hearing date when the plaintiff files a complaint.  The court will 

write the hearing date on the summons and return the summons to the plaintiff.  The court will 

provide one summons for each defendant named in the complaint. The hearing, or an alternative 

dispute resolution conference under Rule 13 of these rules, will be held between 45 and 60 days 

after the complaint filing date.  

  

(b) Notice to the Plaintiff and Defendant.  Before serving the summons and complaint, the plaintiff 

must attach to each summons a “Notice to the Plaintiff and Defendant” (“notice”) as shown in 

Appendix 1.  
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(c) Serving the Defendant: When.  The plaintiff must serve the defendant with copies of the 

summons, complaint, and notice within 20 days of the complaint filing date.   

 

(d) Serving the Defendant: How.  The plaintiff must serve the summons, complaint, and notice on 

each defendant as provided by this rule.    

 

(1) Certified Mail.  The plaintiff may serve the defendant by certified mail, with a “return receipt 

requested.”  When the post office returns the return receipt card to the plaintiff, the plaintiff 

must promptly file it with the court to establish that the defendant was “served.”   

 

(2) Constable, Sheriff, or Private Process Server.  If the defendant cannot be served by certified 

mail, the plaintiff must arrange for personal service on the defendant by a constable, sheriff, 

or private process server.  The constable, sheriff, or private process server will file written 

evidence of service with the court, or provide that evidence to the plaintiff, and the plaintiff 

must promptly file it with the court.   

 

(e) Failure to Serve Within 20 Days of the Complaint Filing Date.  If the plaintiff does not timely 

or properly serve the summons, complaint, and notice, the plaintiff must appear in court on or 

before the hearing date to obtain a new summons.  When the plaintiff appears, the court will 

continue the hearing no more than 30 days to allow additional time for service.  The court also 

will issue a new summons with the new court date, which the plaintiff must serve on the defendant 

instead of the original summons, along with the complaint and notice.   

 

Rule 8.  Providing Documents to the Other Party After Service of the Summons, Complaint, 

and Notice 

Once a defendant is properly served with the summons, complaint, and notice, if the defendant 

chooses to file a written answer, counterclaim, or other document with the court, the defendant must 

do so in person or by mail.  The defendant must also promptly deliver a copy to the plaintiff by mail 

or by electronic means.  

 

Rule 9.  Answer Not Required 

A defendant may file an answer, but is not required to do so.  The defendant must still appear at the 

hearing to dispute the claim without filing an answer.  

 

Rule 10. Counterclaim 

 

(a) Definition.  A counterclaim asserts that the plaintiff owes something to the defendant.   

 

(1) The defendant must file a counterclaim if it is based on the same event described in the 

plaintiff’s complaint. 

 

(2) The defendant may file a counterclaim if it is based on an event different than the one 

described in the plaintiff’s complaint.  
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(b) Limit on the Dollar Amount. The amount of the counterclaim cannot be more than $3,500.  If 

the defendant files a counterclaim for more than $3,500, the court must transfer the plaintiff’s 

claim and the defendant’s counterclaim to the justice court’s “civil division.”  A counterclaim that 

is more than $10,000 will result in a transfer of the entire lawsuit to the superior court.   

   

(c) Filing Fee.  The defendant must pay a fee to the court to file a counterclaim, although the court 

may waive this fee if it presents a financial hardship. 

 

(d) When to File.  The defendant must file a counterclaim at least 10 days before the hearing date. 

 

(e) Mailing to the Plaintiff.  The defendant must promptly mail a copy of the counterclaim to the 

plaintiff or send a copy electronically. 

 

 

Rule 11.  Defendant Can File a Motion to Change Venue  

 

If the lawsuit was not filed in the correct justice court precinct, the defendant may file a motion at 

least 15 days before the hearing to change the venue of the lawsuit.  The defendant must mail a copy 

of the motion to the plaintiff, and the plaintiff has 10 days to file a response.  If the justice of the peace 

grants the motion, the court will transfer the lawsuit to the proper precinct.  The parties must appear 

at any scheduled court date until they receive notice that the court has granted the motion.  

 

Rule 12.  Either Party Can Transfer the Lawsuit to the Civil Division  

(a) Transfer to Civil Division by Request.  Either party can file a request to transfer the lawsuit to 

the justice court’s “civil division.”   

 

(b) Time for Filing a Request to Transfer.  A party must file the request to transfer the lawsuit to 

the justice court’s “civil division” no later than 15 days before the hearing date.   

 

(c) Voluntary Dismissal After Transfer to Civil Division.  If the court grants a request to transfer 

the lawsuit to the justice court’s “civil division,” and the defendant has not filed a counterclaim, 

a plaintiff who does not want the lawsuit to proceed in the civil division, has 15 days after the 

defendant files the transfer request to voluntarily dismiss the lawsuit.   

 

Rule 13.  Alternative Dispute Resolution Conference 

 

If the justice court has an alternative dispute resolution (“A.D.R.”) program, the court may schedule 

an ADR conference in lieu of a hearing when the complaint is filed.  If the lawsuit is not settled at the 

A.D.R. conference, the court will set a hearing within 45 to 60 days after the conference. 
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Rule 14. The Hearing 

 

(a) Hearing Officer.  A party may ask that a justice of the peace, rather than a hearing officer, decide 

the lawsuit.  A party must make this request in writing at least 15 days before the hearing date.  

 

(b) Rescheduling a Hearing.  As soon as possible, but at least 15 days before the hearing date, a 

party may file a request to reschedule the hearing in writing and mail a copy to the other party.  

The request must include a good reason for rescheduling and, if possible, provide supporting 

documentation.  The court may deny the request if a party does not provide a good reason for 

rescheduling, does not provide documentation for the request, or if the party has made previous 

requests to reschedule the hearing.  The court will consider emergency requests (a request received 

less than 15 days before the hearing) only if the request also shows a good reason for not filing it 

earlier. 

 

(c) Failure to Appear for the Hearing.   

 

(1) Both Parties Fail to Appear.  If both parties fail to appear at the hearing, the court will 

dismiss the lawsuit without prejudice, meaning the plaintiff may refile the complaint if all 

other legal requirements have been met.   

 

(2) Defendant Fails to Appear.  If the plaintiff appears and has properly served the defendant, 

but the defendant does not appear, the court will consider the plaintiff’s evidence and, if 

substantiated by the evidence, the court may award judgment for the plaintiff.  However, if 

the defendant is on active military duty and (1) fails to appear, and (2) has not made an 

appearance in the case, the court may not award judgment for the plaintiff and must transfer 

the case to the justice court civil division for further proceedings. 

 

(3) Plaintiff Fails to Appear.  If the plaintiff fails to appear, but the defendant appears, the court 

may dismiss the lawsuit with or without prejudice, or it may award judgment for the defendant. 

 

(d) Appearing by Telephone.  For a good reason, a party may appear at a hearing by telephone.  The 

party must file a request to appear by telephone in writing at least 15 days before the hearing date.  

The request must contain that party’s telephone number. The party must attach to the request any 

documents, photographs, or other evidence the party wants to submit at the hearing.  If the court 

approves the request, the court will provide a phone number that party must call to appear 

telephonically for the hearing.   

 

(e) Conducting the Hearing.  The justice of the peace or hearing officer will consider testimony 

from the parties and witnesses, will consider any documents, and will decide the claim and any 

counterclaim.  The justice of the peace or hearing officer may ask questions, and also may permit 

the parties to ask questions of each other and of any witnesses.  Formal rules of evidence do not 

apply.   

 

(f) Additional Time to Prepare.  If the plaintiff serves the defendant within 20 days of the complaint 

filing date, but the defendant believes the time of service did not allow the defendant to prepare 

or properly exercise other rights under these rules, such as a counterclaim under Rule 10(d) or a 

transfer under Rule 12(b), the defendant must appear at the scheduled hearing and ask for a 
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continuance.  If the justice of the peace or hearing officer is satisfied that the defendant’s rights 

have been harmed by the shortness of time to respond, a continuance will be granted. 

Rule 15.  Requesting an Interpreter or Special Accommodations  

The court should be notified of requests for an interpreter or special accommodations at least 15 days 

before a court date.  

 

Rule 16.  Judgment  

(a) Definition and Requirements.  A “judgment” is a final written order of the court that decides 

the claims in the lawsuit.  A judgment must be signed by a justice of the peace or hearing officer 

and filed with the court.  
 

(b) Time for Mailing a Judgment.  A justice of the peace or hearing officer may enter judgment at 

the end of the hearing or within 10 days after the hearing.  The court must mail a copy of the 

judgment to all parties.  The judgment is final and binding on all parties. 

 

(c) Correcting a Judgment.  Either party may request the court correct the judgment if a name is 

misspelled, there is a misstatement of a fact, or there is a miscalculation of an amount. 

 

Rule 17.  Vacating a Judgment  

A party may file a motion to vacate a judgment if the party believes the judgment was entered in error, 

or if there is a good reason that a party failed to appear at the hearing. The moving party must file the 

motion within a reasonable time and mail a copy to the other party.  The other party has 15 days to 

file a response to the motion and to mail a copy of the response to the moving party. The court then 

will review the motion and notify both parties by mail of its ruling.  

 

Rule 18.  Dismissing a Lawsuit 

(a) Dismissal by the Court.  If the lawsuit is not concluded within 180 days of filing, the court must 

dismiss the lawsuit without prejudice.  

 

(b) Dismissal by the Plaintiff.  If the defendant has not filed a counterclaim in the lawsuit, the 

plaintiff may dismiss the complaint at any time by filing a notice of voluntary dismissal.  The 

plaintiff must mail a copy of the voluntary dismissal to the defendant on the date of filing.  

 

(c) Dismissal by Agreement. At any time before the hearing, the parties may mutually agree to 

dismiss the lawsuit by filing an agreement to dismiss that is signed by all the parties.   

 

 

Rule 19.   Enforcing a Judgment   

 

Payment of the judgment is due when the judgment is filed.  A judgment from a small claims lawsuit 

may be enforced like any other civil judgment in the justice court.  The prevailing party may request 

the court issue a writ of execution or a writ of garnishment, or request that the court conduct a 

judgment debtor exam.  An attorney may appear for enforcement proceedings.   
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Rule 20.  Forms 

 

(a) Blank forms for a small claims lawsuit are available on the Arizona Judicial Branch website 

and are available from any justice court.  The parties must use these forms when filing 

documents in the small claims division. 

 

(b) The Administrative Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts is authorized to 

modify small claims forms in response to changes in state laws or procedures, to make other 

necessary administrative amendments or technical corrections, or to add or delete forms as the 

Director may deem appropriate.   

 

(c) Small claims forms are: 

 

(1) Notice to Plaintiff and Defendant 

(2) complaint; 

(3) summons; 

(4) proof of service by certified mail; 

(5) answer 

(6) counterclaim 

(7) motion [for a motion to change venue (Rule 11) or a motion to vacate judgment (Rule 

17)]; 

(8) request [for example, a request to transfer a lawsuit to the justice court civil division, 

or a request to postpone the hearing]; and 

(9) subpoena. 
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 Notice to the Plaintiff and Defendant:  A small claims lawsuit has been filed in justice court 

Read this notice carefully. 

1. The small claims process is an inexpensive, quick, and informal way to resolve civil disputes up to $3,500.  

  

2. Persons in a lawsuit are called “parties.”  There is a “plaintiff” and a “defendant.”.  A “plaintiff” is someone who files 

a lawsuit against a “defendant.”  

 

3. Individuals represent themselves in a small claims lawsuit.  There usually are no attorneys.  One spouse may represent 

both spouses.  A full-time corporate officer or authorized employee may represent a corporation; an active general 

partner or an authorized full-time employee may represent a partnership; an active member or an authorized full-time 

employee may represent an association; and any other organization may be represented by one of its active members 

or authorized full-time employees. 

 
4. You do not have a right to an appeal from a small claims judgment. The defendant may request a transfer of the  

lawsuit from the Small Claims Division to the regular Civil Division of the justice court. A transfer will allow: 

(1) Either party to have an attorney;  

(2) The defendant to file a counterclaim for more than $3,500;  

(3) Either party to file motions that are not permitted in small claims lawsuits; 

(4) Parties to have a jury trial; and  

(5) A party to have the right to appeal. 

5. You must properly complete your court papers and file them when they are due.  Court staff are not allowed to give 

you legal advice.  However, court staff can provide information regarding the jurisdiction, venue, pleadings, and 

procedures of the small claims division. 

 

6. You must follow the Arizona Revised Statutes and Rules of Procedure for Small Claims Cases that apply in your 

lawsuit.  The statutes and rules are available in many public libraries and at the courthouse.  The statutes are also online 

at the Arizona State Legislature webpage, and the rules are online at the Arizona Judicial Branch Court Rules webpage.   

 

7. The court requires a filing fee for plaintiffs filing a complaint and for defendants filing a counterclaim or answer.  If 

either party cannot afford to pay a filing fee, the party can request a fee waiver or deferral from the court, but the party 

must still file documents on time. 

 

8. PLAINTIFF: When you file your lawsuit, the court will provide you with a summons and a copy of this notice.  You 

must serve these items and a copy of your complaint on the defendant.  A lawsuit against the defendant cannot 

proceed without proper service.  Methods of service can be found in Rule 7(d), Rules of Procedure for Small Claims 

Cases. 

 
9. DEFENDANT: You may bring a claim against the plaintiff if you have one.  A defendant who files a counterclaim 

must mail a copy to the plaintiff.   

 

10. BOTH PARTIES:  The hearing date will be stated on the summons.  You must appear at the time and place specified 

in the summons.  Both parties MUST appear at the small claims hearing and provide supporting evidence for their 

claims and defenses.   

 

11. A justice of the peace or a hearing officer who has received specialized training will conduct the hearing.  You should 

be prepared to clearly present your evidence.  Although you may be permitted to appear telephonically for reasons such 

as no longer residing in the area, it would present a financial hardship, etc., you may be at a disadvantage since all 

evidence must be submitted to the court before the hearing.  If you fail to appear at a hearing, the court may enter a 

judgment against you.  To assure that you receive these notices, you must keep the court informed, in writing, of your 

current address and telephone number until the lawsuit is over.   
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