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IN THE 
 COURT OF APPEALS 
STATE OF ARIZONA 

DIVISION ONE 

 
IN THE MATTER OF: ) 
 ) ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER  
POLICIES CONCERNING THE TIMELY ) 2019-02 (REPLACING  
DESIGNATION AND FILING OF )     ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER 2015-01 TO  
TRANSCRIPTS IN CRIMINAL APPEALS )     ADDRESS AMENDMENTS TO THE  
 ) ARIZONA RULES OF CRIMINAL 

 )     PROCEDURE) 
 
 

This administrative order replaces Administrative Order 2015-01, which 

addressed the preparation of transcripts in criminal appeals.  The only substantive 

changes are updating the citations to the Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure and 

modifying, in accordance with the updated applicable rule, the time within which a 

court reporter must prepare the certified transcript.   

Appellants' rights to due process require the Court of Appeals to timely resolve 

criminal appeals, and, by rule, the Court is required to give precedence to criminal 

appeals. Arizona Rule of Criminal Procedure ("Rule") 31.1(b). The timely resolution of 

criminal appeals also promotes victims' rights under the Arizona Constitution. In many 

appeals, however, undue delay results when the Court grants multiple requests for 

additional time for preparation of transcripts or when parties make requests for 

additional transcripts that are not plainly identified. 

Pursuant to Rules 31.8(b)(1), (c) and (d), in every criminal appeal, except one in 

which the death penalty has been imposed, certified transcripts of specified proceedings 

in the superior court must be prepared and filed with the Court of Appeals. If the notice 
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of appeal packet provided to the Court of Appeals by the superior court indicates that 

the appellant proceeded as an indigent at trial or at sentencing, the deadline for a court 

reporter to file such transcripts is 45 days from the date of filing of the notice of appeal. 

Ariz. R. Crim. P.  31.8(c)(4) and (d)(1). In that circumstance, a court reporter “must 

prepare the certified transcript promptly upon receiving a notice of appeal[.]” Ariz. R. 

Crim. P. 31.8(c)(4) . If the appellant's indigency cannot be confirmed from the notice of 

appeal packet but is later established, the Court will issue an order allowing the court 

reporter 45 days to file the transcripts from the date of the order confirming indigency. 

Within five days after the filing of the notice of appeal, a non-indigent appellant 

must make arrangements with the court reporter to pay for the certified transcript. See 

Ariz. R. Crim. P. 31.8(c)(5). In such cases, the transcript is due 45 days from filing of the 

notice of appeal.  Ariz. R. Crim. P.  31.8(c)(5) and (d). 

If a party, pursuant to Rule 31.8(b)(2), requests that a court reporter prepare 

transcripts of additional proceedings not automatically transcribed under Rule 31.8(b)(1), 

the deadline for filing such transcripts shall be established by Court order, not to exceed 

30 days. 

Rules 31.8(d)(1) and 31.9(c)(2) provide that the Court may, on a showing of good 

cause, grant one extension of no longer than 20 days for the filing of transcripts. On 

occasion, a single 20-day extension may not be sufficient to allow a court reporter to 

timely file all required transcripts. Accordingly, in practice, the Court has allowed two 

automatic extensions and occasional subsequent extensions, which together have created 

undue delay in the processing of appeals and have imposed unnecessary administrative 
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burdens on the Court. 

Upon consideration, and in the interests of promoting due process and the 

interests of all parties in the timely resolution of criminal appeals, and consistent with 

Rule 31.3, which gives the Court authority in exceptional circumstances to suspend the 

requirements of any section of Rule 31, 

IT IS ORDERED that the Court adopts the following policy regarding extensions 

for filing transcripts: 

1. Upon request, the Court will grant a court reporter an initial extension of 

30 days for the filing of a transcript, without any showing of cause, as long as the court 

reporter files a request at least one day prior to the date the transcript is due. 

2. The Court will grant a request for any subsequent extension only upon a 

showing of actual and substantial good cause. Mere references to “other work” or “pre- 

planned vacation” normally will not constitute actual and substantial good cause 

sufficient to warrant a subsequent extension of time. Instead, a court reporter must 

provide a detailed explanation why the extension is necessary. 

3. In determining whether such a subsequent extension will be granted, the 

Court will consider, among other factors, whether a court reporter’s inability to timely 

complete the transcript is the result of circumstances that could not have been anticipated; 

whether the court reporter has timely requested “desk time,” leave from work, or other 

accommodations from a supervisor and/or judge to facilitate preparation of the 

transcript; whether the court reporter is utilizing available resources to complete the 

transcript, including the services of a scopist; whether the trial proceedings were 
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unusually lengthy; and the court reporter’s past performance in meeting transcript due 

dates. 

4. If a court reporter fails to file a transcript on or before the original due date, 

or by the due date specified in an order granting an extension, the reporter will be 

required to appear and show cause why sanctions should not be imposed. 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Court adopts the following policy regarding 

requests for additional transcripts: 

1. Any request for transcripts, whether by designation pursuant to Rule 

31.8(b)(2) or by motion to supplement, must identify the date of the proceeding, the 

judicial officer who presided, and the court reporter who was present. 

2. Any request for additional transcripts must be served on each identified 

court reporter. 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Court adopts the following policy regarding 

distribution of filed transcripts: 

After transcripts have been filed with the Court, the court reporter must comply 

with Rule 31.8(d) within three days. 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the policies adopted in this Administrative Order 

will apply to all criminal appeals pending in the Court as of February 20, 2019. 

 /s/   
Samuel A. Thumma 
Chief Judge, Division One 
Arizona Court of Appeals 


