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Appellants' rights to due process require the Court of Appeals to timely resolve
criminal appeals, and, by rule, the Court is required to give precedence to criminal
appeals. Arizona Rule of Criminal Procedure ("Rule") 31.14(b). The timely resolution of
criminal appeals also promotes victims' rights under the Arizona Constitution. In many
appeals, however, undue delay results when the Court grants multiple requests for
additional time for preparation of transcripts or when parties make requests for
additional transcripts that are not plainly identified.

Pursuant to Rules 31.8(b)(2), -(d)(3)(i), -(d)(3)(ii) and 31.9(a), in every criminal
appeal except one in which the death penalty has been imposed, certified transcripts of
specified proceedings in the superior court must be prepared and filed with the Court of
Appeals. If the notice of appeal packet provided to the Court of Appeals by the superior
court indicates that the appellant proceeded as an indigent at trial or at sentencing, the
deadline for a court reporter to file such transcripts is 45 days from the date of filing of
the notice of appeal. Rule 31.8(d)(1), Rule 31.9(a). In that circumstance, a court reporter

is “required to begin transcribing as soon as possible after receiving the notice of appeal.”
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Ariz. R. Crim. P. 31.8(d) (cmt). If the appellant's indigency cannot be confirmed from the
notice of appeal packet, but is later established, the Court will issue an order allowing the
court reporter 45 days to file the transcripts from the date of the order confirming
indigency.

Within five days after the filing of the notice of appeal, a non-indigent appellant
must make arrangements with the court reporter to pay for the certified transcript. See
Ariz. R. Crim. P. 31.8(d)(2). In such cases, the transcript is due 45 days from filing of the
notice of appeal. Ariz. R. Crim. P. 31.9(a).

If a party, pursuant to Rule 31.8(b)(4), requests that a court reporter prepare
transcripts of additional proceedings not automatically transcribed under Rule 31.8(b)(2),
the deadline for filing such transcripts shall be established by Court order, not to exceed
30 days.

Rule 31.9(c) provides that the Court may, on a showing of good cause, grant one
extension of no longer than 20 days for the filing of transcripts. On occasion, a single 20-
day extension may not be sufficient to allow a court reporter to timely file all required
transcripts. Accordingly, in practice, the Court has allowed two automatic extensions
and occasional additional extensions, which together have created undue delay in the
processing of appeals and have imposed unnecessary administrative burdens on the
Court.

Upon consideration, and in the interests of promoting due process and the

interests of all parties in the timely resolution of criminal appeals, and consistent with



Rule 31.20, which gives the Court authority in exceptional circumstances to suspend the
requirements of any section of Rule 31,

IT IS ORDERED that the Court adopts the following policy regarding extensions
for filing transcripts:

1. Upon request, the Court will grant a court reporter an initial extension of
30 days for the filing of a transcript, without any showing of cause, as long as the court
reporter files a request at least one day prior to the date the transcript is due.

2. The Court will grant a request for any subsequent extension only upon a
showing of actual and substantial good cause. Mere references to “other work” or “pre-
planned vacation” normally will not constitute actual and substantial good cause
sufficient to warrant a subsequent extension of time. Instead, a court reporter must
provide a detailed explanation why the extension is necessary.

3. In determining whether such a subsequent extension will be granted, the
Court will consider, among other factors, whether a court reporter’s inability to timely
complete the transcript is the result of circumstances that could not have been anticipated;
whether the court reporter has timely requested “desk time,” leave from work, or other
accommodations from a supervisor and/or judge to facilitate preparation of the
transcript; whether the court reporter is utilizing available resources to complete the
transcript, including the services of a scopist; whether the trial proceedings were
unusually lengthy; and the court reporter’s past performance in meeting transcript due

dates.



4. If a court reporter fails to file a transcript on or before the original due date,
or by the due date specified in an order granting an extension, the reporter will be
required to appear and show cause why sanctions should not be imposed.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Court adopts the following policy regarding
requests for additional transcripts:

1. Any request for transcripts, whether by designation pursuant to Rule
31.8(b)(4), or by motion to supplement, must identify the date of the proceeding, the
judicial officer who presided, and the court reporter who was present.

2. Any request for additional transcripts must be served on each identified
court reporter.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Court adopts the following policy regarding
distribution of filed transcripts:

After transcripts have been filed with the Court, the court reporter must comply
with Rule 31.8(d)(3) within three days.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the policies adopted in this Administrative Order

will apply to all criminal appeals pending in the Court as of April 15, 2015.

/s/
Diane M. Johnsen
Chief Judge, Division One
Arizona Court of Appeals




