Code Standardization - LJ

The mission of the Limited Jurisdiction Code Standardization Workgroup is to develop a standard code set for use in an automated case management system for the limited jurisdiction courts.

The code tables to be addressed shall include but are not limited to Court Type, Case Category, Case Type, Party Type, Event Codes, Financial Codes, Citation Type, Event Category, Party Status, and Results Codes.

The codes will be used in a range of automation projects including but not restricted to statistical reporting, case management reporting, public access and reporting to other government agencies.

  • Limited Jurisdiction Code Standards
  1. Address Types – provides approved address types
  2. Appearance Reasons – identifies the different types of hearings and what court types they apply to
  3. Attorney Status – provides the different statuses assigned to attorneys
  4. Attorney Types – provides approved attorney descriptions
  5. Bar Association – Provides proper titles for each State Bar
  6. Case Category – provides approved case categories and the court type under which they appear
  7. Case Filing Types – provides approved types of filing and their associated court types
  8. Case Status – provides approved case statuses and the court types in which they are used
  9. Case Subtypes – provides approved case subtypes as well as their associated case type, case category and court type
  10. Case Types – provides approved case types as well as their associated case category and court types
  11. Citing Agency Prefix – prefix for most citing agencies
  12. Commenced By – provides approved methods by which a case can be commenced and the associated court types
  13. Confinement Types – provides approved confinement type locations
  14. Demographics – provides NCIC approved ethnicity, eye color, hair color and race codes
  15. Disposed By – provides approved modes by which a case can be disposed
  16. Disposition Codes – provides disposition codes approved by MVD or DPS
  17. Event Category – provides approved event categories as well as the court types in which they are used
  18. Event Entry Types – provides approved events with their corresponding event category as well as the following information: Effective/End Date, Event Code, Data Warehouse code, System Event-True/False, Court Type in which they are used, whether it displays on Public Access/CCR
  19. Hearing Result Codes – provides approved hearing results
  20. Identity Types – provides approved ID types
  21. Language Codes – provides approved languages
  22. Name Types – provides approved name types
  23. Party Status – provides approved party statuses and their associated court types
  24. Payment Sources – provides approved sources through which payments can be received and the associated Tender Types
  25. Person Alerts – approved alerts which display on the Case Dashboard
  26. Physical Mark Types – provides approved physical mark types
  27. Plea Codes – provides approved types of pleas
  28. PO Party Role – party roles for protective orders
  29. PO Relationship Codes – provides PO Relationship codes set by statute
  30. Point of Contact – provides approved points of contacts
  31. Sentence Types – provides approved forms of sentencing
  32. Sentencing - Court Mandates - provides approved court mandates
  33. Tender Types – different forms of payment accepted by the court
  34. Tickler Types – used to alert users that an action needs to be taken on a case