Official Performance Ratings Announced

September 16, 2010
Judicial Perfomance Review Commission Announces Official Perfomance Ratings for Judges

The Arizona Judicial Performance Review (JPR) Commission has released its official findings on judicial performance for each judge whose name will appear on the General Election Ballot. Voters can find detailed information in the Secretary of State’s Publicity Pamphlet, which is mailed to each voting household, or by visiting

How to Use the Website:

Voters just need to first visit and then choose their county by clicking on the map or drop-down list to see all the judges on their ballot and the Commission's finding. 

By visiting the website, voters can see detailed reports on each judge's performance. Under each judge’s name, there are additional links that show voters extensive detail on important qualities such as a judge’s legal ability, integrity, judicial temperament, and other issues. For example, if a voter wants to see how jurors rated a judge on the question of “integrity,” that information is available on the website.


How the Arizona Judicial Performance Review Commission Works

In every General Election, voters decide how to vote for judges in their community. When voters review the ballot, they might see a long list of judges and wonder how to find information to help them decide how to vote on each judge. The Arizona Commission on Judicial Performance Review, a constitutionally created commission comprised of public members, attorneys, and judges, evaluates each of these judges and provides information so voters can make informed decisions. 


This Commission asks attorneys, jurors, litigants, witnesses, and other people who have appeared before these judges to complete a survey on the judge’s legal ability, integrity, judicial temperament, and other attributes. The Commission reviews this data and other public input, and then votes on whether a judge “meets” or “does not meet” judicial performance standards. 


The Commission publishes its findings in the Secretary of State’s Publicity Pamphlet, which is mailed to each voter household. You can also obtain this detailed information on the web at

The following justices and judges will appear on the 2010 general election ballot:

Arizona Supreme Court:

Rebecca White Berch



Court of Appeals Division I:

Daniel A. Barker
Michael J. Brown
John C. Gemmill
Philip L. Hall
Patrick Irvine
Jon W. Thompson
Lawrence F. Winthrop

Superior Court in Maricopa County:

Mark F. Aceto
Aimee L. Anderson
Arthur T. Anderson
Janet E. Barton
Edward W. Bassett
Dawn M. Bergin
Roger E. Brodman
William L. Brotherton
Robert Budoff
Edward O. Burke
Harriett E. Chavez
Norman J. Davis
Gary E. Donahoe
Sally S. Duncan
Alfred M. Fenzel
Dean M. Fink
George H. Foster
Pendleton Gaines
J. Richard Gama
Larry Grant
Warren J. Granville
Brian R. Hauser
Hugh E. Hegyi
Joseph B. Heilman
Bethany G. Hicks                                      
M. Jean Hoag
Carey S. Hyatt                                           
Brian K. Ishikawa
Michael D. Jones
Joseph C. Kreamer
Raymond Lee
J. Kenneth Mangum
Daniel G. Martin
Rosa P. Mroz
Samuel J. Myers
Benjamin R. Norris
Karen L. O’Connor
Susanna C. Pineda
Douglas L. Rayes
John C. Rea
Peter C. Reinstein
Emmet J. Ronan
David M. Talamante
Samuel J. Thumma
Maria del Mar Verdin
Randall H. Warner
Joseph C. Welty
Eileen S. Willett

Superior Court in Pima County:

Ted B. Borek                               
Christopher C. Browning            

Hector E. Campoy    
Terry Chandler                   
Javier Chon-Lopez

Michael Cruikshank

Charles V. Harrington

Richard D. Nichols