Before you ask for an Order of Protection, know how SERVICE works in Arizona


 

Service
is when a copy of the petition and the order are personally delivered to the person from whom you want to be protected (the defendant). Arizona law about serving an Order of Protection has changed. Please read important information below before you file. 
  1  IF THE JUDGE GRANTS YOUR PETITION … 

the court will send the Order of Protection and a copy of the petition out for service TODAY, unless the court delays it. The court cannot delay sending the order out for service for more than 72 hours.

  2  THE ORDER WILL BE SERVED ...

by the police or a constable as soon as they can find the defendant. The agency closest to the defendant's address will be assigned to serve the Order of Protection. Service of an Order of Protection is free.

  3  DO YOU HAVE A SAFETY PLAN? 

An Order of Protection cannot guarantee your safety, but it may be part of an effective safety plan. If the court issues an Order of Protection today, it will be sent out for service quickly. To talk to a victim advocate before filing your petition, ask the clerk if a victim advocate is available. The Arizona Coalition to End Sexual and Domestic Violence (ACESDV) can provide safety planning information. Call them at 602-279-2900, 800-782-6400, or TTY 602-279-7270. Find safety planning information from ACESDV.

  4  IF YOU’RE NOT SURE ABOUT FILING YOUR PETITION TODAY …

please know you can come back to any Arizona court to file a petition later. This will give you time to talk to an advocate about a safety plan or seek advice from a legal advocate. (Go to AZCourtHelp.org for information about legal help).

  5  IF YOU’RE READY TO FILE YOUR PETITION TODAY— 

knowing that an Order of Protection will be sent out for service today or within 72 hours—please tell the clerk so a court hearing can be set up for you. 




The information offered on this site is made available as a public service and is not intended to take the place of legal advice and cover all topic areas. If you do not understand something or are not sure these videos, info sheets, FAQs, forms or instructions apply to your situation, see an attorney for help. For more information, go to: https://www.azcourts.gov/domesticviolencelaw.

The Supreme Court assumes no responsibility and accepts no liability for actions taken by users of these legal resources, including reliance on their contents.