IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ARIZONA

In the Matter of:)	
)	
ESTABLISHING THE ARIZONA)	Administrative Order
JUDICIAL BRANCH 2006)	No. 2006- 11
ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS SELECTION)	
COMMITTEE AND APPOINTMENT OF)	
COMMITTEE MEMBERS)	
	_)	

In accordance with the Arizona Code of Judicial Administration, §1-104, the Chief Justice may establish standing committees to the Arizona Judicial Council to assist the Council in carrying out its responsibilities.

Under the authority granted to the Chief Justice by the Arizona Constitution, Article VI, Section 3, the Arizona Judicial Branch 2006 Achievement Awards Selection Committee is established. Therefore, after due consideration,

IT IS ORDERED that the Arizona Judicial Council Achievement Awards for 2006 shall be presented to individuals, groups or courts who have made substantial contributions to the following categories: Providing Access to Swift, Fair Justice; Protecting Children, Families and Communities; Being Accountable; Improving Communication and Cooperation with the Community; and Serving the Public by Improving the Legal Profession.

The Arizona Judicial Branch Distinguished Service Awards shall be presented in the following areas: the Chief Justice's Outstanding Contribution to the Courts Award shall be presented to any individual, project or group whether or not they are within the Arizona Judicial Branch; the Supreme Court's Improving Public Trust and Confidence shall be presented to judges in the Arizona Judicial Branch; and the Administrative Director's Administration of Justice Award shall be presented to non-judge employees of the Arizona Judicial Branch. The awards shall be presented at the Annual Judicial Conference.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following individuals are appointed to the Arizona Judicial Branch 2006 Achievement Awards Selection Committee for the express purpose of considering the Achievement Awards 2006 nominations. Committee members shall serve at the pleasure of the Chief Justice.

The appointed members shall make award recommendations to the Arizona Supreme Court. The appointed members shall hold their appointed position beginning on this date and expiring on June 23, 2006.

Hon. Maurice Portley Deborah Schaefer Emily Johnston Tim Hardy Hon. Dave Widmaier Hon. Antonio Riojas Hon. Margaret Downie Susan Edwards Hon. William O'Neil

Dated this 1st day of February, 2006.

RUTH V. MCGREGOR Chief Justice