IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ARIZONA

In the Matter of:)	
ESTABLISHMENT OF THE ADMISSION ON MOTION TASK FORCE, APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS, AND SCHEDULE)))	Administrative Order No. 2008 - 13
)	

On October 2, 2006, Mr. Timothy P. Burr submitted Petition R-06-0017, requesting that the Supreme Court revise the rules for admission to the practice of law in Arizona to allow admission of five-year practitioners by motion under certain reciprocity constraints. The Court circulated the Petition for public comment, and on September 6, 2007, continued the Petition to allow for further examination of the proposed rule changes. The Court has deemed it advisable to constitute a Task Force to examine the impact of the proposed rule changes and to recommend how these changes, if adopted, would be implemented.

Now, therefore, pursuant to Article VI, Section 3 of the Arizona Constitution,

IT IS ORDERED that the Admission on Motion Task Force is established as follows:

1. PURPOSE: The Task Force shall:

- a. Review the Report and Final Recommendations to the Board of Governors of the Arizona Multi-jurisdictional Task Force.
- b. Compare the proposed rule with the American Bar Association model rule and identify any differences.
- c. Assess the recommended required course on Arizona law; the impact of this course on admission on motion and reciprocity with other states, and the development, credentialing and administration of this course.
- d. Assess the administrative impact of admission on motion and reciprocity, based on the experiences of other states with admission on motion and reciprocity rules.
- 2. MEMBERSHIP: The membership of the Task Force is attached as Appendix A. The Chief Justice may appoint additional members as may be necessary.
- 3. MEETINGS: At the discretion of the Chair, meetings may be scheduled and rescheduled, canceled, or moved. All meetings shall comply with the Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 1-202: Public Meetings.

- 4. REPORTS: The Task Force shall submit a final report of its findings and recommendations to the Supreme Court by May 1, 2008.
- 5. STAFF: The Administrative Office of the Courts shall provide staff for the Task Force and, as feasible, conduct or coordinate research as requested by the Task Force.

Dated this 30th day of January, 2008.

RUTH V. McGREGOR Chief Justice

Appendix A

Admission on Motion Task Force

Chair

Vice Chief Justice Rebecca Berch Arizona Supreme Court

Members

Barbara Atwood Professor of Law James E. Rogers College of Law The University of Arizona Pima County

Timothy Burr Jennings, Strouss and Salmon Maricopa County

Terri Clarke Member, Committee on Examinations Maricopa County Attorney's Office Maricopa County

Noel Fidel Associate Dean Sandra Day O'Conner College of Law Arizona State University Maricopa County Troy Foster Member Committee on Character and Fitness Ford & Harrison Maricopa County

Stephen Gerst Associate Professor of Law Phoenix School of Law Maricopa County

Daniel McAuliffe President, State Bar of Arizona Snell & Wilmer LLP Maricopa County

Teresa Schmid Director State Bar of Arizona Maricopa County