IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ARIZONA

)

)

)

)

)

In the Matter of:

ESTABLISHMENT OF THE APPELLATE COURTOOLS COMMITTEE Administrative Order No. 2008 - 46

Performance measures have become an important part of evaluating organizational success. Arizona has begun implementing CourTools, developed by the National Center for State Courts, to benchmark and improve the performance of trial courts. Similar measures must be developed for appellate courts.

In accordance with Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 1-104, the chief justice may establish advisory committees to the Arizona Judicial Council to assist the Council in carrying out its responsibilities. Therefore, pursuant to Article VI, Section 3, of the Arizona Constitution,

IT IS ORDERED that the Appellate CourTools Committee is established to evaluate and recommend measures by which Arizona's appellate courts can track and improve performance. The Appellate CourTools Committee shall provide an interim report to the Arizona Judicial Council in December 2008, and shall provide a final report to the Arizona Judicial Council in March 2009.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the individuals listed on Appendix A are appointed as members of the Appellate CourTools Committee, effective upon entry of this Order and ending on March 31, 2009. The Chief Justice may appoint additional members as necessary.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the committee meetings shall be scheduled at the discretion of the Committee Chair. The Administrative Office of the Court shall provide staff for the Committee. As requested by the Committee, staff may conduct or coordinate research and consult with external experts.

Dated this 4th day of June, 2008.

RUTH V. McGREGOR Chief Justice

Appendix A

Appellate CourTools Committee

Chair Chief Justice Ruth V. McGregor Arizona Supreme Court

Members

Hon. Ann A. Scott Timmer Vice Chief Judge Court of Appeals, Division 1

Rachelle M. Resnick Clerk of Court Arizona Supreme Court

Phil Urry Clerk of Court Court of Appeals Division 1

Barbara Vidal Vaught Staff Attorney Court of Appeals Division 1

Jones Osborn Public Member Hon. John Pelander Chief Judge Court of Appeals, Division 2

Jeff Handler Clerk of Court Court of Appeals Division 2

Ellen Crowley Staff Attorney Arizona Supreme Court

Timothy J. Berg Attorney Appellate Bar Representative