## **Supreme Court Board of Certified Reporters**

Arizona State Courts Building 1501 West Washington, Phoenix, AZ 85007 Conference Room CLD1 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.

## December 29, 2005 Approved Regular Session Minutes

Members Present: Judge Lawrence Winthrop Patricia Seguin AOC Staff Present: Rhonda Simmons Nina Preston Brenda Lee Dominguez

**Members Absent:** 

Judge Jan Kearney

**Guests:** Pamela Griffin Carole Whipple Linda Grau

#### Members Telephonically Present: Kathleen Montalvo James Bouley Jean Lea Jennifer Stadler Sandra Markham William Druke

# **Regular Session**

## Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Sandra Markham at 12:02 p.m.

#### **Recommendations and Board Action**

## Application for Initial Certification to begin January 1, 2006

Rhonda Simmons informed the Board the following reporter has passed the RPR and Arizona Written Exam and meets all other qualifications for certification, but because the FBI results have not been processed and returned to the Program, she should be granted Provisional Standard Certification beginning January 1, 2006:

Randi Friedman

A motion was made by William Druke and seconded by Kathleen Montalvo to grant Provision Standard Certification to Randi Friedman based on all documents provided and pending results of the fingerprint background check. Motion passed. **BCCR-05-173** 

#### Applications for Renewal.

Rhonda Simmons informed the Board the following reporters are late renewals. They have all paid the late renewal fee and have provided their continuing education documentation and it is therefore recommended they be granted renewal of their Standard Certification at this time:

Nona Allen Renae Bixby Laurel Dunn Kathryn Lorenz Cynthia Warren

> A **motion** was made by William Druke and seconded by Kathleen Montalvo to grant the above listed reporters renewal of their Standard Certification based on documentation provided showing they meet all qualifications for renewal. Motion passed. **BCCR-05-174**

Rhonda Simmons informed the Board the following reporters have provided their continuing education documentation and it is therefore recommended they be granted Standard Certification:

Leslie Baird Judie Bryant Michael Haley Marcia Harness Christine Sanzone Michelle Seymour Jennifer Smith Wilma Weinreich Laurie Yazwa

> A **motion** was made by Judge Lawrence Winthrop and seconded by Jean Lea to grant the above listed reporters renewal of their Standard Certification based on documentation provided showing they meet all qualifications for renewal. Motion passed. **BCCR-05-175**

Carole Whipple addressed the Board regarding her test anxiety which she states has prevented her from passing the RPR and requested this be taken into consideration when addressing her renewal application. Ms. Whipple states if necessary she will be appealing the Board's decision today.

Guests left meeting during Executive Session at 12:11 p.m.

#### Executive Session Started at 12:11 p.m.

A **motion** was made by William Druke and seconded by Kathleen Montalvo to go into Executive Session to discuss records exempt by law or rule from public inspection and for advice of legal counsel, pursuant to Arizona Code of Judicial Administration Code Section § 1-202(C)(5)(b) and (c) Motion passed. **BCCR-05-176** 

#### Executive Session Ended at 12:38 p.m.

Guests returned to meeting.

Provisionals who have provided the RPR results and do not indicate disputing.

Michelle Elam Lydia Elias Cheryl Gardner Toni Gehm Lorraine Halberb Linda Hironimus Diane Laur Connie McQueary Alice Peltcs Bonnie Ponce Denise Style Natalie Wetervelt Carole Whipple

A **motion** was made by Judge Lawrence Winthrop and seconded by William Druke to deny renewal of certification to the above listed reporters due to documentation provided showing they have not passed all components of the RPR as required pursuant to \$7-206(G)(5)(b)(1)(d) and (e). The reporters have the right to appeal this decision and can continue working pending resolution of the appeal. Patricia Seguin and James Bouley recused. Motion passed. **BCCR-05-177** 

Provisionals who have not passed the RPR, but are disputing the results.

Kate Baumgarth Adam Gage

A motion was made by Judge Lawrence Winthrop and seconded by Patricia Seguin regarding the above listed reporters to extend their Provisional Standard Certificates to February 13, 2006 and require the above reporters to provide the results of their November 2005 RPR to the Program by January 31, 2006. Motion passed. **BCCR-05-178** 

Provisionals who have not provided the RPR results to the Program.

Sharon Flores Lori Hetland Kathleen Incavo Mary Manning Ana-Leticia Quintero Lynette Rozwood

A **motion** was made by Judge Lawrence Winthrop and seconded by William Druke regarding the above listed reporters who have not provided the Board with information concerning their RPR results noting § 7-206(G)(5)(b)(1)(d) which allows them to wait until January 31, 2006 to do so, to extend until February 13, 2006 Board meeting with the provision that the reporters provide the RPR results to the Program on or before January 31, 2006 as required. Motion passed. **BCCR-05-179** 

#### Applications for Conversion and Renewal.

Rhonda Simmons reported the following reporters requested their certificates be converted from Provisional Standard Certification to Standard Certification based on the Program receiving documentation showing they have passed the RPR and meet all other qualifications for certification.

W. Bert Lundy Wendy Pullium

A **motion** was made by William Druke and seconded by Jean Lea to convert the certificates of the above listed reporters from Provisional Standard Certification to Standard Certification based on the Program receiving documentation they have passed the RPR. Motion passed. **BCCR-05-180** 

Guests left the meeting at 12:42 p.m.

#### **Continuing Education Issues**

#### Consideration of request for extension.

Rhonda Simmons informed the Board Deborah Trattel is requesting credit hours be carried over from 2004 for her continuing education. Ms. Trattel has 3 credit hours she needs to complete for renewal of her certification.

A **motion** was made by William Druke and seconded by Judge Lawrence Winthrop to conditionally renew Standard Certification for Deborah Trattel upon the condition she complete the remaining 3 credits hours required by December 31, 2005 and

provide proof to the Board by January 3, 2006 and pay a delinquent continuing education compliance fee of \$25.00. Motion passed. **BCCR-05-181** 

### Request for Hearing and appointment.

Rhonda Simmons informed the Board Lisa Blanks requested a hearing in regards to the denial of her renewal request for Standard Certification at the December 12, 2005 Board meeting, but has agreed to waive the fifteen day hearing notice requirement and meet with the Board on January 9, 2006 to discuss this matter.

#### Call to the Public

None at this time.

#### Adjournment

A motion was made by William Druke and seconded by Judge Lawrence Winthrop to adjourn. Motion Passed. **BCCR-05-182** 

The meeting of the Board of Certified Reporters adjourned at 12:59 p.m.