Arizona Legal Paraprofessional Program Licensing Requirements (Refer to the Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-210)

Requirement	ACJA section	Description
Education pathway (degrees)	§ 7-210(E)(6) (Note: Code does not require specific courses for JD applicants)	 Associate-level degree in paralegal studies, or any Associate-level degree plus certificate in paralegal studies approved by ABA or accredited by U.S. Department of Education or Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) recognized agency Minimum of 24 semester units or clock hour equivalent in legal specialization courses Requires one year of substantive experience in addition to degree (see below) Four-year Bachelor's degree in Law Master of Legal Studies (MLS) Juris Doctor from ABA school (excludes disbarred or suspended lawyers) Foreign-trained lawyer with LLM from ABA accredited law school Certification program for legal paraprofessionals approved by the Arizona Judicial Council (future option) All endorsement subject matter areas require the following minimum coursework as part of the degree program: 3 credit hours in each of Evidence, Legal Research and Writing, and Professional Responsibility 120 hours of experiential learning that includes advocacy in each subject matter area of endorsement Additional requirements by endorsement: Family Law: 3 credit hours in family law and 6 credit hours in civil procedure Civil Law: 3 credit hours in family law and 6 credit hours in civil procedure Civil Law: 3 credit hours in administrative law
Education pathway (experience)	§ 7-210(E)(6)	 All candidates must have 120 hours of experiential learning that includes content on advocacy in each area of endorsement (except JD applicants) Associate-level degree applicants also require 1 year of substantive law related experience under the supervision of a lawyer in the practice area of each endorsement
Experience pathway	§ 7-210(E)(6)(f) § 7-210(E)(7)	 Alternate route to qualification if candidate does not satisfy § 7-210(E)(3)(b) 7 years of full-time substantive law-related experience within 10 years preceding application 2 years of experience in the practice area in which the applicant seeks licensure Proof of experience must be certified by the supervising attorney (State bar number, dates of employment, etc.)
Examination	§ 7-210(E)(2)(b)	 Two-parts (each is a 3-hour, multiple choice exam) Core exam legal terminology, substantive law, client communication, data gathering, document preparation, and ethics Subject matter exam substantive law in specific area that will become an endorsement on the LP's license

¥