Get to Know the Court of Appeals!

The Arizona Legislature established the Arizona Court of Appeals in 1965. The Court serves as an intermediate appellate court with two divisions: Division One, based in Phoenix, and Division Two, based in Tucson. Division One originally had only three judges and, over time, expanded with the State’s population to its current complement of 19 judges.

Division One resolves appeals from the Superior Court in eight of Arizona’s 15 counties: Apache, Coconino, La Paz, Navajo, Maricopa, Mohave, Yavapai, and Yuma. In addition, the Court reviews decisions made by the Industrial Commission, the Corporation Commission, the Department of Economic Security, and other state commissions and boards.

A career in the Judicial Branch is about serving the community with a commitment to ensuring equal access to justice. Judges and employees of the Arizona Court of Appeals, Division One, take this responsibility to heart and are dedicated to upholding the independence, integrity, and impartiality of the judiciary.