Judicial Performance Review

Who Judges the Judges? You Do!




No matching records found.



News and Meetings

Friday, April 6, 2018Back to List    Print
Commission to Vote on Performance of Justices & Judges on 2018 General Election Ballot

Contact:  Vanessa Haney
(602) 452-3098


The Arizona Commission on Judicial Performance Review will meet at 9:30 a.m. in Room 345 of the Arizona State Courts Building in Phoenix, on Friday, April 20, to vote on whether the justices and judges scheduled to be on the 2018 general election ballot “Meet” or “Do Not Meet” judicial performance standards. The public is invited to attend the meeting.

The JPR Commission was established in 1992 by a constitutional amendment passed by voters, and is charged with conducting performance reviews of judges. It sets performance standards for judges, decides whether a judge meets those standards, and publishes its findings for voters.  

The Commission surveyed litigants, witnesses, jurors, people who represented themselves in court, and attorneys who appeared before Superior Court judges from February through May 2017.  Surveys on appellate court justices and judges are distributed throughout their term.  More than 10,000 surveys were completed by court users about the judges reviewed in 2017. The Commission also considers written comments and comments made at a public hearing.

The Commission’s findings will be published in the Secretary of State’s voter pamphlet.  The findings will also be available on the Commission’s website at  Voters will decide whether or not to retain each judge or justice at the November 6 general election.  

The following justices and judges are scheduled to be listed on the 2018 general election ballot:

Arizona Supreme Court:

Clint Bolick
John Pelander, III

Court of Appeals, Division 1:
Peter Swann

Court of Appeals, Division 2:
Peter Eckerstrom
Philip Espinosa
Christopher Staring

Superior Court in Maricopa County:
Hon. Aimee L. Anderson
Hon. Arthur T. Anderson
Hon. Bradley Astrowsky
Hon. Alison S. Bachus
Hon. Cynthia J. Bailey
Hon. Janet E. Barton
Hon. Dawn M. Bergin
Hon. Michael Blair
Hon. Mark H. Brain Hon. 
Hon. Roger E. Brodman
Hon. Theodore Campagnolo
Hon. Gregory S. Como
Hon. Katherine M. Cooper
Hon. Janice K. Crawford
Hon. Kristin Culbertson
Hon. David O. Cunanan
Hon. Sally S. Duncan
Hon. Dean M. Fink  
Hon. Geoffrey Fish
Hon. George H. Foster
Hon. Dewain Fox
Hon. Warren J. Granville
Hon. Jennifer Green
Hon. Hugh E. Hegyi
Hon. Michael J. Herrod
Hon. Stephen M. Hopkins
Hon. Ronee Korbin Steiner
Hon. Joseph C. Kreamer
Hon. Kerstin G. LeMaire
Hon. Daniel G. Martin
Hon. Frank W. Moskowitz
Hon. Rosa P. Mroz
Hon. Samuel J. Myers
Hon. Karen L. O'Connor
Hon. Erin Otis
Hon. Susanna C. Pineda
Hon. Jay Polk
Hon. John C. Rea
Hon. Laura M. Reckart
Hon. Peter C. Reinstein
Hon. Joshua D. Rogers
Hon. Jeffrey Rueter
Hon. Jennifer Ryan-Touhill
Hon. Joan M. Sinclair
Hon. James D. Smith
Hon. Howard D. Sukenic
Hon. Pamela H. Svoboda
Hon. David M. Talamante
Hon. Danielle J. Viola
Hon. Randall H. Warner
Hon. Joseph C. Welty
Hon. Roy Whitehead

Superior Court in Pima County:
Hon. Jeffrey T. Bergin
Hon. Janet Bostwick
Hon. Christopher C. Browning
Hon. Javier Chon-Lopez
Hon. Charles V. Harrington
Hon. Peter Hochuli
Hon. Cynthia Kuhn
Hon. Danelle B. Liwski
Hon. James E. Marner
Hon. Kathleen A. Quigley
Hon. Catherine M. Woods

Superior Court in Pinal County:
Hon. Steven J. Fuller
Hon. Delia Neal
Hon. Brenda E. Oldham
Hon. Daniel A. Washburn
Hon. Kevin D. White