Judicial Ethics Advisory Committee Overview

The Judicial Ethics Advisory Committee has nine members, seven of whom are judges from the appellate, superior, justice and municipal courts, and two of whom are attorneys. All members are appointed by the Chief Justice of the Arizona Supreme Court and serve three-year terms. The committee meets periodically but conducts most of its business by telephone and email.

Administrative support for the committee is provided by Staff Director Margaret H. Downie, who also serves as Executive Director of the Commission on Judicial Conduct.  However, ethics inquiries and files are not shared with Commission staff, and the names of those seeking ethics advice are typically redacted from communications sent to the full committee.  By supreme court rule, a judge’s reliance on a formal opinion of the JEAC may be raised as a defense in a disciplinary proceeding before the commission.