Arizona Judicial Branch

Arizona Judicial Council

The Arizona Judicial Council (AJC) is a policy-making body that oversees the judicial system in Arizona. AJC was created in 1990 and in accordance with the Administrative Order No. 90-13 and the Arizona Code of Judicial Administration §1-104, to assist the Supreme Court and the Chief Justice in the development and implementation of policies and procedures for the administration of all courts, uniformity in court operations and coordination of court services that will improve the administration of justice in the state of Arizona.

Advancing Justice

Path to the Creation of AJC:

In 1960, Arizona voters approved an amendment to the state constitution that clearly placed the responsibility for the overall administration of the Arizona's court system upon the Arizona Supreme Court.

In 1978, the Supreme Court created the Council on Judicial Administration to recommend administrative polices and procedures designed to accomplish the full and complete integration of the Arizona Court System.

In 1988, Chief Justice Frank X. Gordon, signed Administrative order 1988-06 creating  the Commission on the Courts, chaired by Eddie Basha.  The purpose the Commission on the Courts (now AJC) was to ensure that all Arizonans are entitles to a justice system that:

  • Resolves criminal charges and civil disputes between citizens fairly and without undue delay;
  • Employees modern managements and technology to facilitate its task of providing justice;
  • Is accountable for its work;
  • Receives the human and technical resources it needs to perform its mission and manages those resources to maximize its effectiveness and minimize waste and;
  • Is able to respond to foreseeable and unforeseeable social, technological, demographic, and environmental changes

In 1989, the Commission on the Courts recommended that a judicial council be established to oversee the administration of the state's court system to help alleviate some the the administrative burden placed on the Court. The Court determined that the court system would be best served by restructuring the existing Council on Judicial Administration.

In 1990, the Council on Judicial Administrative was restructured and renamed the Arizona Judicial Council.