Home > Child Support and Family Law

About the Child Support Calculator

The Child Support Calculator is an interactive program that will calculate a child support amount based on the Arizona Child Support Guidelines. In cases of default, the guidelines in effect at the time of filing the action will be used. Parties may agree to use either the guidelines in effect at the time of filing the action or those in effect at the time the order is entered. Before using a child support calculator, you must first determine which calculator to use and gather the information applicable to your case.

 
The purpose of the child support calculator is informational and educational only and does not constitute legal advice. The amount of child support a court will order for any particular case may be different from the amount estimated by the calculator. The court has the final authority to determine the amount of child support awarded. The amount yielded by this calculator is only an estimate and is not a guarantee of the amount of child support that will be awarded.
 
 
Determining which Child Support Calculator to Use

Parties should use the most recent version of the child support calculators. Older versions are provided for attorneys and courts that need to find out what child support would have been at the time of an older order.

2022 Child Support Calculators


On April 22, 2021, the Supreme Court adopted revisions to the Arizona Child Support Guidelines based upon the recommendations from the federally mandated quadrennial review and the minimum wage increase to $12.80/hour. Updates based upon the economic portion of the review were also made to the underlying Schedule of Basic Support Obligations. The 2022 child support guidelines are effective for all child support orders, whether original orders or modifications of previous orders, entered after January 1, 2022, except in cases of default or as otherwise agreed upon by the parties.

There are two 2022 Child Support Calculators available for statewide use through the Superior Court in Maricopa County. The first is an interview driven application intended for use by self-represented litigants. The second is an Excel-based version intended for use by judges, attorneys, and people familiar with child support guidelines.


2022 CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATORS

2022 CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES

2021 Child Support Calculator


In January 2021, Arizona’s minimum wage increased to $12.15 per hour. This change impacts the calculation of self-support reserve test amount. In 2020, the calculator was updated to include the increase to minimum wage in the automatic calculation of the self-support reserve amount.


2021 CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATOR

2018 CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES

2018 - 2020 Child Support Calculator


On January 24, 2018, the Supreme Court adopted revisions to the Arizona Child Support Guidelines based in part on recent changes to state law increasing the minimum wage and new federal regulations. No updates or changes were made to the underlying Schedule of Basic Support Obligations. The 2018 child support guidelines are effective for all child support orders, whether original orders or modifications of previous orders, entered after March 31, 2018, except in cases of default or as otherwise agreed upon by the parties.

Note: For those who earn minimum wage in states other than Arizona, a new field was added in 2019 that automatically calculates the self-support reserve amount. In 2020, the calculator was updated to include the increase to minimum wage in the automatic calculation of the self-support reserve amount for 2018, 2019, or 2020.


2018-2020 CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATOR

2018 CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES

2017 Child Support Calculator


Section 15 (Self-Support Reserve Test) of the 2018 Child Support Guidelines, states that the self-support reserve shall be an amount equal to 80% of the monthly full-time earnings at the current state minimum wage at the time of the order. The minimum wage in 2017 was increased to $10 per hour, resulting in a self-support reserve of $1,386. This calculator is intended for minimum wages earned during the time period of January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017, and it reflects a self-support reserve amount of $1,386. No updates or changes were made to the underlying Schedule of Basic Support Obligations since the 2015 child support quadrennial review.


2017 CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATOR

2015 CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES

 
Gathering Applicable Information

After determining the child support calculator you will use for your child support calculation, gather the information listed below, if applicable to your case.

Children’s names and dates of birth.

Extra education expenses paid.

Child support income of both parents.

Extraordinary child expenses paid.

Spousal maintenance paid or received resulting from this marriage.

Parenting time days per year, if not equal parenting time.

Court-ordered child support for children of other relationships.

Court-ordered arrears paid by the parent paying child support.

Medical, dental and vision insurance costs for children only.