Arizona Judicial Branch

Attorney Admissions

Committee on Examinations, Committee on Character and Fitness
Supreme Court of Arizona
Administrative Office of the Courts
1501 W. Washington, Suite 104, Phoenix, AZ 85007-3222

(602) 452-3971  

A list of successful examinees from the Arizona July 2015 Uniform Bar Examination will be posted here on October 9, 2015 at 4:30 PM, Arizona Time.

Applicants may be approved by the Committee on Character and Fitness at any time, and will be notified when approved.  The Supreme Court allows applicants who have been approved to be sworn and admitted at any time, either by mail or in person.  Applicants who are approved receive detailed information regarding admission methods and options. 


The Attorney Admissions team is happy to answer questions with our Customer Service box: 
If a major issue remains unresolved after speaking with our staff, please call

Director Mark Wilson at 602-452-3362 


The Arizona Supreme Court administers the Uniform Bar Examination (UBE). Applicants passing a UBE are allowed to transfer a passing score earned in Arizona to other UBE jurisdictions without testing, subject to the rules of that state. UBE rules vary from state to state; please contact specific jurisdictions if you wish to seek admission based on UBE. Additional information about the Uniform Bar Examination, including a list of UBE jurisdictions, may be found at


There are three paths for admission to the practice of law in the state of Arizona.

      • Rules of Admission PDF
      • Fees & Deadlines PDF

      • February 2016 Exam: February 23 and 24, 2016.
      • Exam Location: Phoenix Convention Center
      • Instructions and Information Memo for applicants certified to sit for the February 2016 Exam will be emailed in January.

      • LAPTOP
        Notice of Intent Form
        Laptop Registration Information for the February 2016 exam will be posted here in January.

      • For General Examination Information click here.
      • Frequently Asked Questions  
      • Veterans may be eligible for partial reimbursement of testing cost. Click here for details. 

    • To access or view the Course on Arizona Law click here. NOTICE: The online program for the Course on Arizona Law is currently experiencing technical issues. Efforts are being made to resolve these issues within 24 hours. Please try back. Our apologies for the inconvenience.

The Admissions Unit of the Certification and Licensing Division oversees the requirements to practice law in Arizona. The staff supports two Supreme Court committees, the Committee on Examinations and Committee on Character and Fitness. The Supreme Court acts on the basis of recommendations that it receives from these two committees. Applicants are admitted to practice law in Arizona by order of the Supreme Court of Arizona. Rules for admission of applicants are set forth in Rules 33 through 38 of the Supreme Court of Arizona.

All candidates, whether by exam or admission on motion, must pass a detailed background investigation. No individual shall practice law in Arizona without having complied with Supreme Court Rules. Final authority for recommendation of admission to the practice of law rests with the Committee on Character and Fitness. Candidates for admission by examination must complete all test requirements in Arizona. No portion of the bar examination may be waived for exam applicants regardless of admission elsewhere or previously earned Multistate Bar Examination (MBE) score. A separate Character Report is required of examination applicants, and may be submitted concurrent with or after application for examination.

                                       Committee on Character & Fitness Members
 Edward F Novak, Chair
Melvin E Hall
Anica P Parker
 Susan E Anderson
Patrick Irvine
Judith D Register
 Lisa J Counters
Alexander B Jamison
Yvonne E Tagart
 Gabriel D Fernandez
Marc R Lieberman
Raymond K Woo
 Fernando Gonzales
Michael A Little
Gloria C Wyatt
Patrick J McGroder III

                                             Committee on Examinations Members
 Mary M Grier, Chair
 David W Lunn
 Deborah L Williams
 Rod Galarza
 Roric Massey
 Richard L Strohm
 Jacqueline Ganier
 Lisa S Wahlin
 Howard D Sukenic
 Kelly LoCascio
 Jeffrey A Weinstein
 Rebecca van Doren