Judicial Branch Awards > Distinguished Service Awards

Distinguished Service Awards

The Arizona Judicial Branch Distinguished Service Awards honor Individuals, projects, and teams who have made outstanding contributions to improving public trust and confidence in the Arizona courts system. The winners are honored at the annual judicial conference. One award is presented in each of the following categories: Outstanding Contribution to the Arizona Courts Award, Judge of the Year Award, Administration of Justice Award, and Outstanding Pro Bono Service Award.

2019 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

Chief Justice Scott Bales and Vice Chief Justice Robert Brutinel with Outstanding Contributions to the Arizona Courts winner, former Chief Justice Rebecca White Berch (ret.).

Chief Justice Scott Bales and Vice Chief Justice Robert Brutinel with Judge of the Year winner, Presiding Judge Kyle Bryson, Superior Court in Pima County.

Director Dave Byers with Administration of Justice Award winner, Barbara Broderick, Chief Probation Officer, Maricopa County Adult Probation Department.

Chief Justice Scott Bales with Outstanding Pro Bono Service winner, Michael Hurley.

The Arizona Supreme Court Justices honored Chief Justice Scott Bales with an Outstanding Service to the Arizona Courts Award. Chief Justice Scott Bales retires at the end of July 2019. Also pictured: Justice James Beene, Dave Byers, Justice Andrew Gould, Justice John Lopez, Justice Clint Bolick, Justice Ann A. Scott Timmer, and Vice Chief Justice Robert Brutinel.