Justice Scott Bales

Chief Justice Scott Bales

J.D., magna cum laude, Harvard Law School,1983;
     Harvard Law Review, Board of Editors, 1981-1983  
M.A., Economics, Harvard University,1980  
B.A., summa cum laude, Michigan State University, 1978

     Phi Beta Kappa, Phi Kappa Phi, Omicron Delta Epsilon


Justice, Arizona Supreme Court, 2005-Present
Lewis and Roca LLP, 2001-2005
Solicitor General, Office of the Arizona Attorney General, 1999-2001
Assistant U.S. Attorney, District of Arizona, 1995-1999
Deputy Assistant Attorney General, Office of Policy Development, U.S. Department of Justice, 1998-1999
Special Investigative Counsel, Office of the Inspector General, U.S. Department of Justice, 1995-1997 (FBI Laboratory Investigation)
Meyer, Hendricks, Victor, Osborn & Maledon, 1985-1994
Law Clerk, U.S. Supreme Court, Justice Sandra Day O'Connor, 1984-1985
Law Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, Judge Joseph T. Sneed III, 1983-1984
Law Clerk, Office of the Solicitor General, U.S. Department of Justice, 1983

Judge Pro Tempore, Arizona Court of Appeals, 1993, 1998-1999
     Maricopa County,1995-2002   
Volunteer Bar Counsel, Arizona State Bar Disciplinary Proceedings, 1993
 Arizona State Senate Ethics Committee, Special Investigative Counsel, 1991
James A. Walsh Outstanding Jurist Award, State Bar of Arizona, 2019
Chief Justice Richard W. Holmes Award of Merit, American Judges Association, 2018
Ernest C. Friesen Award of Excellence, The Justice Management Institute, 2018
University of Arizona Law College Association Award, 2018
Polly Rosenbaum Award, Arizona State Library & Archives, 2016
Hall of Fame, Maricopa County Bar Association, 2014
Foundation for Justice Award, Arizona Foundation for Legal Services and Education, 2005    
Director's Award for Superior Performance as an Assistant U.S. Attorney, U.S.
      Department of Justice, Executive Office of U.S. Attorneys, 2001
Team AG Award, Office of the Arizona Attorney General, 2000
U.S. Attorney General's Distinguished Service Award 1998
Inspector General's Award of Merit, 1997

Committee on Federal-State Jurisdiction of the Judicial Conference of the U.S., 2015-Present
Board of Directors, U.S. Conference of Chief Justices, 2014 - Present
American Law Institute (elected 2007); Council 2014-Present
Executive Committee, Appellate Judicial Conference, ABA Judicial Division, 2008-Present; Chair 2014-2015
Accreditation Committee, ABA Section of Legal Education, 2012-Present
Board of Trustees, American Inns of Court Foundation, 2006-2010; Leadership Council 2010-Present
Board of Directors, Arizona Foundation for Legal Services and Education, 2004-2005
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, Advisory Committee on Rules of Practice, 2001-2005
Arizona Lawyer Representative, Ninth Circuit Judicial Conference, 2002-2005; Chair 2004-2005
Chair, District of Arizona, U.S. Magistrate Judge Merit Selection Committee (Phoenix), 2003-2004
American Academy of Appellate Lawyers, 2003
State Bar of Arizona
     Appellate Practice Section, Executive Council, 2003-2006; Chair 2004-2005
     Task Force on Access to Justice, 2002-2004
     Rules of Professional Conduct Committee, 1999-200
     Civil Practice and Procedure Committee, 1996-1998

     Criminal Rules Committee, 1995

University of Arizona, Adjunct Professor of Law; Separation of Powers, 2007-2013; Election Law, 2003-2005;
     Adjunct Professor of the Year, 2009-2010
Arizona State University, Adjunct Professor of Law; Separation of Powers, 2007-2013; Election Law, 2001;
     Origins of the Constitution, 1993; Presidential Powers, 1989-1991; Advanced Civil Procedure, 1988
     The Supreme Court, 1988
Harvard University, Teaching Fellow, 1979-1983; Social Analysis 10 (introductory economics), 1979-1983;
     Allyn Young Prize for Excellence in Teaching Economics 1980,1981; Antitrust Law and Economics, 1982-1983
     The Supreme Court and the Constitution, 1982

Chair, Arizona Commission on Appellate Court Appointments, 2014-Present
Chair, Pinal County Trial Court Appointments, 2012-2015  
Chair, Commission on Technology, 2012-2014
Chair, Maricopa County Trial Court Appointments, 2009-2012  
Liaison, Arizona State Bar Board of Governors, 2005 - 2009