Selection of Judges

Judges who are screened and selected by public committees (see description below) and appointed by the Governor are:

• Supreme Court justices;
• Court of Appeals judges, and
• Superior court judges in Coconino, Maricopa, Pima, and Pinal counties.

Once appointed, the judges are retained or rejected by the voters every four years for these four superior courts and every six years for the appellate courts.

Judges who are elected are superior court judges from Apache, Cochise, Coconino, Gila, Graham, Greenlee, La Paz, Mohave, Navajo, Santa Cruz, Yavapai, and Yuma counties, and justices of the peace.

City magistrates and municipal judges are usually appointed according to the law governing the city or municipality.  Yuma voters elect their municipal judges.  Phoenix and Tucson municipal court judges are nominated by a merit commission.