Committee on Character and Fitness 

Committee on Character and Fitness  assesses character and fitness to practice law of every applicant, based on Supreme Court guidelines, and makes a recommendation to the Supreme Court of individuals who have passed the examinations required by the Committee on Examinations and who are deemed by the Committee to be qualified on the basis of character and fitness. Membership includes active members of the State Bar and public members. 

 Committee Members 
Edward F Novak, Chair Alyson M Foster Angela Paton
Joseph Adams Lisa Hauser Marshall H Porter
Aaron Allen David Hernandez Judith D Register
Jennifer M Bailey Patrick Irvine James J Roche
Augustine Bartning Inna Korenzvit Jennifer Rock
Andrew J Becke Carl E Landrum Robert Underdown
Shannon Clark Jaren Leung Tamika Wooten
Joya Dunbar Marc Lieberman

Committee of Examinations 

Committee on Examinations examines applicants for admission to the practice of law and advises the Supreme Court and the Committee on Character and Fitness regarding applicants who have passed the required examinations. Membership includes active members of the State Bar. 

Committee Members
Michael J Donovan Gregory J Gnepper Maria L Schaffer
Timothy W Durkin Amber D Hughes Timothy A Stratton
Benjamin R Eid Frankie Jones Cory E Tyszka
Erin M Evans Jack L O'Connor


Marshall H Porter
Marshall H Porter